LibGuides: Guide to the Research Process: 2b. Find Articles

Tip!

The information portal of The UWI Libraries, UWIlinC, will provide access to various journal articles depending on the search you utilise. If you need to know whether the library owns or subscribes to a specific journal title, you may engage in the eJournal search. If you need to search for titles of individual articles or the full-text of articles, you can also search for these in databases or by via Databases A-Z. The links to the eJournal search and the database search can be found on the UWIlinC portal. The link to Databases A-Z can be found on the Alma Jordan Library's homepage under Collections.

Electronic Journals - Subscription

Electronic journals (E-journals) may be published only in electronic/online formats or may be the electronic/online version of a print publication. The St. Augustine Campus subscribes to many electronic journals in the field of education.

Find E-Journals

Free Electronic Journals in Education

Guide to Free Electronic Journals

This document provides a selected list of free electronic journals in education that are listed on the E-journals page in UWILinC

Caribbean Curriculum provides scholarly articles on the education systems of the English-speaking Caribbean written by scholars both within and outside the region. This scholarly journal is published by the School of Education, St Augustine, UWI. Access is free.

Caribbean Curriculum Current Issue

Information about Caribbean Curriculum

Sources of Free Electronic Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This directory aims to be comprehensive and covers all open access, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. It aims to cover all subjects and languages, and, as at July 2012, includes 7,985 journals, of which 3,922 are searchable at the article title level. There are currently 857,752 articles in the service.

Types of Databases

The main types of online databases are:

Bibliographic
Numeric
Image
Audio

Bibliographic Databases

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.

Subscription Databases

The Campus Libraries subscribe to several online bibliographic databases, which are available through UWILinC.

Databases A - Z

The following databases provide good coverage of the field of education:

Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost)
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information related to all areas of education.
Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
Caribbean Search (EBSCOhost)
Caribbean Search is a multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English language articles pertinent to the countries and peoples of the Caribbean region. The collection contains over 730 Caribbean focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.
JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR is an online system for archiving academic journals. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and science, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The most recent issues (past 3-5 years) are not usually available.
Emerald Full Text
This full-text database covers all major management disciplines from marketing, human resources management, library and information management, training and education, and more.
ProQuest
ProQuest is a full-text database that covers a broad range of subjects, including social sciences, human resources, and humanities and education. It includes content from scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, reference reports, and dissertations

Free Databases

There are many free bibliographic databases available on the Internet. The following are specific to the field of education:

CERIS - Caribbean Educational Research Information Service
CERIS is an information service of the School of Education, UWI, St. Augustine, which provides access to information on education in the English-speaking Caribbean. Bibliographic databases provide abstracts, location information, where available, and some full text.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
ERIC is a database of journal and non-journal education literature. It provides free access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic recrods of journal articles and other education-related materials going back to 1966. While the database is provided by the U.S. Department of Education, its material is global in scope and comprehensive in terms of coverage. Where possible, links to full-text in Adobe PDF format are provided.
Mona Online Research Database
This site provides bibliographic coverage of the scholarly output of the faculty and staff of the Mona Campus of The University of the West Indies, including staff of the School of Education and Institute of Education. It contains more than 6,000 entries of published and unpublished material, technical reports, and expert information covering the period 1993 to the present. Where available, access is provided to full-text electronic documents.