News & Events - LibGuides at The University of the West Indies

This blog post was written by Natasha Daniel, UWI MLIS Intern.

Studies in building, civil, structural engineering and architecture are essential for the development and maintenance of residential and commercial buildings, infrastructures and public spaces. Students have the opportunity to contribute to the design, construction, and maintenance of structures that improve people’s lives, enhance public safety and promote sustainable development.

These fields require a combination of technical knowledge, problem-solving skills, and creativity, as well as the opportunity to translate conceptual ideas into practical and functional designs. Furthermore, these fields are continuously evolving with the introduction of new technologies, construction methods, and materials to support sustainable design practices.

The construction industry offers a diverse range of career paths, including architectural design, structural engineering, construction management, urban planning, and project management. The tangible results from work associated with these professions can provide a sense of accomplishment and personal fulfilment. Below are some of the eBooks related to these fields that are available in your library databases.

Advanced Fiber-Reinforced Polymer(FRP) Composites for Structural Applications by Jiping Bai (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128203460
Publication Date: 2023

Advanced Fibre-reinforced Polymer (FRP) Composites for Structural Applications, Second Edition provides updates on new research that has been carried out on the use of FRP composites for structural applications. These include the further development of advanced FRP composites materials that achieve lighter and stronger FRP composites, how to enhance FRP integrated behavior through matrix modification, along with information on pretension treatments and intelligence technology. The development of new technology such as automated manufacturing and processing of fiber-reinforced polymer (FRP) composites have played a significant role in optimizing fabrication processing and matrix formation.

Performance and Improvement of Green Construction Projects : Management Strategies and Innovations by Bon-Gang Hwang
ISBN: 9780128154830
Publication Date: 2018

Performance and Improvement of Green Construction Projects: Management Strategies and Innovations expertly explains the specific characteristics and management approaches of green construction projects using in-depth examples that compare presented tactics to conventional construction projects. The book provides a holistic view on management strategies and innovations, focusing on the assessment and improvement of green construction projects and how to manage performance with respect to cost, scheduling, quality, safety, risk, productivity and leadership development. Addresses performance improvement and project management in green construction projects, covering cost, scheduling, safety, quality, risk, productivity and leadership Clearly explains the obstacles, challenges and barriers to implementing green construction projects Discusses special issues that are inherent in green construction projects, from inception to delivery.

Advances in Structural Engineering Mechanics, Volume One by Vasant Matsagar (Editor)
ISBN: 9788132221906
Publication Date: 2015

The book presents research papers presented by academicians, researchers, and practicing structural engineers from India and abroad in the recently held Structural Engineering Convention (SEC) 2014 at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi during 22 – 24 December 2014. The book is divided into three volumes and encompasses multidisciplinary areas within structural engineering, such as earthquake engineering and structural dynamics, structural mechanics, finite element methods, structural vibration control, advanced cementitious and composite materials, bridge engineering, and soil-structure interaction. Advances in Structural Engineering is a useful reference material for structural engineering fraternity including undergraduate and postgraduate students, academicians, researchers and practicing engineers.

Contemporary Issues in Construction in Developing Countries by George Ofori (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203847350
Publication Date: 2012

Economic growth and socio-economic development are particuliarly important for developing countries, and the construction industry plays a central role in driving both of these. Traditionally the issues faced have been assumed to be merely offshoots of those encountered in industrialised nations and are usually discussed only in this context. In addition, research in construction management and economics has generally failed to take proper account of the unique or highly emphasised characteristics of the industries in developing countries, or their economic and social environment. This volume challenges underlying assumptions and focuses on the distinct characteristics of construction in developing countries. In so doing it considers the issues from the perspective of the developing countries themselves to present a strong contemporary picture for researchers. It forms a companion volume to New Perspectives on Construction in Developing Countries which provides an update on the generic subjects relating to the construction industry in developing countries, and covers new concepts and issues.

