Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Thesis Scrutiny, Thesis Consultation & Information Literacy Sessions @ Mona Information Literacy Unit (MILU): Bibliographic Software

                                 

Citation management tools allow a user to:

  1. Collect, organize, and retrieve citation information from books, articles and websites.
  2. Interface with the library databases and with websites.
  3. Work with word-processing software (Microsoft Word, LibreOffice, and others) to insert properly formatted footnotes or citations and bibliographies into a research paper.

Citation Management Software

Endnote 
  • Endnote is a free web-based application offered by Clarivate Analytics and Web of Science available for free use through UWIlinC. EndNote Basic is a stripped down version of the EndNote product that is available for purchase. (Available for download at UWI MITS. 
  • Download the Cite while you write EndNote Plugin from the top banner by clicking on download. Users can create in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies in their word processor.
  • Users can send citations from EBSCO databases to EndNote Web using the Direct Export feature in EBSCO. PDFs can also be uploaded and attached to the EndNote record.
Zotero
  • Zotero is a free open source software, available for download on your computer or used online via the web. You can download on multiple devices and Zotero automatically synchronizes your data.
  • Zotero has both a cloud based version or a standalone software version that you can download to your computer (PC or Mac). Users can sync between desktop software and an online account.
  • Using the Zotero citation plugin you can create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies in Microsoft Word and LibreOffice. Users can also generate a quick bibliography of selected citations directly from Zotero.
Mendeley 
  • Mendeley is a free citation manager tool offered by Elsevier, providers of the Science Direct platform. You can download Mendeley on multiple devices and sync your citations across the devices using your online Mendeley account.
  • Mendeley has both a cloud based version and a standalone software version that you download on your computer (PC or Mac). Users can sync between desktop software and an online account. 
  • Using the Mendeley citation plugin you can create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies in Microsoft Word and LibreOffice.

Introduction to UWIlinC

UWIlinC brings together UWI information resources from across the English-speaking Caribbean in all formats including UWI's intellectual output, subscribed resources (electronic journals, databases, electronic books) and the catalogues for all four UWI campuses.