The Libraries’ scrutiny of theses is intended to ensure that students comply with the requirements of The UWI Thesis Guide in relation to format, arrangement, abstract, references and bibliography. Theses are also checked to ensure that the references cited are in accordance with the latest edition of the citation style guide used. The Libraries seek to ensure an awareness of the discipline involved in preparing scholarly publications in a consistent style. The Librarians certify the thesis as acceptable when they are satisfied that the thesis complies with the requirements of The UWI Thesis Guide and the recommended citation style manuals. This process should be completed within 30 days.
The research topic you choose will have a bearing on the type of study you undertake and how you write your thesis.
Please Note: Manuscript Theses have new Guidelines (Please see link under "Important Links.")
The University of The West Indies provides quality resources and services to support researchers:
The Dissertation Journey by
The dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, emotional, and psychological obstacles along the way, you′ll need the right tools and a knowledgeable guide. This informative and inspirational book readies you for each step of the dissertation process, including choosing a topic, selecting the committee, getting acclimated to academic writing, preparing for your oral defense, and publishing your research. This second edition of The Dissertation Journey offers new and updated features, including: - A chapter on ethical considerations - Expanded coverage of digital data collection and using the Internet for research - More detailed information on conducting the literature review - A discussion of how to develop a theoretical or conceptual framework With graphics, checklists, inspirational quotes, illustrations, and sample forms, this valuable resource is your essential guidebook to preparing, writing, and defending your dissertation.
The Practice of Social Research by
A straightforward, comprehensive, and approachable guide to research as practiced by social scientists, the Fourteenth Edition of this �gold-standard� book gives readers the tools they need to apply research concepts practically, as both a researcher and a consumer. The author emphasizes the process by showing readers how to design and construct projects, introducing the various observation modes in use today, and answering critical questions about research methods-such as how to conduct online surveys and analyze both qualitative and quantitative data.
The Research Student's Guide to Success by
This edition is aimed at postgraduate research students wherever the language of instruction is English. Irrespective of their field of study, it will make their research programmes and day-to-day lives more productive and enjoyable. The book is easy to dip into and is in conversational style. Interest and realism are added through anecdotes, extracts from the literature and pithy quotations.
Authoring a PhD by
This engaging and highly regarded book takes readers through the key stages of their PhD research journey, from the initial ideas through to successful completion and publication. It gives helpful guidance on forming research questions, organising ideas, pulling together a final draft, handling the viva and getting published. Each chapter contains a wealth of practical suggestions and tips for readers to try out and adapt to their own research needs and disciplinary style. This text will be essential reading for PhD students and their supervisors in humanities, arts, social sciences, business, law, health and related disciplines.
The Qualitative Dissertation by
In this comprehensive look at the entire qualitative dissertation process, the authors describe each step involved in crafting a qualitative study, and provide helpful advice on getting through the rough spots and pressure points involved.
Surviving Your Dissertation by
′The book is an excellent edition to those already available in the area and provides a very practical guide that students can pick up and use for reference throughout their dissertation′ - ESCalate Like the previous editions of this bestselling text, Surviving Your Dissertation: A Comprehensive Guide to Content and Process, Third Edition offers readers guidance that other dissertation guides often miss, from ways to improve one′s writing, to identifying one′s learning preferences, to dealing with emotional blocks. Using examples from a wide range of disciplines, the authors give readers expert advice on the entire dissertation process: selecting a suitable topic; conducting a literature review; managing data overload; building an argument; presenting the material, data, and results; and working with faculty committees. The entire text has been updated and fresh examples have been added to it. This edition features an up-to-the-minute discussion of online research and the use of software packages. The authors have expanded their coverage of qualitative work, and added information about the use of mixed methods to the book. These updates and more make the Third Edition of Surviving Your Dissertation a must have resource for graduate students. Key Features of the Third Edition: Walks readers through the dissertation process as an ideal mentor would. Devotes more attention to qualitative work, and touches upon mixed methods. Discusses online library resources and completing one′s dissertation via the Internet. Features new material on the use of graphics. Includes information about informed consent forms.
Writing Your Dissertation in Fifteen Min by
Expert writing advice from the editor of the Boston Globe best-seller, The Writer's Home Companion Dissertation writers need strong, practical advice, as well as someone to assure them that their struggles aren't unique. Joan Bolker, midwife to more than one hundred dissertations and co-founder of the Harvard Writing Center, offers invaluable suggestions for the graduate-student writer. Using positive reinforcement, she begins by reminding thesis writers that being able to devote themselves to a project that truly interests them can be a pleasurable adventure. She encourages them to pay close attention to their writing method in order to discover their individual work strategies that promote productivity; to stop feeling fearful that they may disappoint their advisors or family members; and to tailor their theses to their own writing style and personality needs. Using field-tested strategies she assists the student through the entire thesis-writing process, offering advice on choosing a topic and an advisor, on disciplining one's self to work at least fifteen minutes each day; setting short-term deadlines, on revising and defing the thesis, and on life and publication after the dissertation. Bolker makes writing the dissertation an enjoyable challenge.
Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation by
Updated to reflect recent trends in thesis/dissertation preparation and research, this book examines confidentiality and privacy in Internet communications and considers the accuracy and reliability of Internet-reported research.
Writing the Doctoral Dissertation by
Here is the first book a prospective doctoral candidate should read. Updated to reflect both modern technological advances and the realities of contemporary academia, it serves as an excellent overview of the dissertation process in most academic fields. Advice starts with selecting an advisor and a dissertation committee, then covers problems connected with selecting a dissertation topic, submitting the proposal, working with an advisor, and writing and defending the dissertation.
Steps to your Thesis Certificate being issued:
1. Please complete thesis consultation form below.
2. Please send an email to milu.library@uwimona.edu.jm with your completed thesis consultation form and a copy of your thesis for this final review.
3. The thesis consultation review will take 5- 10 business days once a Librarian has been assigned.
4. If there are corrections to be done, the candidate will complete and send back to the Library.
5. Once corrections are completed satisfactorily, the thesis certificate is prepared and signed by the Campus Librarian.
6. The thesis certificate is then issued in the candidate's name to the Office of Graduate Studies and Research on their behalf.
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher. You can connect your iD with your professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more.
UWIlinC brings together UWI information resources from across the English-speaking Caribbean in all formats including UWI's intellectual output, subscribed resources (electronic journals, databases, electronic books) and the catalogues for all four UWI campuses.