100 Ideas that Changed Architecture by Richard Weston
ISBN: 1856697320
Publication Date: 2011

This inspiring book chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped architecture. 100 Ideas that Changed Architecture explores when each idea first evolved and the subsequent impact it has had up to the present day.

Advanced Civil Infrastructure Materials: Science, Mechanics and Applications by Hwai Chung Wu
ISBN: 9781855739437
Publication Date: 2006

Advanced civil infrastructure materials provides an up-to-date review of several emerging construction materials that may have a significant impact on repairs of existing infrastructures and/or new constructions. Each chapter explores the ‘materials design concept’ which leads to the creation of advanced composites by synergistically combining two or more constituents. Such design methodology is made possible by several key advancements in materials science and mechanics. Each chapter is concluded with selective examples of real world applications using these advanced materials. This includes relevant structural design guidelines and mechanics to assist readers in comprehending the uses of these advanced materials.

The contributors are made up of renowned authors who are recognized for their expertise in their chosen field. Advanced civil infrastructure materials is of value to both graduate and undergraduate students of civil engineering, and will serve as a useful reference guide for researchers and practitioners in the construction industry.

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

Recent Posts

Plastic-Free July: Empowering and Engineering Change

As engineers and future engineers, you play a vital role in shaping a sustainable future, and Plastic Free July is an excellent opportunity to step up to that challenge. This global movement encourages millions of people to refuse single-use plastics and as engineering students and faculty, your insights can amplify its impact through research, innovative solutions and conscious consumption.Plastic pollution is a growing crisis. In 2023, over 89 million participants across more than 190 countries took part in Plastic Free July, leading to a reduction of 240 million kilograms of plastic consumption globally (Plastic Free Foundation, 2023). While this achievement is monumental, the reality is that plastic pollution is projected to triple by 2040, if not urgently addressed (Plastic Free Foundation, 2023). As engineers, your expertise in materials science, waste management and innovative design could be instrumental in this fight.The Role of Engineers in Reducing Plastic PollutionEngineering plastics are among the most used materials in high-performance applications such as heat and chemical resistance, mechanical strength and flame retardance (Yildizhan, 2021). However, addressing plastic waste involves reducing both commodity and engineering plastics. Mechanical recycling offers one pathway, yet it requires innovations to improve material quality post-recycling. By finding ways to enhance the recyclability of engineering plastics, you can contribute to more sustainable production methods (Rabiu and Jaeger-Erben, 2023).Resources at the Alma Jordan LibraryThe Alma Jordan Library is an invaluable resource for those interested in the science and impact of plastics. You can access the Library's online catalogue UWIlinC to search for research materials on engineering plastics, their impact on the environment and sustainability practices to aid in improving recycling processes.Selected Books and Journal Articles Plastics Engineering (4th Edition)Crawford, R. J.; Martin, P. J.2020 Plastics and the Environment / edited by R M Harrison, R E HesterR. M. Harrison editor.; R. E Hester (Ronald E.) editor.; R Khester2019 Brydson's Plastics Materials (8th Edition)Gilbert, Marianne2016 Manufacturing of Nanocomposites with Engineering PlasticsVikas Mittal2015 Closed‐Loop Recyclable Poly(ester‐disulfide)s for Potential Alternatives to Engineering PlasticChen, Meng ; Yang, Rulin ; Wu, Huiping ; Wang, Qian ; Shi, Chenyu ; Zhou, Shang‐Wu ; Yang, Ding ; Liu, Fang‐Yu ; Tian, He ; Qu, Da‐HuiAngewandte Chemie International Edition, 2024-08, p.e202409200 Sustainable Waste Management of Engineering Plastics Generated from E-Waste: A Critical Evaluation of Mechanical, Thermal and Morphological PropertiesJaidev, K. ; Biswal, Manoranjan ; Mohanty, Smita ; Nayak, Sanjay K.Journal of polymers and the environment, 2021-06, Vol.29 (6), p.1763-1776 By taking part in Plastic Free July, not only can you reduce your own plastic use but you can also be part of the solution through research, innovation and action. To learn more visit https://www.plasticfreejuly.org/ ReferencesPlastic Free Foundation. 2023. Plastic Free July Impact Report 2023. Fremantle: Plastic Free Foundation.Yildizhan, Fatih Selim. 2021. Engineering Plastics: Market Analysis and Recycling Methods.Rabiu, Mubarik K., and Melanie Jaeger-Erben. 2023. "Reducing Single-use Plastic in Everyday Social Practices: Insights from a Living Lab Experiment." Resources, Conservation & Recycling 200: 107303....

