Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Characteristics of Books
Books are available in both print and electronic formats. They:
- are usually authoritative sources of information
- may provide thorough coverage of a subject
- may contain references and bibliographies
- may be written by one author or be edited works with contributions by different authors
You can search for books held by the St. Augustine Campus Libraries, in both print and electronic formats, via UWIlinC, the the information portal of The UWI Libraries.
Selected Books on Education from UWIlinC
Achieving Inclusive Education in the Caribbean and Beyond by
Call Number: LC1203 .C27 A24 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-11
This book offers an international perspective of philosophical, conceptual and praxis-oriented issues that impinge on achieving education for all students. It sheds light on the historical, systemic, structural, organizational, and attitudinal barriers that continue to be antithetical to the philosophy and practice of inclusive education within the Caribbean. The first section of the book examines how globalized views of inclusion informed by philosophical ideas from the North have influenced and continue to influence the equity in education agenda in the region. The second section considers how exclusion and marginalization still occur across selected Caribbean islands. It provides both quantitative and qualitative data about the nature and experience of exclusion in selected Caribbean islands, the UK and USA. The third section tackles the practical realities of transforming education systems in the Caribbean for inclusion. In particular, it identifies teacher practices as the main site of interrogation that needs to be tackled if inclusion is to be successful. The fourth and final section examines the contribution of principals and exemplars to the development and advocacy for inclusive education. It discusses how educational leadership is understood, as well as the role of school principals in making inclusion a reality in schools, the challenges experienced and the qualities of education leaders.
Handbook of Research on e-Assessment in Higher Education by
Call Number: LB2366 .H36 2019eb
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
E-assessments of students profoundly influence their motivation and play a key role in the educational process. Adapting assessment techniques to current technological advancements allows for effective pedagogical practices, learning processes, and student engagement. The Handbook of Research on E-Assessment in Higher Education provides emerging perspectives on the theoretical and practical aspects of digital assessment techniques and applications within educational settings. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as competency assessment, adaptive courseware, and learning performance, this publication is ideally designed for educational administrators, educational professionals, teachers and professors, researchers, and graduate-level students seeking current research on comparative studies and the pedagogical issues of online assessment in academic institutions.
Handbook of Research on Driving STEM Learning with Educational Technologies by
Call Number: Q181 .H14886 2017eb
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Educational strategies have evolved over the years, due to research breakthroughs and the application of technology. By using the latest learning innovations, curriculum and instructional design can be enhanced and strengthened. The Handbook of Research on Driving STEM Learning With Educational Technologies is an authoritative reference source for the latest scholarly research on the implementation and use of different techniques of instruction in modern classroom settings. Featuring exhaustive coverage on a variety of topics including data literacy, student motivation, and computer-aided assessment, this resource is an essential reference publication ideally designed for academicians, researchers, and professionals seeking current research on emerging uses of technology for STEM education.
Learning the Hard Way by
Call Number: LC212.92 .L43eb
Publication Date: 2012-09-15
An avalanche of recent newspapers, weekly newsmagazines, scholarly journals, and academic books has helped to spark a heated debate by publishing warnings of a "boy crisis" in which male students at all academic levels have begun falling behind their female peers. In Learning the Hard Way, Edward W. Morris explores and analyzes detailed ethnographic data on this purported gender gap between boys and girls in educational achievement at two low-income high schools--one rural and predominantly white, the other urban and mostly African American. Crucial questions arose from his study of gender at these two schools. Why did boys tend to show less interest in and more defiance toward school? Why did girls significantly outperform boys at both schools? Why did people at the schools still describe boys as especially "smart"? Morris examines these questions and, in the process, illuminates connections of gender to race, class, and place. This book is not simply about the educational troubles of boys, but the troubled and complex experience of gender in school. It reveals how particular race, class, and geographical experiences shape masculinity and femininity in ways that affect academic performance. His findings add a new perspective to the "gender gap" in achievement.
