LibGuides: Engineering Division: Resources and Services: General Reference Databases

What is a general reference database?

These databases contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

They represent the content of hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedia, thesauri, almanacs and other similar material.

CREDO REFERENCE (STA) This link opens in a new window This is a full text database that comprises of a searchable collection of over 150 online reference books from different publishers. It also includes a collection of art images.
CHICAGO MANUAL OF STYLE ONLINE (STA) This link opens in a new window This is an online reference guide which provides details of the writing and citation styles widely used by authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers and publishers in any field.
ENCYCLOPEDIA BRITANNICA ACADEMIC (STA) This link opens in a new window This resource features the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia and the Merriam-Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus.
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY (STA) This link opens in a new window This is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research which enables you to search one reference book or search across the entire collection.
OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY (STA) This link opens in a new window This dictionary covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers etymological analysis and lists variant spellings, as well as illustrates pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

Ask a Librarian (Online Contact Form)

Need Help?

The staff of the Engineering Division of the Alma Jordan Library are ready to help you get the materials you need!

As always, you can contact:

- Adnan Maharaj - Library Attendant

- Teriq Thomas - Library Assistant II

- Randy Siew - Faculty Liaison Librarian - Engineering

☎ (868) 662-2002 ext. 82244