Construction Resources for Civil Engineering

This blog post was written by Natasha Daniel, UWI MLIS Intern.Studies in building, civil, structural engineering and architecture are essential for the development and maintenance of residential and commercial buildings, infrastructures and public spaces. Students have the opportunity to contribute to the design, construction, and maintenance of structures that improve people’s lives, enhance public safety and promote sustainable development.These fields require a combination of technical knowledge, problem-solving skills, and creativity, as well as the opportunity to translate conceptual ideas into practical and functional designs. Furthermore, these fields are continuously evolving with the introduction of new technologies, construction methods, and materials to support sustainable design practices.The construction industry offers a diverse range of career paths, including architectural design, structural engineering, construction management, urban planning, and project management. The tangible results from work associated with these professions can provide a sense of accomplishment and personal fulfilment. Below are some of the eBooks related to these fields that are available in your library databases. Advanced Fiber-Reinforced Polymer(FRP) Composites for Structural Applications by Jiping Bai (Editor)ISBN: 9780128203460Publication Date: 2023Advanced Fibre-reinforced Polymer (FRP) Composites for Structural Applications, Second Edition provides updates on new research that has been carried out on the use of FRP composites for structural applications. These include the further development of advanced FRP composites materials that achieve lighter and stronger FRP composites, how to enhance FRP integrated behavior through matrix modification, along with information on pretension treatments and intelligence technology. The development of new technology such as automated manufacturing and processing of fiber-reinforced polymer (FRP) composites have played a significant role in optimizing fabrication processing and matrix formation. Performance and Improvement of Green Construction Projects : Management Strategies and Innovations by Bon-Gang HwangISBN: 9780128154830Publication Date: 2018Performance and Improvement of Green Construction Projects: Management Strategies and Innovations expertly explains the specific characteristics and management approaches of green construction projects using in-depth examples that compare presented tactics to conventional construction projects. The book provides a holistic view on management strategies and innovations, focusing on the assessment and improvement of green construction projects and how to manage performance with respect to cost, scheduling, quality, safety, risk, productivity and leadership development. Addresses performance improvement and project management in green construction projects, covering cost, scheduling, safety, quality, risk, productivity and leadership Clearly explains the obstacles, challenges and barriers to implementing green construction projects Discusses special issues that are inherent in green construction projects, from inception to delivery. Advances in Structural Engineering Mechanics, Volume One by Vasant Matsagar (Editor)ISBN: 9788132221906Publication Date: 2015The book presents research papers presented by academicians, researchers, and practicing structural engineers from India and abroad in the recently held Structural Engineering Convention (SEC) 2014 at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi during 22 – 24 December 2014. The book is divided into three volumes and encompasses multidisciplinary areas within structural engineering, such as earthquake engineering and structural dynamics, structural mechanics, finite element methods, structural vibration control, advanced cementitious and composite materials, bridge engineering, and soil-structure interaction. Advances in Structural Engineering is a useful reference material for structural engineering fraternity including undergraduate and postgraduate students, academicians, researchers and practicing engineers. Contemporary Issues in Construction in Developing Countries by George Ofori (Editor)ISBN: 9780203847350Publication Date: 2012Economic growth and socio-economic development are particuliarly important for developing countries, and the construction industry plays a central role in driving both of these. Traditionally the issues faced have been assumed to be merely offshoots of those encountered in industrialised nations and are usually discussed only in this context. In addition, research in construction management and economics has generally failed to take proper account of the unique or highly emphasised characteristics of the industries in developing countries, or their economic and social environment. This volume challenges underlying assumptions and focuses on the distinct characteristics of construction in developing countries. In so doing it considers the issues from the perspective of the developing countries themselves to present a strong contemporary picture for researchers. It forms a companion volume to New Perspectives on Construction in Developing Countries which provides an update on the generic subjects relating to the construction industry in developing countries, and covers new concepts and issues. 100 Ideas that Changed Architecture by Richard WestonISBN: 1856697320Publication Date: 2011This inspiring book chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped architecture. 100 Ideas that Changed Architecture explores when each idea first evolved and the subsequent impact it has had up to the present day. Advanced Civil Infrastructure Materials: Science, Mechanics and Applications by Hwai Chung WuISBN: 9781855739437Publication Date: 2006Advanced civil infrastructure materials provides an up-to-date review of several emerging construction materials that may have a significant impact on repairs of existing infrastructures and/or new constructions. Each chapter explores the ‘materials design concept’ which leads to the creation of advanced composites by synergistically combining two or more constituents. Such design methodology is made possible by several key advancements in materials science and mechanics. Each chapter is concluded with selective examples of real world applications using these advanced materials. This includes relevant structural design guidelines and mechanics to assist readers in comprehending the uses of these advanced materials.The contributors are made up of renowned authors who are recognized for their expertise in their chosen field. Advanced civil infrastructure materials is of value to both graduate and undergraduate students of civil engineering, and will serve as a useful reference guide for researchers and practitioners in the construction industry. For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources. ...

