Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST1703 Introduction to History: Databases

Identifying Databases

When you know the name of the database just go to "Find Databases" tab in UWILINC? This tool lets you enter the database's name  into the search box or select it from an A-Z listing. 

Databases

A complete listing of databases to which the Mona Library offers access can be viewed HERE.

N.B. To access the subscription databases, you will be prompted to sign-in using your UWI login (this is the same as your Student Administration Services (SAS) email login).

The following is a listing of those which might be most useful for student pursuing a history major:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Credo Reference 

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) 

Jamaica Gleaner

JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets XML Gateway

Image result for jstor

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections

Project Muse

SpringerLink

 

Searching Databases

  • Search by Fields: When searching in databases (EBSCOhostJSTORLexis-Nexis, etc.), make sure to utilize the search fields. Often times you will notice a drop down box next to the search box. Here you can select specific fields to search in. If nothing is selected, database will search every field and return any resources that has your search term included in it. You can imagine how many resources are listed. Here are some of the most helpful fields to search it:

Abstract: Often author generated, these brief summaries provide the researcher with the article's essence. If your search term is used in the abstract, chances are the article will focus on that topic, and not just mention it in passing.

Subject: Many databases feature an internal thesaurus. It acts like a book index. Like the abstract, subject terms are often supplied by the author. If the author lists one of your search terms as a subject term, it is very likely that their article will be of use to you in your research.

Title: If your search terms appear in the title, it is likely the article will be useful.