Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Thesis Scrutiny, Thesis Consultation & Information Literacy Sessions @ Mona Information Literacy Unit (MILU): Information Resources and Databases

UWIML1

UWIML1 is an important online portal comprising of vital materials useful to students showcasing the library's recordings of Foundation English courses (FOUN1013, FOUN1019 etc), UWIlinC tutorials, Citation tutorials and webinars. These resources ensure students are presented with a myriad of information to write their research papers/thesis. UWIML1 also includes tutorials on databases such as credo which gives you background information on how to start your topic.

Crucial Databases

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. We build platforms and instructional materials that enable the flexible configuration of content, technology and services for the purpose of connecting learners, faculty and teachers, librarians and publishers. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest XML)

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997

Cabells Journals Black List

Since 2017, the Cabells' Blacklist team “has been identifying and investigating suspected publications, providing subscribers with access to a searchable database of detailed reports for every journal that has been evaluated and flagged as a probable threat. Each report identifies the journals and provides a record of when and why they have been put on the Blacklist.”

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)

A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings.

Liaison Librarians

LIAISON LIBRARIANS 2021/2022

FACULTY OF HUMANITIES & EDUCATION 
Department/Centre Librarian Citation Styles 
Library Representative on Faculty Board Ms. Rosemarie Runcie
CARIMAC; Institute of Caribbean Studies including Reggae Studies Maureen Kerr-Campbell APA, Chicago, MLA

Centre for Gender and Development Studies; PSCCA

Cheryl Kean APA, Chicago, MLA
Language, Linguistics and Philosophy Sonia Stewart APA, Chicago, MLA
Library and Information Studies Rosemarie Runcie MLA, APA
Modern Languages and Literatures Bernadette Worrell-Johnson APA, Chicago, MLA
History; Literatures in English Yolande Lindsay APA, Chicago, MLA, Turabian
School of Education Karlene Nelson APA, Chicago, MLA (ALL STYLES)
FACULTY OF LAW
Library Representative on Faculty Board  Myrna Douglas
Law Myrna Douglas  OSCOLA, APA, Chicago, MLA, Turabian
FACULTY OF MEDICAL SCIENCES
Library Representative on Faculty Board Tereza Richards
Basic Medical Sciences; Physical Therapy; Community Health and Psychiatry; UWISON; Medicine; Microbiology; Pathology Elaine Saunches APA, Chicago, ICMJE (Vancouver), MLA, RSC
Surgery; Radiology; Anesthesia and Intensive Care; Obstetrics & Gynecology; Child Health; Advanced Training in Fertility Management; Hematology   Tereza Richards APA, Chicago, ICMJE (Vancouver), MLA
FACULTY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY
Library Representative of Faculty Board  Dr. Sasekea Harris
Chemistry' Earthquake Unit; Agriculture; Centre for Marine Sciences; Centre for Nuclear Sciences Karen Tyrell ACS, AIP, Chicago, RSC
Geography & Geology Dunstan Newman ACS, AIP, APA, Chicago, MLA
Mathematics; Computer Science Godfrey Walker APA, ACS, AIP, Chicago
Physics; Electron Microscopy Unit; Life Sciences; Biotechnology Sasekea Harris ACS, AIP, Chicago, RSC
Natural Products Institute & Sustainable Development Kareen Bourne APA, Chicago 
FACULTY OF ENGINEERING 
Library Representative on the Faculty Board Yolanda Tugwell
School of Engineering Yolanda Tugwell ACS, APA, Chicago, MLA
FACULTY OF SPORT
Library Representative on the Faculty Board Pauline Nicholas
Sport Business Management Social Work  Pauline Nicholas APA, Chicago
FACULTY OF SOCIAL SCIENCES
Library Representative on the Faculty Board Audrey Saddler
Government; Management Studies  Vergie Lee Reid Lawson Blue Book, Chicago OSCOLA (ALL styles)
Economics; Tourism & Hospitality Management and MAPS  Audrey Saddler APA, Blue Book, Chicago, MLA, OSCOLA
Sociology and Social Psychology Adrian Duncan APA, Chicago, MLA, Turabian
Mona School of Business Rosemarie Runcie MLA, APA, Chicago
WESTERN JAMAICA CAMPUS LIBRARY
Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Science & Engineering and Law Beverly Burte APA, Chicago, MLA, OSCOLA
Faculty of  Medical Sciences Sandra Stubbs APA, Chicago, MLA (ALL Styles)
Lib. Rep - Graduates Studies  Yolanda Tugwell and Dr. A. Palmer
Lib Rep - Academic Quality Assurance Committee Ms. Cheryl Kean

Introduction to UWIlinC

UWIlinC brings together UWI information resources from across the English-speaking Caribbean in all formats including UWI's intellectual output, subscribed resources (electronic journals, databases, electronic books) and the catalogues for all four UWI campuses.

Three Minute Thesis Competition (3MT) ® :The UWI Mona Campus Edition

Other Important Databases

Substance Abuse