Understanding Cybersecurity: A Guide for Students and Faculty

As our reliance on digital technology increases, so do the risks associated with cybersecurity. For students and faculty at The UWI St Augustine Campus, understanding these risks and learning how to mitigate them is essential. This blog post will explore the importance of cybersecurity, provide practical tips, and highlight resources available at the Alma Jordan Library to help you stay safe online. Why Cybersecurity Matters? Cybersecurity is critical because our personal and professional lives are increasingly intertwined with digital technologies. According to Craigen, Diakun-Thibault, and Purse (2014), cybersecurity encompasses the protection of cyberspace and cyberspace-enabled systems from occurrences that misalign legal and actual property rights. This definition underscores the multidimensional nature of cybersecurity, which includes technical, organizational, economic, social, and political aspects. Common Cyber Threats Phishing Attacks: These attacks often involve fraudulent emails that appear to be from legitimate sources. The goal is to trick recipients into providing sensitive information, such as passwords or credit card numbers. For example, a student might receive an email that looks like it’s from their university, asking them to reset their password, only to have their information stolen. Malware: Malicious software designed to disrupt, damage, or gain unauthorized access to computer systems. This can include viruses, worms, and Trojan horses. Ransomware: A type of malware that locks users out of their systems or data, demanding a ransom to restore access. Hospitals, for instance, have been targeted, putting patients at risk. Social Engineering: This tactic involves manipulating individuals into breaking normal security procedures, often by tricking them into giving away confidential information. Tips for Enhancing Cybersecurity Awareness Use Strong Passwords: Create complex passwords that include a mix of letters, numbers, and symbols. Avoid using easily guessable information, such as birthdays or common words. Enable Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA): MFA adds an extra layer of security by requiring additional verification beyond just a password. Stay Informed About Phishing Scams: Be cautious of unsolicited emails or messages asking for personal information. Verify the source before clicking on any links or providing information. Regularly Update Software: Keep your operating systems and applications up to date to protect against the latest vulnerabilities. Be Mindful of Your Online Presence: Limit the amount of personal information shared online and adjust privacy settings on social media platforms. Selected E-books Understanding and practising good cybersecurity habits is essential for protecting yourself and the university community. You can enhance your cybersecurity awareness and resilience by staying informed about the latest threats and utilizing the resources available at the Alma Jordan Library. Discover our selected e-books on cybersecurity below, and don't forget to explore the library's catalogue and databases for even more insightful e-books and journals on this crucial topic. Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity by Ishaani Priyadarshini (Editor); Rohit Sharma (Editor) ISBN: 9781003097518 Publication Date: 2022 Artificial intelligence and cybersecurity are two emerging fields that have made phenomenal contributions toward technological advancement. As cyber-attacks increase, there is a need to identify threats and thwart attacks. This book incorporates recent developments that artificial intelligence brings to the cybersecurity world. Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity: Advances and Innovations provides advanced system implementation for Smart Cities using artificial intelligence. It addresses the complete functional framework workflow and explores basic and high-level concepts. The book is based on the latest technologies covering major challenges, issues and advances, and discusses intelligent data management and automated systems. This edited book provides a premier interdisciplinary platform for researchers, practitioners and educators. It presents and discusses the most recent innovations, trends and concerns as well as practical challenges and solutions adopted in the fields of artificial intelligence and cybersecurity. Developing a Cybersecurity Immune System for Industry 4. 0 by Sergei Petrenko ISBN: 9781003337874 Publication Date: 2022 Cyber immune systems try to mimic the adaptive immune system of humans and animals because of its capability to detect and fend off new, unseen pathogens. Today's current cyber security systems provide an effective defense mechanism against known cyber-attacks but are not so good when it comes to defending against unknown attacks. This book describes the possible development and organization of self-healing computing based on cyber immunity techniques and aimed at working in the new realm of Industry 4.0. Industry 4.0 is the trend towards automation and data exchange in manufacturing technologies and processes which include cyber-physical systems (CPS), the internet of things (IoT), industrial internet of things (IIOT), cloud computing, cognitive computing and artificial intelligence. The book describes the author's research and development of cyber-immunity systems that will prevent the destruction of critical information infrastructure by future unknown cyber-attacks and thus avoid the significant or catastrophic consequences of such attacks. The book is designed for undergraduate and post-graduate students, for engineers in related fields as well as managers of corporate and state structures, chief information officers (CIO), chief information security officers (CISO), architects, and research engineers in the field of cybersecurity. Information Technology Law in Jamaica by Nicole Foga ISBN: 9789403515366 Publication Date: 2022 Derived from the renowned multi-volume International Encyclopaedia of Laws, this practical guide to information technology law - the law affecting information and communication technology (ICT) - in Jamaica covers every aspect of the subject, including the regulation of digital markets, intellectual property rights in the digital context, relevant competition rules, drafting and negotiating ICT-related contracts, electronic transactions, and cybercrime. Lawyers who handle transnational matters will appreciate the detailed explanation of specific characteristics of practice and procedure. Following a general introduction, the monograph assembles its information and guidance in six main areas of practice: (1) the regulatory framework of digital markets, including legal aspects of standardization, international private law applied to the online context, telecommunications law, regulation of audio-visual services and online commercial platforms; (2) online public services including e-government, e-health and online voting; (3) contract law with regard to software, hardware, networks and related services, with special attention to case law in this area, rules with regard to electronic evidence, regulation of electronic signatures, online financial services and electronic commerce; (4) software protection, legal protection of databases or chips, and other intellectual property matters; (5) the legal framework regarding cybersecurity and (6) the application of criminal procedure and substantive criminal law in the area of cybercrime. Its succinct yet scholarly nature, as well as the practical quality of the information it provides, make this monograph a valuable time-saving tool for business and legal professionals alike. Lawyers representing parties with interests in Jamaica will welcome this very useful guide, and academics and researchers will appreciate its value in the study of comparative law in this relatively new and challenging field. Routledge Handbook of International Cybersecurity by Eneken Tikk (Editor); Mika Kerttunen (Editor) ISBN: 9781351038904 Publication Date: 2020 The Routledge Handbook of International Cybersecurity examines the development and use of information and communication technologies (ICTs) from the perspective of international peace and security. Acknowledging that the very notion of peace and security has become more complex, the volume seeks to determine which questions of cybersecurity are indeed of relevance for international peace and security and which, while requiring international attention, are simply issues of contemporary governance or development. The Handbook offers a variety of thematic, regional and disciplinary perspectives on the question of international cybersecurity, and the chapters contextualize cybersecurity in the broader contestation over the world order, international law, conflict, human rights, governance and development. The volume is split into four thematic sections: Concepts and frameworks; Challenges to secure and peaceful cyberspace; National and regional perspectives on cybersecurity; Global approaches to cybersecurity. This book will be of much interest to students of cybersecurity, computer science, sociology, international law, defence studies and International Relations in general. Challenges in Cybersecurity and Privacy - the European Research Landscape by Jorge Bernal Bernabe (Editor); Antonio Skarmeta (Editor) ISBN: 9788770220880 Publication Date: 2019 Cybersecurity and Privacy issues are becoming an important barrier for a trusted and dependable global digital society development. Cyber-criminals are continuously shifting their cyber-attacks specially against cyber-physical systems and IoT, since they present additional vulnerabilities due to their constrained