The Caribbean Educational Research Information Service (CERIS) is a computerised information service that provides access to information on education in the English-speaking Caribbean. CERIS also provides editorial services to the School of Education (SOE) and is responsible for the publication of all documents bearing the imprint of the School of Education, including the journal, Caribbean Curriculum.
1. Document Supply: Documents on education and training in the English-speaking Caribbean in print and, digital formats.
2. Database Access: CERIS provides online access to three of its databases:
Caribbean Education Bibliographic Database [CEDBIB] – a bibliographic database providing references, varying levels of bibliographic information, and many detailed abstracts of a variety of documents on education and training in the English-speaking Caribbean
Virtual Library (CVTLIB) – a full-text database of documents on education in the English-speaking Caribbean
M.Ed. Studies Database [MEDPRA] – a bibliographic database of studies done by M.Ed. students of the School of Education, UWI, St. Augustine, which received an “A” grade
3. Institutional Archiving: CERIS manages five collections of the School of Education in UWISpace
4. Publications: CERIS seeks to disseminate the results of research on education in the region through the publication of an annual, peer-reviewed journal, Caribbean Curriculum under the auspicies of the School of Education, The University of the West Indies (UWI), St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago. CERIS is also responsible for the publication of monographs and technical reports by staff of the School of Education, The UWI, St. Augustine.
5. Information Literacy Services: CERIS supports the provision of information literacy (IL) services to students of the School of Education and beyond.
The services of CERIS are available to:
Staff and students of tertiary institutions in the Caribbean
Researchers, planners, and policy makers of the ministries of education in the region
Private researchers in the region
Educational practitioners in the region
Persons and institutions interested in the development of the education systems of the English-speaking Caribbean.
The Holdings of CERIS may be accessed via UWISpace OR the CERIS database.
Academic Integrity (AI) and Artificial Intelligence (AI) - AI Squared
Proceedings of the 2023 Inaugural Public Lecture of the School of Education: Social Justice Leadership: Evidence from Practice