LibGuides: Legal Information Resources (STA): Databases

Databases: Page Contents

Home: Guide Contents (Return to)

Databases: Introduction

The Alma Jordan Library (AJL) subscribes to several core law databases. There are also general and multidisciplinary databases that contain law and law-related content.

Databases are electronic resources that typically offer citation, abstract/description, or full text access to a range of content such as books, journal articles, legislation, cases, and more.

Note: International law databases are listed here as this is the "master" list of law databases. However, more detailed references are made to such databases in the following guide: International & Regional Law (STA).

Databases: Connecting to (AJL)

Multi-jurisdictional

CARILAW (SEE VLEX JUSTIS, FORMERLY JUSTISONE) (STA)

HEINONLINE (STA) This link opens in a new window
INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS & BOOKS FULL TEXT (H.W. WILSON) - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
INDEX TO LEGAL PERODICALS RETROSPECTIVE: 1908-1981 (H.W. WILSON) - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
INDUSTRIAL COURT OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - JUDGMENT DATABASE (STA) This link opens in a new window
This database can only be accessed via username and password. Please contact the Law Librarian for further information.
LEXIS+ UK (LEXISNEXIS) (STA) This link opens in a new window
MAX PLANCK ENCYCLOPEDIAS OF PUBLIC INTERNATIONAL LAW (STA) This link opens in a new window

OIL, GAS AND ENERGY LAW (OGEL) (STA)
more...less...
This database can only be accessed via username and password. Please contact the Law Librarian for further information.

OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES - INTERNATIONAL LAW (STA) This link opens in a new window
OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE (STA) This link opens in a new window
OXFORD REPORTS ON INTERNATIONAL LAW (STA) This link opens in a new window
THOMSON REUTERS WESTLAW PRECISION [CONTACT LAW LIBRARY/LIBRARIAN] (STA) This link opens in a new window
This database can only be accessed via username and password. Please contact the Law Librarian for further information.
vLEX JUSTIS (STA) This link opens in a new window
WEST INDIAN REPORTS (LEXIS+ UK) (STA) This link opens in a new window
First published in 1958 they are the authoritative, ongoing archive of case law in the Caribbean relied upon by the legal profession throughout the West Indies.

Multi-jurisdictional

ACADEMIC SEARCH ULTIMATE - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
CAMBRIDGE JOURNALS (STA) This link opens in a new window
CANADIAN NEWSSTREAM - PROQUEST (STA) This link opens in a new window
CARIBBEAN SEARCH - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
CREDO REFERENCE (STA) This link opens in a new window
EBOOK CENTRAL - PROQUEST (STA) This link opens in a new window
EBOOK COLLECTION - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
EBSCOHOST - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
EBSCOHOST EBOOK CARIBBEAN COLLECTION - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
EBSCOHOST EJOURNALS - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
EMERALD INSIGHT (STA) This link opens in a new window
INFORMA (TAYLOR & FRANCIS ONLINE) (STA) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (STA) This link opens in a new window
The UWI libraries have access to the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts and Sciences IV, Arts and Sciences VI, Arts and Sciences VII, Business I, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Language & Literature Collections and Life Sciences.
OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (OSO) (STA). See OXFORD ACADEMIC This link opens in a new window
PRESSREADER (STA) This link opens in a new window
PROJECT MUSE (STA) This link opens in a new window
PROQUEST CENTRAL (STA) This link opens in a new window
These include social sciences, business, management, psychology, marketing, international relations, law, arts, humanities and education, health, science, technology, information organization, and more.
PROQUEST DISSERTATIONS AND THESES GLOBAL (STA) This link opens in a new window
REGIONAL BUSINESS NEWS - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
SPRINGERLINK (SPRINGER NATURE) (STA) This link opens in a new window
TAYLOR & FRANCIS eBOOKS (STA) This link opens in a new window
TAYLOR AND FRANCIS ONLINE (STA) This link opens in a new window
U.S. NEWSSTREAM - PROQUEST (STA) This link opens in a new window
UWI PRESS eBOOKS (STA) This link opens in a new window
UWISPACE: THE UNIVERSITY OF THE WEST INDIES INSTITUTIONAL REPOSITORY FOR RESEARCH AND SCHOLARSHIP) (STA) This link opens in a new window
The repository supports publications in all formats (monographs, articles, presentations, data sets, pre-prints and post prints, learning objects, videos and images). Authors retain copyright of all works submitted to UWISpace. Examples of collections include theses and dissertations produced by students of The UWI and special collections such as the Michael Goldberg postcard collection and BBC Archive housed at the St. Augustine Campus. Content is being added on an ongoing basis by all UWI campuses to the repository.

Databases: Resources (Web)

Law
General & Multidisciplinary

Trinidad and Tobago

CATALOGUE (JUDGMENTS) - COURT LIBRARY SERVICES UNIT - JUDICIARY OF THE REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO (STA) This link opens in a new window
DIGITAL LEGISLATIVE LIBRARY (STA) This link opens in a new window
JUDICIAL EDUCATION INSTITUTE (JUDICIARY OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO) [LINK ONLY] (STA) This link opens in a new window
LAWS OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - REVISED (OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL AND MINISTRY OF LEGAL AFFAIRS) (STA) This link opens in a new window

Caribbean

CHILDREN'S LAW DATABASE (STA) This link opens in a new window
The law for each State or Dependent Territory is up to date to mid- 2012. It is expected that the database will be updated on an annual basis. Contains: Legislation.

Multi-jurisdictional

COMMONWEALTH LEGAL INFORMATION INSTITUTE (STA) This link opens in a new window
WORLD LEGAL INFORMATION INSTITUTE (STA) This link opens in a new window

Multi-jurisdictional

DIGITAL COMMONS NETWORK (STA) This link opens in a new window
Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS BOOKS (DOAB) (STA) This link opens in a new window
DOAB is open to all academic publishers and covers all subject areas and all languages. Currently there are 5959 Academic peer-reviewed books from 169 publishers.
DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS (DOAJ) (STA) This link opens in a new window

GOOGLE BOOKS

GOOGLE SCHOLAR (STA) This link opens in a new window

Databases: Finding Tools (AJL)

The following resources may help you to locate databases:

Databases: Key

This Guide uses several symbols to indicate the kind of access associated with databases/electronic resources. The following is a list of such symbols and their meanings.

Symbol

Meaning