capabilities, their unattended nature and the usage of potential untrustworthiness components. Likewise, identity-theft, fraud, personal data leakages, and other related cyber-crimes are continuously evolving, causing important damages and privacy problems for European citizens in both virtual and physical scenarios. In this context, new holistic approaches, methodologies, techniques and tools are needed to cope with those issues, and mitigate cyberattacks, by employing novel cyber-situational awareness frameworks, risk analysis and modeling, threat intelligent systems, cyber-threat information sharing methods, advanced big-data analysis techniques as well as exploiting the benefits from latest technologies such as SDN/NFV and Cloud systems. In addition, novel privacy-preserving techniques, and crypto-privacy mechanisms, identity and eID management systems, trust services, and recommendations are needed to protect citizens' privacy while keeping usability levels. Cyberspace and Cybersecurity by George Kostopoulos ISBN: 9781138057715 Publication Date: 2017 Providing comprehensive coverage of cyberspace and cybersecurity, this textbook not only focuses on technologies but also explores human factors and organizational perspectives and emphasizes why asset identification should be the cornerstone of any information security strategy. Topics include addressing vulnerabilities, building a secure enterprise, blocking intrusions, ethical and legal issues, and business continuity. Updates include topics such as cyber risks in mobile telephony, steganography, cybersecurity as an added value, ransomware defense, review of recent cyber laws, new types of cybercrime, plus new chapters on digital currencies and encryption key management. Cybersecurity by Kim J. Andreasson (Editor) ISBN: 9781439846636 Publication Date: 2011 The Internet has given rise to new opportunities for the public sector to improve efficiency and better serve constituents in the form of e-government. But with a rapidly growing user base globally and an increasing reliance on the Internet, digital tools are also exposing the public sector to new risks. An accessible primer, Cybersecurity: Public Sector Threats and Responses focuses on the convergence of globalization, connectivity, and the migration of public sector functions online. It identifies the challenges you need to be aware of and examines emerging trends and strategies from around the world.nbsp;Offering practical guidance for addressing contemporary risks, the book is organized into three sections: Global Trends--considers international e-government trends, includes case studies of common cyber threats and presents efforts of the premier global institution in the field National and Local Policy Approaches--examines the current policy environment in the United States and Europe and illustrates challenges at all levels of government Practical Considerations--explains how to prepare for cyber attacks, including an overview of relevant U.S. Federal cyber incident response policies, an organizational framework for assessing risk, and emerging trends Also suitable for classroom use, this book will help you understand the threats facing your organization and the issues to consider when thinking about cybersecurity from a policy perspective. Students and faculty are invited to visit the Alma Jordan Library to view our informative display on cybersecurity and explore the selection of featured books on this topic. Cybersecurity Awareness Course The UWI's Centre for Information Technology Services (CITS) provides a Cybersecurity Awareness Course tailored to enhance the security awareness of both faculty and students. This programme aims to educate participants on the recommended methods for maintaining safety and safeguarding institutional information. The curriculum covers topics, including identifying phishing scams, securing devices, creating robust passwords and understanding the potential risks associated with social media and internet usage. By completing this course, faculty and students will be better prepared to defend against cyber threats and contribute to establishing a digital environment at UWI. For more information on this course, visit; https://sta.uwi.edu/cits/cybersecurity-awareness-course References Alharbi, Talal, and Asifa Tassaddiq. 2021. "Assessment of Cybersecurity Awareness among Students of Majmaah University." Big Data and Cognitive Computing 5 (2): 23. Craigen, Dan, Nadia Diakun-Thibault, and Randy Purse. 2014. "Defining Cybersecurity." Technology innovation management review 4 (10). Florackis, Chris, Christodoulos Louca, Roni Michaely, and Michael Weber. 2023. "Cybersecurity Risk." The Review of Financial Studies 36 (1): 351-407. Peker, Yesem Kurt, Lydia Ray, Stephanie Da Silva, Nathaniel Gibson, and Christopher Lamberson. "Raising Cybersecurity Awareness among College Students." 2016. ...

