Skip to Main Content

Legal Information Resources (STA): Reference Works

This subject guide profiles legal information resources that are available via The Alma Jordan Library (AJL), Campus Libraries, The University of the West Indies (UWI), St. Augustine Campus (STA).

Reference Works: Introduction

The Alma Jordan Library's (AJL) collection includes reference books (in print and electronic format) on law. Print reference works are typically not for loan.

Reference Works: Selected Titles – Dictionaries [Abbreviations] (AJL)

Index to legal citations and abbreviations / Donald Raistrick ; foreword by the Rt. Hon. The Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury, President of the Supreme Court
Prince's dictionary of legal citations / a reference guide for attorneys, legal secretaries, paralegals, and law students.

Reference Works: Selected Titles – Dictionaries (AJL)

A dictionary of law / edited by Jonathan Law
Jowitt's dictionary of English law
Longman dictionary of law / P.H. Richards, L.B. Curzon
Osborn's concise law dictionary
Stroud's judicial dictionary of words and phrases / Daniel Greenberg.
Words and phrases legally defined

Most recent edition available in electronic format via Lexis+ UK

Reference Works: Selected Titles – Encyclopaedia (AJL)

Halsbury's laws of England / editor in chief, The Right Honourable Lord Mackay of Clashfern Lord High Chancellor of Great Britain 1987-1997

Most recent edition available in electronic format via Lexis+ UK.

Reference Works: Databases (AJL)

Multi-jurisdictional

Multi-jurisdictional