LibGuides: Engineering Division: Resources and Services: Legal Databases

What type of material do legal databases contain?

These databases contain international treaties, court cases/judgments, legislative and judicial interpretations, statutes, constitutional and national laws, regulations, rules, administrative regulations, and other similar documents.

Click here to learn more about our Legal Resources.

A-Z List of Legal Databases

CARILAW (STA) This link opens in a new window See vLEXJUSTIS. CARILAW is contained in vLexJustis' Caribbean Judgments collection.
DIGITAL LEGISLATIVE LIBRARY (STA) This link opens in a new window The Digital Legislative Library provides full-text access to Trinidad and Tobagos legislative material from 1838 to present. The collection includes volumes of the Federal Laws which would have been applicable to Trinidad and Tobago during the years of the West Indian Federation.
HEINONLINE (STA) This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is an online research product with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Our subscription offers access to the following: English Reports, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP), Kluwer Law International Journal Library, Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, Philip C. Jessup Library, Revised Statutes of Canada, Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law, World Constitutions Illustrated, World Treaty Library, and more.
INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS & BOOKS FULL TEXT (H.W. WILSON) - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text provides complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.
INDEX TO LEGAL PERODICALS RETROSPECTIVE: 1908-1981 (H.W. WILSON) - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered. The coverage dates are 1908 1981
INDUSTRIAL COURT OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - JUDGMENT DATABASE (STA) This link opens in a new window The Industrial Court of Trinidad and Tobago Judgment Database contains the judgments handed down by the Industrial Court of Trinidad and Tobago since 1965. It also contains some Court of Appeal and High Court judgments which are related to our Industrial Court matters.
This database can only be accessed via username and password. Please contact the Law Librarian for further information.
LAWS OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - REVISED (OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL AND MINISTRY OF LEGAL AFFAIRS) (STA) This link opens in a new window The Revised Laws of Trinidad and Tobago offer access to the complete consolidated laws (acts and subsidiary legislation), as of 31st December, 2016.
LEXIS+ UK (LEXISNEXIS) (STA) This link opens in a new window Lexis+ UK offers access the UK's most authoritative and comprehensive collection of annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary from Butterworths and Tolley.
MAX PLANCK ENCYCLOPEDIAS OF PUBLIC INTERNATIONAL LAW (STA) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive resource contains peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. Please note that the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law can be found within the Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law.
OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES - INTERNATIONAL LAW (STA) This link opens in a new window Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies- International Law offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship.
OXFORD REPORTS ON INTERNATIONAL LAW (STA) This link opens in a new window Oxford Reports on International Law brings together decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals. In this resource, the full scope of international case law is available in one place, accompanied by expert analysis and cross-case navigation via the Oxford Law Citator.
vLEX JUSTIS (STA) This link opens in a new window vLexJustis is the new platform that combines Justis and vLex content. Our subscription offers access to the following collections: vLex Australia Core, vLex Ireland Core, vLex United Kingdom Core, vLex Canada Core, vLex Caribbean Core and International Law Reports. Please see User Guide.
WEST INDIAN REPORTS (LEXIS+ UK) (STA) This link opens in a new window West Indian Reports (WIR) includes an archive of over 3,500 cases decided in the High Courts and Courts of Appeal of the West Indian States, and Privy Council appeals therefrom.
First published in 1958 they are the authoritative, ongoing archive of case law in the Caribbean relied upon by the legal profession throughout the West Indies.
THOMSON REUTERS WESTLAW PRECISION [CONTACT LAW LIBRARY/LIBRARIAN] (STA) This link opens in a new window Thomson Reuters Westlaw Precision is an online legal research service for legal and law related materials and services, including searches of United States and international legal materials
This database can only be accessed via username and password. Please contact the Law Librarian for further information.