Effective Practices in Early Childhood Education by
Call Number: LB1140.23 B72 2011
Publication Date: 2010-01-04
This text, written by one of the foremost authorities in the field, provides the building blocks for understanding effective practices in early childhood education. Building upon the Developmentally Appropriate Practice framework that she conceptualized, Sue Bredekamp shows how effective teaching practices can make a difference in the lives of young children. The book is designed to prepare a new generation of early childhood professionals by helping them construct a cohesive understanding of this dynamic field by reading about it in Bredekamp’s clear and engaging presentation, seeing it in action through integrated classroom videos, and reinforcing it online in MyEducationLab assignable exercises. Demonstrates How Current Research Informs Effective Practices Each chapter includesWhat Works,which presents research-based practices in action, including descriptions of demonstrated effective practices such as dialogic reading and engaging children in planning. Expert’s Lensfeatures focus on culture, linguistic diversity, and children with disabilities and special needs. Preeminent professionals in the field–Carol Copple, Carol Brunson Day, Gail Joseph, and Luis Hernandez–present their perspectives on key topics. The terms and definitions used in this text contribute to establishing a shared vocabulary for all of those in and entering the field. Describes What Effective Teachers Do to Enhance Children’s Learning and Development This text emphasizes the notion that effective teachers are purposeful in everything they do. Effective teachers have the knowledge to make informed decisions and adapt for individual differences in children throughout the day. Becoming an Intentional Teacherfeatures get into the heads of what teachers are thinking andhowandwhythey select the strategies they do. How Would You Respond?features are critical thinking, classroom-based exercises that ask students to make informed decisions to address situations. Chapter 9,Teaching to Enhance Learning and Development, is a unique, practical chapter that focuses on teaching strategies that work. Building Teaching Skills and Dispositionson MyEducationLab are assignable exercises in key areas such as planning a culturally responsive curriculum and making decisions about what is developmentally appropriate. Focuses on Curriculum Content and What Is Important for Children’s Learning and Development Chapters 12-15 focus on the goals for young children’s learning and development in language, literacy, and the arts; math, science, and technology; social-emotional learning and social studies; and physical fitness and health. Play is integrated throughout as an effective means to support all domains of development and promote effective learning in all curriculum content areas. The emphasis on implementing effective curriculum includes current issues, such as the goal of aligning prekindergarten and primary education, research on what predicts later success in school, and expectations for teacher qualifications.
Good Practice in Science Teaching by
Call Number: Q181 G5135 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
"The book has wide appeal in that the issues investigated - for example, the nature of science, practical work, the role of language, of technology and formative and summative assessment - are relevant and pertinent to science teachers' work in all school systems." Professor David F Treagust, Curtin University of Technology, Australia This new edition of Good Practice in Science Teaching offers a comprehensive overview of the major areas of research and scholarship in science education. Each chapter summarizes the research work and evidence in the field, and discusses its significance, reliability and implications for the practice of science teaching. Thoroughly revised throughout, the new edition includes: Three new chapters covering: the learning of science in informal contexts; teacher professional development; and technology-mediated learning Updates to every chapter, reflecting the changes and developments in science education Further reading sections at the end of each chapter Each chapter has been written by science education researchers with national or international reputations. Each topic is approached in a straight-forward manner and is written in a concise and readable style. This invaluable guide is ideal for science teachers of children of all ages, and others who work in teaching and related fields. It is an essential text for teachers in training and those studying for higher degrees. Contributors: Philip Adey, Paul Black, Maria Evagorou, John Gilbert, Melissa Glackin, Christine Harrison, Jill Hohenstein, Heather King, Alex Manning, Robin Millar, Natasha Serret, Shirley Simon, Julian Swain, Mary Webb.
You can find e-books in the field of education in the collections to which the UWI Libraries subscribe:
In addition to the e-books to which the St. Augustine Libraries subscribe, there are millions of free e-books available on the Internet. Some of the reputable sites that you can consult are:
Digital Book Index
The Digital Book Index provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1,800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and private sites. More than 140,000 of these books are available free.
Google Books is a service that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned. Books in the public domain are available in "full view" and free for download, while "previews" and "snippets" are provided for books that have copyright restrictions.
National Academies Press
The Press publishes more than 200 books per year on a wide range of topics in various subject areas. More than 4,000 titles are available in PDF format, and can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.
Project Gutenberg Online Book Catalog
Project Gutenberg was the first producer of free electronic books. It has a library of over 40,000 free books in its online book catalogue.
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online
A searchable database of thousands of free online classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference.