News & Events

As engineers and future engineers, you play a vital role in shaping a sustainable future, and Plastic Free July is an excellent opportunity to step up to that challenge. This global movement encourages millions of people to refuse single-use plastics and as engineering students and faculty, your insights can amplify its impact through research, innovative solutions and conscious consumption.

Plastic pollution is a growing crisis. In 2023, over 89 million participants across more than 190 countries took part in Plastic Free July, leading to a reduction of 240 million kilograms of plastic consumption globally (Plastic Free Foundation, 2023). While this achievement is monumental, the reality is that plastic pollution is projected to triple by 2040, if not urgently addressed (Plastic Free Foundation, 2023). As engineers, your expertise in materials science, waste management and innovative design could be instrumental in this fight.

The Role of Engineers in Reducing Plastic Pollution

Engineering plastics are among the most used materials in high-performance applications such as heat and chemical resistance, mechanical strength and flame retardance (Yildizhan, 2021). However, addressing plastic waste involves reducing both commodity and engineering plastics. Mechanical recycling offers one pathway, yet it requires innovations to improve material quality post-recycling. By finding ways to enhance the recyclability of engineering plastics, you can contribute to more sustainable production methods (Rabiu and Jaeger-Erben, 2023).

Resources at the Alma Jordan Library

The Alma Jordan Library is an invaluable resource for those interested in the science and impact of plastics. You can access the Library's online catalogue UWIlinC to search for research materials on engineering plastics, their impact on the environment and sustainability practices to aid in improving recycling processes.

Selected Books and Journal Articles

 

 

 

Plastics Engineering (4th Edition)

Crawford, R. J.; Martin, P. J.

2020

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Plastics and the Environment / edited by R M Harrison, R E Hester

R. M. Harrison editor.; R. E Hester (Ronald E.) editor.; R Khester

2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Brydson's Plastics Materials (8th Edition)

Gilbert, Marianne

2016

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Manufacturing of Nanocomposites with Engineering Plastics

Vikas Mittal

2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Closed‐Loop Recyclable Poly(ester‐disulfide)s for Potential Alternatives to Engineering Plastic

Chen, Meng ; Yang, Rulin ; Wu, Huiping ; Wang, Qian ; Shi, Chenyu ; Zhou, Shang‐Wu ; Yang, Ding ; Liu, Fang‐Yu ; Tian, He ; Qu, Da‐Hui

Angewandte Chemie International Edition, 2024-08, p.e202409200

 

Sustainable Waste Management of Engineering Plastics Generated from E-Waste: A Critical Evaluation of Mechanical, Thermal and Morphological Properties

Jaidev, K. ; Biswal, Manoranjan ; Mohanty, Smita ; Nayak, Sanjay K.

Journal of polymers and the environment, 2021-06, Vol.29 (6), p.1763-1776

 

By taking part in Plastic Free July, not only can you reduce your own plastic use but you can also be part of the solution through research, innovation and action. To learn more visit https://www.plasticfreejuly.org/ 

  

 

 

References

Plastic Free Foundation. 2023. Plastic Free July Impact Report 2023. Fremantle: Plastic Free Foundation.

Yildizhan, Fatih Selim. 2021. Engineering Plastics: Market Analysis and Recycling Methods.

Rabiu, Mubarik K., and Melanie Jaeger-Erben. 2023. "Reducing Single-use Plastic in Everyday Social Practices: Insights from a Living Lab Experiment." Resources, Conservation & Recycling 200: 107303.

This blog post was written by Natasha Daniel, UWI MLIS Intern.

Studies in building, civil, structural engineering and architecture are essential for the development and maintenance of residential and commercial buildings, infrastructures and public spaces.  Students have the opportunity to contribute to the design, construction, and maintenance of structures that improve people’s lives, enhance public safety and promote sustainable development.

These fields require a combination of technical knowledge, problem-solving skills, and creativity, as well as the opportunity to translate conceptual ideas into practical and functional designs. Furthermore, these fields are continuously evolving with the introduction of new technologies, construction methods, and materials to support sustainable design practices.

The construction industry offers a diverse range of career paths, including architectural design, structural engineering, construction management, urban planning, and project management. The tangible results from work associated with these professions can provide a sense of accomplishment and personal fulfilment. Below are some of the eBooks related to these fields that are available in your library databases. 

Advanced Fiber-Reinforced Polymer(FRP) Composites for Structural Applications by Jiping Bai (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128203460
Publication Date: 2023

Advanced Fibre-reinforced Polymer (FRP) Composites for Structural Applications, Second Edition provides updates on new research that has been carried out on the use of FRP composites for structural applications. These include the further development of advanced FRP composites materials that achieve lighter and stronger FRP composites, how to enhance FRP integrated behavior through matrix modification, along with information on pretension treatments and intelligence technology. The development of new technology such as automated manufacturing and processing of fiber-reinforced polymer (FRP) composites have played a significant role in optimizing fabrication processing and matrix formation.

Performance and Improvement of Green Construction Projects : Management Strategies and Innovations by Bon-Gang Hwang
ISBN: 9780128154830
Publication Date: 2018

Performance and Improvement of Green Construction Projects: Management Strategies and Innovations expertly explains the specific characteristics and management approaches of green construction projects using in-depth examples that compare presented tactics to conventional construction projects. The book provides a holistic view on management strategies and innovations, focusing on the assessment and improvement of green construction projects and how to manage performance with respect to cost, scheduling, quality, safety, risk, productivity and leadership development. Addresses performance improvement and project management in green construction projects, covering cost, scheduling, safety, quality, risk, productivity and leadership Clearly explains the obstacles, challenges and barriers to implementing green construction projects Discusses special issues that are inherent in green construction projects, from inception to delivery.

Advances in Structural Engineering Mechanics, Volume One by Vasant Matsagar (Editor)
ISBN: 9788132221906
Publication Date: 2015

The book presents research papers presented by academicians, researchers, and practicing structural engineers from India and abroad in the recently held Structural Engineering Convention (SEC) 2014 at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi during 22 – 24 December 2014. The book is divided into three volumes and encompasses multidisciplinary areas within structural engineering, such as earthquake engineering and structural dynamics, structural mechanics, finite element methods, structural vibration control, advanced cementitious and composite materials, bridge engineering, and soil-structure interaction. Advances in Structural Engineering is a useful reference material for structural engineering fraternity including undergraduate and postgraduate students, academicians, researchers and practicing engineers.

Contemporary Issues in Construction in Developing Countries by George Ofori (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203847350
Publication Date: 2012

Economic growth and socio-economic development are particuliarly important for developing countries, and the construction industry plays a central role in driving both of these. Traditionally the issues faced have been assumed to be merely offshoots of those encountered in industrialised nations and are usually discussed only in this context. In addition, research in construction management and economics has generally failed to take proper account of the unique or highly emphasised characteristics of the industries in developing countries, or their economic and social environment. This volume challenges underlying assumptions and focuses on the distinct characteristics of construction in developing countries. In so doing it considers the issues from the perspective of the developing countries themselves to present a strong contemporary picture for researchers. It forms a companion volume to New Perspectives on Construction in Developing Countries which provides an update on the generic subjects relating to the construction industry in developing countries, and covers new concepts and issues.
 

100 Ideas that Changed Architecture by Richard Weston
ISBN: 1856697320
Publication Date: 2011

This inspiring book chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped architecture. 100 Ideas that Changed Architecture explores when each idea first evolved and the subsequent impact it has had up to the present day.

Advanced Civil Infrastructure Materials: Science, Mechanics and Applications by Hwai Chung Wu
ISBN: 9781855739437
Publication Date: 2006

Advanced civil infrastructure materials provides an up-to-date review of several emerging construction materials that may have a significant impact on repairs of existing infrastructures and/or new constructions. Each chapter explores the ‘materials design concept’ which leads to the creation of advanced composites by synergistically combining two or more constituents. Such design methodology is made possible by several key advancements in materials science and mechanics. Each chapter is concluded with selective examples of real world applications using these advanced materials. This includes relevant structural design guidelines and mechanics to assist readers in comprehending the uses of these advanced materials.

The contributors are made up of renowned authors who are recognized for their expertise in their chosen field. Advanced civil infrastructure materials is of value to both graduate and undergraduate students of civil engineering, and will serve as a useful reference guide for researchers and practitioners in the construction industry.

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

As our reliance on digital technology increases, so do the risks associated with cybersecurity. For students and faculty at The UWI St Augustine Campus, understanding these risks and learning how to mitigate them is essential. This blog post will explore the importance of cybersecurity, provide practical tips, and highlight resources available at the Alma Jordan Library to help you stay safe online.

Why Cybersecurity Matters?

Cybersecurity is critical because our personal and professional lives are increasingly intertwined with digital technologies. According to Craigen, Diakun-Thibault, and Purse (2014), cybersecurity encompasses the protection of cyberspace and cyberspace-enabled systems from occurrences that misalign legal and actual property rights. This definition underscores the multidimensional nature of cybersecurity, which includes technical, organizational, economic, social, and political aspects.

Common Cyber Threats

Phishing Attacks: These attacks often involve fraudulent emails that appear to be from legitimate sources. The goal is to trick recipients into providing sensitive information, such as passwords or credit card numbers. For example, a student might receive an email that looks like it’s from their university, asking them to reset their password, only to have their information stolen.

• Malware: Malicious software designed to disrupt, damage, or gain unauthorized access to computer systems. This can include viruses, worms, and Trojan horses.
• Ransomware: A type of malware that locks users out of their systems or data, demanding a ransom to restore access. Hospitals, for instance, have been targeted, putting patients at risk.
• Social Engineering:  This tactic involves manipulating individuals into breaking normal security procedures, often by tricking them into giving away confidential information.

Tips for Enhancing Cybersecurity Awareness

• Use Strong Passwords: Create complex passwords that include a mix of letters, numbers, and symbols. Avoid using easily guessable information, such as birthdays or common words.
• Enable Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA): MFA adds an extra layer of security by requiring additional verification beyond just a password.
• Stay Informed About Phishing Scams: Be cautious of unsolicited emails or messages asking for personal information. Verify the source before clicking on any links or providing information.
• Regularly Update Software: Keep your operating systems and applications up to date to protect against the latest vulnerabilities.

• Be Mindful of Your Online Presence: Limit the amount of personal information shared online and adjust privacy settings on social media platforms.

Selected E-books

Understanding and practising good cybersecurity habits is essential for protecting yourself and the university community. You can enhance your cybersecurity awareness and resilience by staying informed about the latest threats and utilizing the resources available at the Alma Jordan Library. Discover our selected e-books on cybersecurity below, and don't forget to explore the library's catalogue and databases for even more insightful e-books and journals on this crucial topic.

Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity by Ishaani Priyadarshini (Editor); Rohit Sharma (Editor)

ISBN: 9781003097518

Publication Date: 2022

Artificial intelligence and cybersecurity are two emerging fields that have made phenomenal contributions toward technological advancement. As cyber-attacks increase, there is a need to identify threats and thwart attacks. This book incorporates recent developments that artificial intelligence brings to the cybersecurity world. Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity: Advances and Innovations provides advanced system implementation for Smart Cities using artificial intelligence. It addresses the complete functional framework workflow and explores basic and high-level concepts. The book is based on the latest technologies covering major challenges, issues and advances, and discusses intelligent data management and automated systems. This edited book provides a premier interdisciplinary platform for researchers, practitioners and educators. It presents and discusses the most recent innovations, trends and concerns as well as practical challenges and solutions adopted in the fields of artificial intelligence and cybersecurity.

 

Developing a Cybersecurity Immune System for Industry 4. 0 by Sergei Petrenko

ISBN: 9781003337874

Publication Date: 2022

Cyber immune systems try to mimic the adaptive immune system of humans and animals because of its capability to detect and fend off new, unseen pathogens. Today's current cyber security systems provide an effective defense mechanism against known cyber-attacks but are not so good when it comes to defending against unknown attacks. This book describes the possible development and organization of self-healing computing based on cyber immunity techniques and aimed at working in the new realm of Industry 4.0. Industry 4.0 is the trend towards automation and data exchange in manufacturing technologies and processes which include cyber-physical systems (CPS), the internet of things (IoT), industrial internet of things (IIOT), cloud computing, cognitive computing and artificial intelligence. The book describes the author's research and development of cyber-immunity systems that will prevent the destruction of critical information infrastructure by future unknown cyber-attacks and thus avoid the significant or catastrophic consequences of such attacks. The book is designed for undergraduate and post-graduate students, for engineers in related fields as well as managers of corporate and state structures, chief information officers (CIO), chief information security officers (CISO), architects, and research engineers in the field of cybersecurity. 

 

Information Technology Law in Jamaica by Nicole Foga

ISBN: 9789403515366

Publication Date: 2022

Derived from the renowned multi-volume International Encyclopaedia of Laws, this practical guide to information technology law - the law affecting information and communication technology (ICT) - in Jamaica covers every aspect of the subject, including the regulation of digital markets, intellectual property rights in the digital context, relevant competition rules, drafting and negotiating ICT-related contracts, electronic transactions, and cybercrime. Lawyers who handle transnational matters will appreciate the detailed explanation of specific characteristics of practice and procedure. Following a general introduction, the monograph assembles its information and guidance in six main areas of practice: (1) the regulatory framework of digital markets, including legal aspects of standardization, international private law applied to the online context, telecommunications law, regulation of audio-visual services and online commercial platforms; (2) online public services including e-government, e-health and online voting; (3) contract law with regard to software, hardware, networks and related services, with special attention to case law in this area, rules with regard to electronic evidence, regulation of electronic signatures, online financial services and electronic commerce; (4) software protection, legal protection of databases or chips, and other intellectual property matters; (5) the legal framework regarding cybersecurity and (6) the application of criminal procedure and substantive criminal law in the area of cybercrime. Its succinct yet scholarly nature, as well as the practical quality of the information it provides, make this monograph a valuable time-saving tool for business and legal professionals alike. Lawyers representing parties with interests in Jamaica will welcome this very useful guide, and academics and researchers will appreciate its value in the study of comparative law in this relatively new and challenging field.

 

Routledge Handbook of International Cybersecurity by Eneken Tikk (Editor); Mika Kerttunen (Editor)

ISBN: 9781351038904

Publication Date: 2020

The Routledge Handbook of International Cybersecurity examines the development and use of information and communication technologies (ICTs) from the perspective of international peace and security. Acknowledging that the very notion of peace and security has become more complex, the volume seeks to determine which questions of cybersecurity are indeed of relevance for international peace and security and which, while requiring international attention, are simply issues of contemporary governance or development. The Handbook offers a variety of thematic, regional and disciplinary perspectives on the question of international cybersecurity, and the chapters contextualize cybersecurity in the broader contestation over the world order, international law, conflict, human rights, governance and development. The volume is split into four thematic sections: Concepts and frameworks; Challenges to secure and peaceful cyberspace; National and regional perspectives on cybersecurity; Global approaches to cybersecurity. This book will be of much interest to students of cybersecurity, computer science, sociology, international law, defence studies and International Relations in general. 

 

Challenges in Cybersecurity and Privacy - the European Research Landscape by Jorge Bernal Bernabe (Editor); Antonio Skarmeta (Editor)

ISBN: 9788770220880

Publication Date: 2019

Cybersecurity and Privacy issues are becoming an important barrier for a trusted and dependable global digital society development. Cyber-criminals are continuously shifting their cyber-attacks specially against cyber-physical systems and IoT, since they present additional vulnerabilities due to their constrained capabilities, their unattended nature and the usage of potential untrustworthiness components. Likewise, identity-theft, fraud, personal data leakages, and other related cyber-crimes are continuously evolving, causing important damages and privacy problems for European citizens in both virtual and physical scenarios. In this context, new holistic approaches, methodologies, techniques and tools are needed to cope with those issues, and mitigate cyberattacks, by employing novel cyber-situational awareness frameworks, risk analysis and modeling, threat intelligent systems, cyber-threat information sharing methods, advanced big-data analysis techniques as well as exploiting the benefits from latest technologies such as SDN/NFV and Cloud systems. In addition, novel privacy-preserving techniques, and crypto-privacy mechanisms, identity and eID management systems, trust services, and recommendations are needed to protect citizens' privacy while keeping usability levels. 

 

Cyberspace and Cybersecurity by George Kostopoulos

ISBN: 9781138057715

Publication Date: 2017

Providing comprehensive coverage of cyberspace and cybersecurity, this textbook not only focuses on technologies but also explores human factors and organizational perspectives and emphasizes why asset identification should be the cornerstone of any information security strategy. Topics include addressing vulnerabilities, building a secure enterprise, blocking intrusions, ethical and legal issues, and business continuity. Updates include topics such as cyber risks in mobile telephony, steganography, cybersecurity as an added value, ransomware defense, review of recent cyber laws, new types of cybercrime, plus new chapters on digital currencies and encryption key management.

 

 

 

 

Cybersecurity by Kim J. Andreasson (Editor)

ISBN: 9781439846636

Publication Date: 2011

The Internet has given rise to new opportunities for the public sector to improve efficiency and better serve constituents in the form of e-government. But with a rapidly growing user base globally and an increasing reliance on the Internet, digital tools are also exposing the public sector to new risks. An accessible primer, Cybersecurity: Public Sector Threats and Responses focuses on the convergence of globalization, connectivity, and the migration of public sector functions online. It identifies the challenges you need to be aware of and examines emerging trends and strategies from around the world.nbsp;Offering practical guidance for addressing contemporary risks, the book is organized into three sections: Global Trends--considers international e-government trends, includes case studies of common cyber threats and presents efforts of the premier global institution in the field National and Local Policy Approaches--examines the current policy environment in the United States and Europe and illustrates challenges at all levels of government Practical Considerations--explains how to prepare for cyber attacks, including an overview of relevant U.S. Federal cyber incident response policies, an organizational framework for assessing risk, and emerging trends Also suitable for classroom use, this book will help you understand the threats facing your organization and the issues to consider when thinking about cybersecurity from a policy perspective.

 

Students and faculty are invited to visit the Alma Jordan Library to view our informative display on cybersecurity and explore the selection of featured books on this topic.

Cybersecurity Awareness Course

The UWI's Centre for Information Technology Services (CITS) provides a Cybersecurity Awareness Course tailored to enhance the security awareness of both faculty and students. This programme aims to educate participants on the recommended methods for maintaining safety and safeguarding institutional information. The curriculum covers topics, including identifying phishing scams, securing devices, creating robust passwords and understanding the potential risks associated with social media and internet usage. By completing this course, faculty and students will be better prepared to defend against cyber threats and contribute to establishing a digital environment at UWI. For more information on this course, visit;  https://sta.uwi.edu/cits/cybersecurity-awareness-course
 

References

Alharbi, Talal, and Asifa Tassaddiq. 2021. "Assessment of Cybersecurity Awareness among Students of Majmaah University." Big Data and Cognitive Computing 5 (2): 23.

Craigen, Dan, Nadia Diakun-Thibault, and Randy Purse. 2014. "Defining Cybersecurity." Technology innovation management review 4 (10).

Florackis, Chris, Christodoulos Louca, Roni Michaely, and Michael Weber. 2023. "Cybersecurity Risk." The Review of Financial Studies 36 (1): 351-407.

Peker, Yesem Kurt, Lydia Ray, Stephanie Da Silva, Nathaniel Gibson, and Christopher Lamberson. "Raising Cybersecurity Awareness among College Students." 2016.

Global Creativity and Innovation Day

World Creativity and Innovation Day is an event observed on April 21, emphasizing the vital role of creativity and innovation in problem-solving and advancing human progress. For engineering students, this day serves as a reminder of the impact of thinking on shaping the future of technology and engineering.

The Significance of Creativity and Innovation in Engineering

Creativity and innovation are elements in engineering that enable the creation of solutions to complex issues. According to Cropley (2015), fostering creativity in engineering education helps generate innovative solutions that meet society’s evolving needs.

Throughout history, engineering has been about individuals discovering solutions to an array of problems spanning from architecture to medicine. It tackles challenges like earthquakes, transportation systems, clean water access, and increased lifespans. Engineering not only enhances life but also impacts the economy and overall quality of life.

The Engineering Division at the Alma Jordan Library has a wealth of information on engineering, creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship and other relevant topics. Here is a brief list of selected e-books that may be of interest to engineering students seeking to foster creativity and innovation.

Selected E-books

How can Engineering Students further Enhance their Creativity and Innovation Skills?

Engineering students can further enhance their creativity and innovation skills during their university studies by following the steps outlined below based on practices for creating a culture that fosters creativity (Higuera et al., 2021);

1. Apply creativity and innovation techniques to explore opportunities and challenge thinking boundaries. Experiment with approaches and methods to uncover solutions for complex problems.
2. Keep a mind without any ideas or biases allowing for a fresh outlook and the ability to consider things from different perspectives. Embrace thoughts and viewpoints to spark creativity and encourage ideas.
3. Avoid assuming that creativity is beyond reach or unnecessary. Understand that creativity can be nurtured and honed through practice, dedication, and a positive attitude. Let go of self-doubt. Believe that everyone possesses the potential for creativity.
4. Experiment to test theories, discover insights, and challenge established conventions. Adopt a mindset of learning and exploration recognizing that failure often paves the way for innovation and progress.
5. View failures as opportunities for learning. Acknowledge that setbacks and errors offer lessons and insights. Learn from failures, adjust your approach accordingly, and use them as stones towards achievements.
6. Pose thought-provoking questions that challenge the state of affairs. Explore possibilities by asking "why" and "what if," fostering thinking and generating innovative concepts. Dare to question assumptions or prevailing norms.
7. Generate numerous ideas through brainstorming sessions and thinking exercises. Encourage an exchange of ideas without criticism or constraints.
8. To enhance the quality of your ideas, aim to generate a number of them, as quantity often leads to outcomes.
9. Collaborate with others to benefit from viewpoints, expertise, and backgrounds. Embrace collective thinking to create an innovative atmosphere. Share your ideas, seek input, and work together to create solutions that are more impactful than efforts.
10. Integrate elements of art, music, literature or nature into your process for inspiration. Look beyond engineering for perspectives and innovative approaches.
11. Stay informed by reading literature in your field to gain insights from experts. Keep up with the research and trends to expand your knowledge base and spark ideas.
12. Utilize resources from organizations to connect with peers at conferences and workshops. Engage with professionals from different fields to exchange ideas and experiences that can fuel innovation.
13. Diversify your skill set by taking courses outside of engineering disciplines, such as design thinking or psychology. Explore subjects to broaden your perspective and enhance your creativity.
14. Engage in real-life design endeavours during your time to put your skills and imagination into action in situations. Undertake projects or team up with others to create solutions that tackle needs and difficulties, refining your problem-solving and inventive thinking capabilities.
15. Join movement-oriented classes that promote activity, such as dance, sports, or yoga. Physical motion can trigger thoughts, enhance abilities, and nurture diverse thought processes that pave the way for innovative concepts.
16. Participate in a lab specially crafted to cultivate creativity and innovation. Immerse yourself in an atmosphere that fosters exploration, experimentation and teamwork. Utilize specialized tools, resources and mentors to bolster your journey.
17. Broaden your expertise beyond engineering by embracing education. Delve into fields such as business, marketing, psychology, or design to develop a grasp of industries and boost your capacity to innovate across disciplines.

Keep in mind that creativity and innovation extend beyond engineering. To foster creativity and innovation among engineering students, educational programs should surpass instruction. Badran (2007) stresses the importance of an approach to enhancing innovative skills through interdisciplinary courses, workshops, and hands-on projects. You can unleash your potential by incorporating these strategies and nurturing a mindset that embraces creativity. Become a driving force for positive change in any field or pursuit you decide to embark on.

On the occasion of World Creativity and Innovation Day, it is crucial to acknowledge the role that creativity and innovation play in the realm of engineering. By cultivating a mindset and offering access to resources, the Alma Jordan Library continues to empower engineering students to emerge as inventive problem solvers and influential figures in their domain. We request that you embrace this day as an opportunity to delve into concepts and embrace risks. Push the boundaries of what can be achieved in engineering.

References

Badran, Ibrahim. 2007. "Enhancing Creativity and Innovation in Engineering Education." European Journal of Engineering Education 32 (5): 573-585.

Charyton, Christine. 2015. "Creative Engineering Design: The Meaning of Creativity and Innovation in Engineering." Creativity and innovation among science and art: A discussion of the two cultures: 135-152.

Cropley, David H. 2015. "Promoting Creativity and Innovation in Engineering Education." Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts 9 (2): 161.

Higuera Martínez, Oscar Iván, Liliana Fernández-Samacá, and Lizeth Fernanda Serrano Cárdenas. 2021. "Trends and Opportunities by Fostering Creativity in Science and Engineering: A Systematic Review." European Journal of Engineering Education 46 (6): 1117-1140.

United Nations. “World Creativity and Innovation Day.” United Nations. Accessed April 19, 2024. https://www.un.org/en/observances/creativity-and-innovation-day.

Photo: Ritesh Man Tamrakar, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

As an engineering student, your brain is your most powerful asset. From tackling complex equations to developing innovative solutions, cognitive function is crucial for your academic success. Did you know that your diet plays a significant role in optimizing your brainpower? Let's delve into the science behind brain-boosting foods and highlight some key resources at the Alma Jordan Library that can further your understanding of this vital topic.

The Science Behind Nutritious Foods for the Brain

The brain is a high-energy organ that utilizes 20% of the body's energy. Your food choices can hinder cognitive abilities such as memory retention, concentration, and mental acuity. Harvard Health suggests that specific foods offer benefits for brain health.

Healthy foods, such as fish, berries, nuts, and leafy green vegetables, are all important for supporting brain function by providing nutrients.

Key Nutrients for Brain Health

• Omega-3 Fatty Acids: Essential for brain cell maintenance and forming connections, omega-3s found in fatty fish like salmon are vital for learning and memory.
• Antioxidants: Blueberries, known for their antioxidant properties, help protect the brain from stress and inflammation that can impact function.
• Vitamin E: Nuts such as almonds and walnuts are sources of vitamin E, which helps combat the decline associated with ageing.
• Folate: Leafy greens like spinach and kale are packed with folate, a nutrient for brain health that reduces the risk of neurodegenerative diseases.

Top Foods to Boost Brain Performance

An article from Thrive Global highlights power foods" that can improve brain function and are easy to include in your meals.

• Dark Chocolate; Contains caffeine and flavonoids that enhance memory and cognitive abilities.
• Avocados; Rich in fats that promote blood flow, to the brain.
• Whole Grains; Provide sustained energy by releasing glucose into the bloodstream. Turmeric is famous, for its ability to reduce inflammation and enhance brain function by increasing brain derived factor (BDNF) a protein for learning and memory.

When it comes to making choices that can improve brainpower having a grasp of food science is essential. McGill University highlights the significance of understanding the chemistry, biology, and nutrition of foods in determining how different components influence our health and cognitive functions.

For students studying engineering, incorporating brain-boosting foods into your diet can be as simple as starting your day with a smoothie filled with berries, spinach and flaxseeds in omega 3s. Snacking on dark chocolate between classes and including fish and whole grains in your meals can help maintain consistent energy levels throughout the day.

To delve deeper into the link between diet and brain health the Alma Jordan Library provides an array of resources. Some recommended books available include:

Functional Foods and Biotechnology by Kalidas Shetty (Editor); Dipayan Sarkar (Editor)

ISBN: 9781003003830

Publication Date: 2019

The first of two related books that kick off the Food Biotechnology series, Functional Foods and Biotechnology: Sources of Functional Foods and Ingredients, focuses on the recent advances in the understanding of the role of cellular, metabolic, and biochemical concepts and processing that are important and relevant to improve functional foods and food ingredients targeting human health benefits. This volume explores sources of ecologically-based diversity of functional foods and food ingredients that are available to enhance diverse nutritional values and functional benefits of foods for better human health outcomes, especially focusing on emerging diet and lifestyle-linked non-communicable chronic disease (NCDs) challenges. 

 

Nutrition in Neurologic Disorders by Ethem Murat Arsava (Editor)

ISBN: 9783319531700

Publication Date: 2017

This book offers focused and concise coverage of all issues relating to malnutrition in the field of neurology, and in particular addresses practical aspects of nutritional support from a neurology perspective. In addition to providing basic knowledge on important nutritional concepts (body metabolism, assessment and diagnosis of malnutrition, epidemiology, enteral/parenteral nutrition), detailed information is presented on nutritional support for various neurologic disorders handled in a variety of settings, including the neuro-intensive care unit. Much consideration is also given to the diagnosis and management of dysphagia, which is a common and highly critical cause of malnutrition in these patients. Finally, the newly developing concept of neuro-nutrition (or brain foods) - the use of certain nutrients for treatment of neurologic disorders - is discussed. 

 

 

Food As Medicine by Maurice M. Iwu

ISBN: 9781315371627

Publication Date: 2016

This comprehensive book documents African plants used for functional and medicinal foods. It contains more than 60 detailed monographs of African foods, describing foods with various characteristics such as prebiotic, probiotic, satiety, immune modulation, stress-reduction, sports performance, mental acuity, sleep-supporting, metabolic syndrome, antioxidant, and unsaturated fats. Plant description, botanical names and synonyms, plant part used, habitat and distribution, folk use, nutritional content, and chemistry are all fully detailed. The book highlights indigenous African food processing technologies up to the modern era.

 

 

 

Functional Foods by Leah Coles (Editor)

ISBN: 9780429090783

Publication Date: 2013

This title includes a number of Open Access chapters. This new book presents a variety of important research on functional foods-foods that have another role related to disease prevention or health. The first section of the book includes chapters on the complicated relationships between nutrition, physical and mental health, and disease. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

Be sure to visit the Alma Jordan Library to view our display on Power Foods for the Brain, check out resources on this topic, and deepen your knowledge of brain health.

Do you have any recipes or snacks that help boost brain function? Feel free to share them in the comments section!

References

Department of Food Science and Agricultural Chemistry. “What Is Food Science?” Food Science and Agricultural Chemistry, McGill University. Accessed March 19, 2024. https://www.mcgill.ca/foodscience/what-food-science.

“Foods Linked to Better Brainpower.” Harvard Health, March 6, 2021. https://www.health.harvard.edu/healthbeat/foods-linked-to-better-brainpower.

Kodoth Prabhakaran, Nair. 2020. Food and Human Responses: A Holistic View. Book. Cham: Springer.

Sons, Tammy. 2017. “Power Foods for The Brain.” Thrive Global, blog. Medium, August 31. https://medium.com/thrive-global/power-foods-for-the-brain-56a28e94ff55.

Engineering Week is just around the corner, and it's a fantastic time to celebrate the ingenuity, creativity, and impact of engineers worldwide. Whether you're an aspiring engineer or already deep into your studies, this week is dedicated to recognizing the importance of engineering in shaping our world. Join us in this celebration and make the most of the resources available to you at the Alma Jordan Library.

What is Engineering Week?
Engineering Week is an annual event that highlights the contributions of engineers and promotes engineering as a vital and exciting career path. This year, it coincides with World Engineering Day on March 4th, a global celebration to raise awareness about the role of engineering in modern life and its contributions to sustainable development.

For more information on the schedule and themes, check out the official websites for World Engineering Day and Engineers Week 2024.

Dive into Engineering Literature at the Alma Jordan Library
As you engage with Engineering Week activities, don't miss the opportunity to explore some of the best engineering books available at the Alma Jordan Library. Here's a curated list of must-read titles that can provide both foundational knowledge and advanced insights into various engineering careers:

Engineer to Entrepreneur by Rick De la Guardia

ISBN: 9780784414415

Publication Date: 2016

Starting, managing, and owning an engineering firm can be a daunting experience. Engineer to Entrepreneur: Success Strategies to Manage Your Career and Start Your Own Firm provides practical steps at key career points to reach professional goals in any engineering discipline. Rick De La Guardia leads aspiring entrepreneurs through the process from undergraduate class choices, through first jobs, to opening an office and running a consulting firm. Divided into three main sections for the student, beginning engineer, and company owner, De La Guardia provides background information, suggested activities, and detailed steps to make the most of each stage of one's career. Personal examples from his own career are used to illustrate real-life issues and decisions facing entrepreneurs as they find their niche, expand their contacts, and launch their firms. Engineer to Entrepreneur will help engineers in any discipline rethink their careers and take charge of their futures.

 

Building a Career in Software by Daniel Heller

ISBN: 9781484261460

Publication Date: 2020

Software engineering education has a problem: universities and bootcamps teach aspiring engineers to write code, but they leave graduates to teach themselves the countless supporting tools required to thrive in real software companies. Building a Career in Software is the solution, a comprehensive guide to the essential skills that instructors don't need and professionals never think to teach: landing jobs, choosing teams and projects, asking good questions, running meetings, going on-call, debugging production problems, technical writing, making the most of a mentor, and much more. In over a decade building software at companies such as Apple and Uber, Daniel Heller has mentored and managed tens of engineers from a variety of training backgrounds, and those engineers inspired this book with their hundreds of questions about career issues and day-to-day problems. Designed for either random access or cover-to-cover reading, it offers concise treatments of virtually every non-technical challenge you will face in the first five years of your career--as well as a selection of industry-focused technical topics rarely covered in training. 

 

Engineering in Perspective by Tony Ridley

ISBN: 9781786342270

Publication Date: 2017

Engineering in Perspective provides a unique look into the career of one of Britain's most widely experienced engineers, Professor Tony Ridley. Ridley analyses key moments from his career to identify the real-world skills required for success. Through this, he examines how important it is that a successful engineer has not only traditional engineering skills but also good interpersonal skills coupled with a deep understanding of social, economic and political factors. Ridley's career case-studies include his time as first Director General of the Tyne & Wear Passenger Transport Executive and working on the creation of the Metro; first Managing Director of the Hong Kong Mass Transit Railway; Chairman and Managing Director of London Underground; the development of the Docklands Light Railway; and working through the trauma of the Kings Cross fire. 

 

Women in STEM Careers by Diana Bilimoria (Editor); Linley Lord (Editor)

ISBN: 9781781954065

Publication Date: 2014

Adopting an international perspective, this book draws on current research from the United States, Australia and Europe to examine women's participation, advancement and leadership in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) fields. The book explores the nature of STEM careers across industry and academia, and presents the latest thinking on successful individual, organizational and educational initiatives related to women in STEM. Along with a select group of international contributors, Diana Bilimoria and Linley Lord provide a fresh perspective, based on success stories and successful initiatives, augmenting contemporary perspectives on the barriers and issues that women in STEM careers continue to face. Women in STEM Careers is a positive and insightful outlook on gender relations, which will be an invaluable resource for scholars, practitioners and policy-makers in organizations, human resources, academia, and government, as well as for women aspiring to or presently working in STEM fields. 

 

Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering by Ömer Aydan

ISBN: 9780367822309

Publication Date: 2019

The two-volume set Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering is concerned with the application of the principles of mechanics to physical, chemical and electro-magnetic processes in the upper-most layers of the earth and the design and construction of the rock structures associated with civil engineering and exploitation or extraction of natural resources in mining and petroleum engineering. Volume 2, Applications of Rock Mechanics - Rock Engineering, discusses the applications of rock mechanics to engineering structures in/on rock, rock excavation techniques and in-situ monitoring techniques, giving some specific examples. The dynamic aspects associated with the science of earthquakes and their effect on rock structures, and the characteristics of vibrations induced by machinery, blasting and impacts as well as measuring techniques are described. Furthermore, the degradation and maintenance processes in rock engineering are explained. Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering is intended to be a fundamental resource for younger generations and newcomers and a reference book for experts specialized in Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering and associated with the fields of mining, civil and petroleum engineering, engineering geology, and/or specialized in Geophysics and concerned with earthquake science and engineering.

 

Food Engineering Handbook by Theodoros Varzakas (Editor); Constantina Tzia (Editor)

ISBN: 9780429171727

Publication Date: 2014

Food Engineering Handbook: Food Process Engineering addresses the basic and applied principles of food engineering methods used in food processing operations around the world.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Story of Industrial Engineering by Adedeji B. Badiru

ISBN: 9780429461811

Publication Date: 2018

Industrial engineering is the profession dedicated to making collective systems function better with less waste, better quality, and fewer resources, to serve the needs of society more efficiently and more effectively. This book uses a story-telling approach to advocate and elaborate the fundamental principles of industrial engineering in a simple, interesting, and engaging format. It will stimulate interest in industrial engineering by exploring how the tools and techniques of the discipline can be relevant to a broad spectrum of applications in business, industry, engineering, education, government, and the military. Features Covers the origin of industrial engineering Discusses the early pioneers and profiles the evolution of the profession Presents offshoot branches of industrial engineering Illustrates specific areas of performance measurement and human factors Links industrial engineering to the emergence of digital engineering Uses the author's personal experience to illustrate his advocacy and interest in the profession

You can access these books and many more by visiting the Alma Jordan Library or checking their availability through the library's online catalogue; UWIlinC.

Get Involved!
Mark your calendars and get ready to immerse yourself in a week of engineering excellence. Engage in the online events via the World Engineering Day and Engineers Week 2024 websites, expand your knowledge with the recommended books, and connect with the engineering community. The future is engineered by those who dare to innovate, and Engineering Week is your platform to step up and make a difference.

Stay updated with the latest events and resources by visiting the World Engineering Day and Engineers Week 2024 websites, and don’t forget to leverage the vast resources available at the Alma Jordan Library.

Happy Engineering Week!
 

Introduction

Welcome to the exciting world of Robotics and Artificial Intelligence (AI)! Whether you are an engineering student embarking on your academic journey or a faculty member leading cutting-edge research, the Alma Jordan Library offers a wealth of information to support your endeavours.

Historical Context and Evolution

The fields of AI and Robotics were strongly connected in the early days of AI, but over time they developed as separate disciplines. AI focused on abstract problems and algorithms, while Robotics concentrated on physical embodiment and control. However, recent advancements have bridged this gap, leading to the integration of AI and Robotics into a cohesive field (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

Selected E-Books:

International Standards:

ISO 10218-1:2011, Robots and robotic devices — Safety requirements for industrial robots — Part 1: Robots

Scope:

ISO 10218-1:2011 specifies requirements and guidelines for the inherent safe design, protective measures and information for use of industrial robots. It describes basic hazards associated with robots and provides requirements to eliminate, or adequately reduce, the risks associated with these hazards.

ISO 10218-1:2011 does not address the robot as a complete machine. Noise emission is generally not considered a significant hazard of the robot alone, and consequently noise is excluded from the scope of ISO 10218-1:2011.

ISO 10218-1:2011 does not apply to non‑industrial robots, although the safety principles established in ISO 10218 can be utilized for these other robots.

ISO 10218-2:2011, Robots and robotic devices — Safety requirements for industrial robots — Part 2: Robot systems and integration

Scope:

ISO 10218-2:2011 specifies safety requirements for the integration of industrial robots and industrial robot systems as defined in ISO 10218-1, and industrial robot cell(s). The integration includes the following: the design, manufacturing, installation, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the industrial robot system or cell; necessary information for the design, manufacturing, installation, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the industrial robot system or cell; component devices of the industrial robot system or cell.

ISO 10218-2:2011 describes the basic hazards and hazardous situations identified with these systems, and provides requirements to eliminate or adequately reduce the risks associated with these hazards. ISO 10218-2:2011 also specifies requirements for the industrial robot system as part of an integrated manufacturing system. ISO 10218-2:2011 does not deal specifically with hazards associated with processes (e.g. laser radiation, ejected chips, welding smoke). Other standards can be applicable to these process hazards.

ISO/IEC 22989:2022, Information technology — Artificial intelligence — Artificial intelligence concepts and terminology

Scope:

This document establishes terminology for AI and describes concepts in the field of AI.

This document can be used in the development of other standards and in support of communications among diverse, interested parties or stakeholders.

This document is applicable to all types of organizations (e.g. commercial enterprises, government agencies, not-for-profit organizations).

ISO/IEC 23053:2022, Framework for Artificial Intelligence (AI) Systems Using Machine Learning (ML)

Scope:

This document establishes an Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) framework for describing a generic AI system using ML technology. The framework describes the system components and their functions in the AI ecosystem. This document is applicable to all types and sizes of organizations, including public and private companies, government entities, and not-for-profit organizations, that are implementing or using AI systems.

ISO/IEC 23894:2023, Information technology — Artificial intelligence — Guidance on risk management

Scope:

This document provides guidance on how organizations that develop, produce, deploy or use products, systems and services that utilize artificial intelligence (AI) can manage risk specifically related to AI. The guidance also aims to assist organizations to integrate risk management into their AI-related activities and functions. It moreover describes processes for the effective implementation and integration of AI risk management.

The application of this guidance can be customized to any organization and its context.

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

Advances and Applications

• Healthcare:

AI and Robotics are revolutionizing healthcare by assisting in surgeries, rehabilitation, and elder care. Robots equipped with AI can perform precise operations and monitor patients, reducing the workload on healthcare professionals (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

• Manufacturing:

Intelligent robots are transforming manufacturing processes by performing tasks with high precision and adaptability. AI enables these robots to learn and optimize their operations, leading to increased efficiency and reduced costs (Soori et al., 2023)​​.

