It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guide to the Research Process: 5d. Alternatives to Copyright
This guide provides an introduction to the skills needed to conduct research, with particular reference to the field of education.
A non-profit organization created in 2001 by a group of scholars and activists
CC licences are a set of simple, easy-to-understand copyright licences
CC licences allow creators to choose how to make their works available and under what conditions
CC licences allow users to understand the conditions under which a work may be used
CC licences have been translated to the laws of 52 countries
Many million pages of web content now use CC licences
For information on Creative Commons, you can visit the Creative Commons website.
The following video, Creative Commons Kiwi by Creative Commons Aotearoa New Zealand, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.01 New Zealand (CC BY) licence. It explains the CC licences.
These are publicly accessible archives where the work published by authors affiliated with a particular university or institution is posted online.
Example: UWISpace, The University of the West Indies Institutional Repository for Research and Scholarship, which aims to collect together in one place the research and scholarship of members of The UWI Community
This directory provides a list of academic open access repositories, and allows you to sesarch for repositories or search repository contents.
The public domain is considered to be part of the common cultural and intellectual heritage of humanity. Works in the public domain are not subject to any restrictions; they may be freely used without permission, for both commercial and non-commercial uses. There are three main categories:
Works that automatically enter the public domain when they are created because they are not copyrightable, e.g., names, numbers, ideas, facts
Works that have been assigned to the public domain by their creators
Works that have entered the public domain because the copyright on them has expired
Open Access Movement
Open Access refers to the free availabiligy of peer-reviewed literature to the public on the Internet, permitting any user to read, download, distribute, print, search, or link to the full text of the articles. This can be done in two ways:
through open access (OA) journals
through institutional or subject-based repositories
Open Access Journals
freely available online and do not rely on traditional subscription-based business models to generate income
often use very open online licences, such as the CC Attribution licence
some journals are not OA journals but authorize the authors of the articles they publish to archive versions of their articles in institutional repositories set up by their universities
This directory aims to be comprehensive and covers all open access, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. It aims to cover all subjects and languages, and, as at July 2012, includes 7,985 journals, of which 3,922 are searchable at the article title level. There are currently 857,752 articles in the service.