Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is "Grey Literature"?
"That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers." (Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature, Washington, DC, October, 1999)
Grey literature includes:
- Theses and dissertations
- Conference papers and proceedings
- Research reports
- Government documents
Conference Papers and Proceedings
Conference papers and proceedings can be very difficult to find:
- They can be published in different ways - as books, journal articles, abstracts
- They take several years to be published
- Not all papers presented are published
- Individual papers may be deposited in an author or institutional repository, for example UWISpace.
The Campus Libraries subscribes to this index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. It covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre
The Campus Libraries subscribes to this index provides an index of worldwide conference proceedings. It covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre.
This is a freely accessible database of the full text of conference papers, working papers, and electronic literature that support educational research, policy, and practice.
Government documents are an important primary source of information on a wide range of issues. They can be found through a search of library catalogues and government websites.
Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of Education
This site provides information on the work of the Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of Education. It includes student, teacher, and parent portals, and provides online access to the publications of the Ministry, policy documents, speeches, and examination results.
Theses and Dissertations
UWI Theses Abstracts
This collection contains over 3,000 abstracts of postgraduate theses held in the West Indiana Collection of the Alma Jordan Library.
UWI Full Text Theses
This is a developing collection of the full text of theses and dissertations submitted to The University of the West Indies.
Index to Theses
The Campus Libraries subscribes to this collection, which contains over 576,000 theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland since 1716. Of this total, over 343,000 have abstracts.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
The Campus Libraries subscribes to what claims to be the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes theses from 1861 and offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
The NDLTD is a collaborative effort of nearly 200 universities around the world dedicated to improving graduate education by expanding access to searchable electronic theses and dissertations. Users can search using one of two search engines provided on the site, and can download or read the full text of the theses and dissertations, the majority of which are available free of charge.
Library and Archives Canada has a collection of over 300,000 Canadian theses and dissertations on microform, which are indexed on this site. Of these, approximately 50,000 are also available freely in electronic format.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD.org is a resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
Research reports contain the results of research projects, investigations, and surveys, and are usually published by the funder or the body undertaking the research. They can be found by searching the websites of subject associations and research organizations, in addition to library catalogues and databases.
American Educational Research Association (AERA)
The AERA is concerned with improving the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education, and by promoting the dissemination and practical application of research results. Its website provides access to reports on research undertaken.
British Educational Research Association (BERA)
The BERA is a learned society for researchers engaged in a wide range of educational research. Issues of its newsletter, "Research Intelligence," and its Reviews - "Academic Reviews" and Professional User Reviews" - are available on its website free of charge.
Australian Association for Research in Education (AARE)
The AARE facilitates contact between educational researchers, and encourages and works towards the development of all aspects of educational research.
National Foundation for Educational Research (NFER)
NFER is the largest independent educational research institution in Europe. Many of its publications are available as free downloads. The NFER Library publishes a free monthly web-based current awareness service, which highlights recent reports, publications, and useful documents from prominent UK and international educational research-related websites that are available to download or view without payment.