• Service Industry:

AI-powered robots are being deployed in various service sectors, including hospitality and retail, to improve customer experiences through personalized interactions and efficient service delivery (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

Challenges and Future Directions

Despite significant advancements, several challenges remain:

• Uncertainty and Complexity: Robots must operate in unpredictable environments and handle incomplete and conflicting information. Developing robust AI algorithms to manage these uncertainties is crucial (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.
• Ethical and Social Implications: The widespread adoption of AI and Robotics raises ethical concerns, including job displacement and privacy issues. Addressing these concerns through thoughtful policy and design is essential (Soori et al., 2023)​​.
• Interdisciplinary Collaboration: Effective integration of AI and Robotics requires collaboration across various disciplines, including computer science, mechanical engineering, and cognitive science (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

The fusion of AI and Robotics is set to revolutionize multiple industries, offering solutions to complex problems and enhancing human capabilities. The AJL is committed to providing the best resources to support your research and learning in these dynamic fields. Dive into our collection, explore the latest research, and be a part of the technological revolution that is reshaping our world.

Discover a world of knowledge by exploring the Alma Jordan Library’s catalogue at at - https://libraries.sta.uwi.edu/uwilinc. Don’t miss the chance to visit the Engineering Division of the Alma Jordan Library, where you can immerse yourself in our informative display on Robotics and browse or check out the books on display.

References

Rajan, Kanna, and Alessandro Saffiotti. 2017. "Towards a Science of Integrated Ai and Robotics." Artificial Intelligence 247: 1-9. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.artint.2017.03.003.

Soori, Mohsen, Behrooz Arezoo, and Roza Dastres. 2023. "Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning and Deep Learning in Advanced Robotics, a Review." Cognitive Robotics 3: 54-70. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cogr.2023.04.001.
 

Elizabeth Watson Audiovisual Unit (EWAU) - Photographs Collection

Christmas in the Caribbean is a unique blend of cultural traditions, vibrant celebrations, and delectable cuisine. Imagine the warm tropical breeze, the sound of the ocean waves, and the lively beats of Caribbean music as you dive into a feast that marries the traditional with the tropical. But what makes this even more intriguing is the infusion of engineering ingenuity into the culinary experiences and festive decorations.

Festive Flavours: Caribbean Christmas Cuisine
Caribbean Christmas is synonymous with mouthwatering dishes that reflect the region's rich culinary heritage. Traditional dishes such as jerk pork, curry goat, and pepper pot are staples on the Christmas table. Each dish tells a story of the islands' history and the diverse influences that have shaped its food culture.

Must-Try Dishes:

• Sorrel Drink: A festive beverage made from the petals of the hibiscus plant, infused with ginger, cloves, and rum.
• Black Cake: A rich, moist cake made with dried fruits soaked in rum and wine, spiced with cinnamon and nutmeg.
• Pastelles: Cornmeal pies filled with a savoury mixture of meat, raisins, and olives, wrapped in banana leaves and steamed to perfection.                                                                             Michael Goldberg Collection   

Engineering Marvels: Enhancing the Christmas Experience
Engineering plays a pivotal role in enhancing the Caribbean Christmas experience. From innovative cooking techniques to the creation of elaborate light displays, engineering ingenuity is at the heart of the festivities.

Selected Books

Naparima Girls' High School. 2002. The Multi-Cultural Cuisine of Trinidad & Tobago and the Caribbean: Naparima Girls' High School Cookbook. 2nd ed. San Fernando, Trinidad: Naparima Girls' High School.

Call Number: TX716.T7 M85 2002  

Sutherland, Veronica V. 2013. Traditional Jamaican Christmas Dinner Recipes. [Jamaica]: [Veronica V. Sutherland].

Call Number: WI TX739.2 .C45 S88 2013

Smith, Obediah Michael. 2003. Christmas Lights. Nassau, Bahamas: Verse Place Press.

Call Number: WI PR9220.9.S55 C57 2003

Renewable energy is revolutionizing how we power our world, offering sustainable alternatives to fossil fuels and reducing environmental impacts. As engineering students and faculty, understanding the nuances and potentials of renewable energy is crucial. This blog post and our in-library display delve into various renewable energy sources, their benefits, and their implications for the future.

What is Renewable Energy?
Renewable energy is derived from natural sources that replenish at a faster rate than they are consumed. Unlike fossil fuels, which take millions of years to form, renewable energy sources such as sunlight and wind are constantly being replenished. This makes renewable energy a key player in mitigating the climate crisis and ensuring sustainable energy for future generations.

Types of Renewable Energy
Solar Energy

Description: Solar energy harnesses sunlight through photovoltaic panels or mirrors that concentrate solar radiation to generate electricity.
Benefits: Solar energy is abundant and can be harnessed even in cloudy weather. The rate of solar energy intercepted by the Earth far exceeds human energy consumption needs. Solar panels have become more affordable, with a lifespan of approximately 30 years.
Applications: Solar energy can provide heat, cooling, lighting, and fuels for various applications.

Wind Energy

Description: Wind energy utilizes large turbines to convert the kinetic energy of moving air into mechanical energy, which can be used to generate electricity.
Benefits: Wind energy has a vast technical potential and can be harnessed both onshore and offshore. Offshore wind power, in particular, offers tremendous potential due to strong wind speeds.
Applications: Wind energy can be used to power entire communities, particularly in regions with strong wind conditions.

Hydropower

Description: Hydropower harnesses the energy of moving water from high to low elevations. It can be generated from reservoirs and rivers.
Benefits: Hydropower is a reliable source of renewable electricity and has been used for centuries. Small-scale hydropower can be an environmentally friendly option for isolated communities.
Applications: Hydropower plants provide energy, drinking water, irrigation, and flood control.

Geothermal Energy

Description: Geothermal energy utilizes heat from the Earth's interior, extracted from geothermal reservoirs.
Benefits: Geothermal energy is a reliable and constant source of power, with hydrothermal reservoirs being used for over 100 years.
Applications: Geothermal energy can be used for direct heating and electricity generation.

Biomass Energy

Description: Biomass energy is derived from organic materials that are burned or converted into liquid or gaseous forms, such as ethanol and biodiesel.
Benefits: Biomass can be a renewable and sustainable source of energy when managed properly.
Applications: Biomass is used for heating, electricity generation, and as a fuel for transportation.

Ocean Energy

Description: Ocean energy captures the kinetic and thermal energy from seawater through waves or currents to generate electricity.
Benefits: Ocean energy has the potential to exceed current human energy requirements significantly.
Applications: Still in the prototype stage, ocean energy devices show promise for future large-scale applications.

Advantages of Renewable Energy

Environmental Benefits: Renewable energy sources produce significantly lower emissions compared to fossil fuels, helping to combat climate change.
Cost Efficiency: Renewable energy technologies are becoming increasingly cost-effective, with lower operational and maintenance costs.
Sustainability: By utilizing the Earth's natural processes, renewable energy can theoretically meet global energy needs indefinitely.

Selected e-books

Renewable Fuels by Rajni Kant, Keshav Kant

ISBN: 9781003200123

Publication Date: 2023

Renewable fuels, in the present times, have become important to curb emission of greenhouse gases, which are causing damage to the environment and leading to climatic changes. Ideally, their utilization can be a zero carbon operation. Planting suitable trees on all waste lands and agro forestry on a large scale can fulfil the needs of timber, fuel, fruits, etc. All kinds of lignocellulosic biomass can be converted by several methods to useful liquid fuels like alcohols, biodiesel, methane, renewable diesel and renewable gasoline. Hydrogen can be used as a renewable fuel because of its desirable characteristics and properties for its use as a green fuel.

