LibGuides: HIST1703 Introduction to History: Turabian Citation Style

Turabian Citation Management Tool

Citation management software are tools that allow the preparation of references to be done faster. However, the onus is still with the researcher to know the formatting specifications of the resources used. Additionally, the latest edition of the citation manual is to be used.

e-Turabian is just one example of a citation management tool. It is accessible at no charge via the Internet.

Turabian Manual- 7th Edition

Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Eighth Edition by Kate L. Turabian ; revised by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, and University of Chicago Press editorial staff.

Call Number: LB 2369 .T8 2013 (Course Reserve Book) RBC

ISBN: 978-0226823379

PLEASE NOTE

Turabian is in its 8th edition and a copy is on order and should be made available by the start of the academic year 2015/16.

"The new edition incorporates changes that include:

Updated coverage on finding and using digital sources
New examples for the two Chicago citation styles—notes-bibliography format, used widely in the humanities and most social sciences, and author-date format, used in many of the sciences and some social sciences
Alignment with the most recent Chicago Manual of Style, the sixteenth edition
Revised guidelines—vetted by dissertation officials nationwide—for formatting research papers, theses, and dissertations and preparing them for submission
An updated discipline-specific bibliography, organized by subject area, that lists current sources for research and style issues"

Source: http://www.press.uchicago.edu/books/turabian/turabian_whats_new.html

Internet Resources

Turabian Quick Guide

A Turabian Quick Guide with additional examples, put out by the University of Chicago Press.

Turabian Format

The discipline of History uses Turabian format for citing sources. Turabian is a derivitive of Chicago style. Use the format for footnotes/endnotes, not parenthetical citations.

Use the N format for footnotes/endnotes, and B for a bibliographic entry. Some of the major differences between the formats are:

Indentation: The first line of a footnote is indented, while subsequent lines are not. Conversely, the first line of a bibliographic citation is not indented, while subsequent lines are.
Name Order: Footnotes list author as first name last name, whereas bibliographic citations list author as last name, first name.
Punctuation: Footnotes use more commas and bibliographic citations use more periods.

The following examples of the most commons types of citations are taken/adapted directly from the 8th edition (2013) of the Turabian manual. For additional examples, consult chapter 17 (pages 164-215) of the Turabian manual.

Book, Single Author 17.1.1	N: 1. Harriet Murav, Music from a Speeding Train: Jewish Literature in Post-revolution Russia (Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 2011), 219-220. B: Murav, Harriet. Music from a Speeding Train: Jewish Literature in Post-revolution Russia. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 2011.
Book, Multiple Authors 17.1.1	N: 2. Donald R. Kinder and Allison Dale-Riddle, The End of Race? Obama, 2008, and Racial Politics in America (New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2012), 47. B: Kinder, Donald R., and Allison Dale-Riddle. The End of Race? Obama, 2008, and Racial Politics in America. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2012.
Book, Editor or Translator in Addition to Author 17.1.1.1	N: 3. Elizabeth I, Collected Works, ed. Leah S. Marcus, Janel Mueller, and Mary Beth Rose (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000), 102-4. B: Elizabeth I. Collected Works. Edited by Leah S. Marcus, Janel Mueller, and Mary Beth Rose. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000.
Book, Editor or Translator 17.1.1.2	N: 4. Seamus Heaney, trans., Beowulf: A New Verse Translation (New York: W. W. Norton, 2000), 55. B: Heaney, Seamus, trans. Beowulf: A New Verse Translation. New York: W. W. Norton, 2000.
Book, Later Edition 17.1.3	N: 5. Paul J. Bolt, Damon V. Coletta, and Collins G. Shackelford, Jr., eds., American Defense Policy, 8th ed. (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005), 157-58. B: Bolt, Paul J., Damon V. Coletta, and Collins G. Shackelford, Jr., eds. American Defense Policy. 8th ed. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005.
Chapter in a Book 17.1.8	N: 6. John Demos, "Real Lives and Other Fictions: Reconsidering Wallace Stegner's Angle of Repose," in Novel History: Historians and Novelists Confront America's Past (and Each Other), ed. Mark C. Carnes (New York: Simon and Schuster, 2001), 132-145. B: Demos, John. "Real Lives and Other Fictions: Reconsidering Wallace Stegner's Angle of Repose." In Novel History: Historians and Novelists Confront America's Past (and Each Other), edited by Mark C. Carnes, 132-145. New York: Simon and Schuster, 2001.
Journal Article 17.2	N: 7. Saskis E. Wieringa, "Portrait of a Women's Marriage: Navigating between Lesbophobia and Islamophobia," Signs 36, no. 4 (Summer 2011): 785-86. B: Wieringa, Saskia E. "Portrait of a Women's Marriage: Navigating between Lesbophobia and Islamophobia." Signs 36, no. 4 (Summer 2011): 785-93.
Book Review 17.5.4	N: 8. Joel Mokyr, review of Natural Experiments of History, edited by Jared Diamond and James A. Robinson, American Historical Review 116, no. 3 (June 2011): 754. B: Mokyr, Joel. Review of Natural Experiments of History, edited by Jared Diamond and James A. Robinson. American Historical Review 116, no. 3 (June 2011): 752-55.
Thesis or Disssertation 17.6.1	N: 9. Karen Leigh Culcasi, "Cartographic Representations of Kurdistan in the Print Media" (master's thesis, Syrsacuse University, 2003), 15. B: Culsaci, Karen Leigh. "Cartographic Representations of Kurdistan in the Print Media." MA thesis, Syracuse University, 2003.
Interview 17.6.3	N: 10. Benjamin Spock, interview by Milton J. E. Senn, November 20, 1974, interview 67A, transcript, Senn Oral History Collection, National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, MD. B: Spock, Benjamin. Interview by Milton J. E. Senn. November 20, 1974. Interview 67A, transcript. Senn Oral History Collection, National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, MD.
Manuscript or Document 17.6.4	N: 11. George Creel to Colonel House, September 25, 1918, Edward M. House Papers, Yale University Library, New Haven, CT. B: Creel, George. Letter to Colonel House. September 25, 1918. Edward M. House Papers. Yale University Library, New Haven, CT.
Website 17.7.1	N: 12. "Privacy Policy," Google Privacy Center, last modified October 3, 2010, accessed March 3, 2011, http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html. B: Google. "Privacy Policy." Google Privacy Center. Last modified October 3, 2010. Accessed March 3, 2011. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.