 

Decarbonising Electricity Made Simple by Andrew F. Crossland

ISBN: 9780367203320

Publication Date: 2019

This book assesses how low-carbon generation, the advance of energy storage and consumer-based models can help decarbonise electricity supplies at a national level. This book is built around developing a decarbonised electricity mix for Britain which reduces fossil fuels from 50% of supply in 2018 down to levels within 2030 carbon targets. Crossland explores the idea of a future energy storage mix which blends domestic batteries, vehicles, thermal stores and pumped hydro to provide a flexible, responsive electricity system. He then goes on to look at how much storage can contribute to decarbonisation in a multitude of contexts - from domestic to national electricity. This book also discusses how efficiency and self-sufficiency can bring about a decarbonised electricity use within our homes today. Britain is used as the main example, but the themes and conclusions are applicable to a global audience, and each chapter draws on practical case studies from around the world to illustrate key ideas. Drawing on the author's experience in delivering and analysing low-carbon energy projects in the UK, Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America and Oceania, this book will be of great relevance to students, scholars and industry specialists with an interest in energy technology, policy and storage.

The Science of Green Energy by Frank R. Spellman

ISBN: 9781003439059

Publication Date: 2024

Concern for the environment and the impacts of pollution have brought about the need to shift from the use and reliance on hydrocarbons to energy-power sources that are pollution neutral or near pollution neutral or renewable. Moreover, the impact of 200 years of industrialization and surging population growth threatens to exceed the future supply of hydrocarbon power sources. Therefore, the implementation of green energy sources is surging. The Science of Green Energy presents technologies and techniques, as well as real-world usage of and operation of today’s green energy-based applications. This practical book is designed to be used as an information source for the general reader, or for a course in energy, chemistry or in renewable energy engineering fields where green energy is becoming a key player. It is intended to fill a wide gap of missing information in published texts dealing with the green energy revolution currently in progress; it specifically provides information involving the many different sources of energy.

 

Green Energy Materials Handbook by Ming-Fa Lin (Editor); Wen-Dung Hsu (Editor)

ISBN: 9780429881169

Publication Date: 2019

Green Energy Materials Handbook gives a systematic review of the development of reliable, low-cost, and high-performance green energy materials, covering mainstream computational and experimental studies as well as comprehensive literature on green energy materials, computational methods, experimental fabrication and characterization techniques, and recent progress in the field. This work presents complete experimental measurements and computational results as well as potential applications. Among green technologies, electrochemical and energy storage technologies are considered as the most practicable, environmentally friendly, and workable to make full use of renewable energy sources. This text includes 11 chapters on the field, devoted to 4 important topical areas: computational material design, energy conversion, ion transport, and electrode materials. This handbook is aimed at engineers, researchers, and those who work in the fields of materials science, chemistry, and physics. The systematic studies proposed in this book can greatly promote the basic and applied sciences.

Renewable Energy in Developing Countries by Hoy-Yen Chan (Editor); Kamaruzzaman Sopian (Editor)

ISBN: 9783319898087

Publication Date: 2018

This book discusses aspects of policy and techno-economic analysis of renewable energy in developing countries. Renewable energy technologies have been one of the most important strategies in addressing sustainable energy development and climate change. The roles of renewable energy in developing countries are vital, which include the accessibility of modern energy services in rural areas, climate change mitigation, energy security, green job creation and eventually improvement of quality of life. Part I of this book focuses on policy and strategy, while Part II focuses on technology development and feasibility. Chapters are contributed by leading experts from the ASEAN Center of Energy, government agencies, industries, and universities from five developing countries, including Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam, Brunei Darussalam and Bangladesh.

 

 

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

 

 

References

Da Rosa, Aldo Vieira, and Juan Carlos Ordóñez. 2022. Fundamentals of Renewable Energy Processes. London, United Kingdom: Academic Press.
Holden, John, Patrick Robinson, and Establishment Building Research. 2014. Renewable Energy Sources: How They Work and What They Deliver. Part 3, Electrically Driven Heat Pumps. Digest (Building Research Establishment); Dg 532-3. Garston, Watford: IHS BRE Press.
Hossain, Eklas, and Slobodan Petrovic. 2021. Renewable Energy Crash Course: A Concise Introduction. Cham: Springer.
Usher, Bruce. 2019. Renewable Energy: A Primer for the Twenty-First Century. New York: Columbia University Press.
 

World Standards Day, celebrated on October 14th each year, highlights the critical role of standards in ensuring safety, efficiency, and interoperability across various sectors. This year’s theme, “Shared Vision for a Better World: Incorporating SDG 3,” focuses on Sustainable Development Goal 3 (SDG 3), which aims to ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all. Click hyperlink to read the  2023 World Standards Day Message.

This blog post and our in-library display explore this theme's significance and highlight key standards and resources that students and faculty can leverage to contribute to a healthier and more sustainable world.

The Importance of Standards in Achieving SDG 3
What is SDG 3?
SDG 3 is one of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals established by the United Nations. It focuses on ensuring healthy lives and promoting well-being for people of all ages. Achieving SDG 3 involves reducing maternal and child mortality, combating communicable and non-communicable diseases, and ensuring access to essential healthcare services and medications.

Role of International Standards
International standards play a critical role in achieving SDG 3 by providing guidelines and specifications that ensure products and services are safe, reliable, and of high quality. These standards cover a wide range of areas, including healthcare, food safety, and environmental protection, thereby contributing to the overall well-being of individuals and communities.

Key Standards and Resources

• ISO 45001: Occupational Health and Safety - ISO 45001 sets the standard for occupational health and safety management systems. It helps organizations reduce workplace risks and create safer working conditions.
• Codex Alimentarius: Food Safety - The Codex Alimentarius, developed by the FAO and WHO, provides internationally recognized standards for food safety. These standards ensure that food is safe to consume and free from contaminants.
• IEC 60601 Series: Medical Electrical Equipment - IEC 60601 is a series of technical standards for the safety and performance of medical electrical equipment. These standards ensure that medical devices used in hospitals, health centres and health facilities are safe and effective.

Join the movement for a better world! from ISO.

Other Resources

• Check out our library guide on Technical Standards to discover how you can access standards at the Alma Jordan Library. Find out more at https://libguides.uwi.edu/c.php?g=252800!
• 

For more information on the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards’ National Standardization Strategy, please click on the image or visit https://gottbs.com/2020/02/05/national-standardization-strategy-nss/

• To learn more about World Standards Day, please visit https://www.worldstandardsday.org/home.html

References
Codex Alimentarius Commission. "World Standards Day 2023 / Promoting Good Health and Well-Being." Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, October 13, 2023. Accessed October 13, 2023. https://www.fao.org/news.

Geneva Environment Network. "World Standards Day 2023." Accessed October 13, 2023. https://www.genevaenvironmentnetwork.org/events/world-standards-day-2023/.

International Organization for Standardization. "World Standards Day." Accessed October 13, 2023. https://www.iso.org/world-standards-day.html.