Celebrating World Creativity and Innovation Day: Empowering Engineering Students

Global Creativity and Innovation DayWorld Creativity and Innovation Day is an event observed on April 21, emphasizing the vital role of creativity and innovation in problem-solving and advancing human progress. For engineering students, this day serves as a reminder of the impact of thinking on shaping the future of technology and engineering. The Significance of Creativity and Innovation in EngineeringCreativity and innovation are elements in engineering that enable the creation of solutions to complex issues. According to Cropley (2015), fostering creativity in engineering education helps generate innovative solutions that meet society’s evolving needs.Throughout history, engineering has been about individuals discovering solutions to an array of problems spanning from architecture to medicine. It tackles challenges like earthquakes, transportation systems, clean water access, and increased lifespans. Engineering not only enhances life but also impacts the economy and overall quality of life.The Engineering Division at the Alma Jordan Library has a wealth of information on engineering, creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship and other relevant topics. Here is a brief list of selected e-books that may be of interest to engineering students seeking to foster creativity and innovation.Selected E-booksEngineering of Creativity by Semyon D. SavranskyISBN: 9780429129612Publication Date: 2000Invention and innovation lie at the heart of problem solving in virtually every discipline, but they are not easy to come by. Divine inspiration aside, historically we have depended primarily on observation, brainstorming, and trial-and-error methods to develop the innovations that provide solutions. But these methods are neither efficient nor dependable enough for the high-quality, high-tech engineering solutions we need today. Engineering of Creativity provides a valuable opportunity to learn and apply the concepts and techniques of TRIZ to complex engineering problems. The author-a world-renowned TRIZ expert-covers every aspect of TRIZ, from the basic concepts to the latest research and developments. He provides step-by-step guidelines, case studies from a variety of engineering disciplines, and first-hand experience in using the methodology. Critical Thinking, Idea Innovation, and Creativity by Richard H. McCuenISBN: 1032461799Publication Date: 2023Critical Thinking, Idea Innovation, and Creativity discusses methods of solving complex problems, demonstrates the benefits of using imaginative thinking, identifies ways to overcome inhibitors, provides guidelines for assessing creative experiences, and encourages the application of these methods. Innovation in Design, Communication and Engineering by Teen-Hang Meen (Editor); Stephen Prior (Editor); Artde Lam (Editor)ISBN: 9780429226410Publication Date: 2015This volume represents the proceedings of the 2014 3rd International Conference on Innovation, Communication and Engineering (ICICE 2014). This conference was held in Guiyang, Guizhou, P.R. China, October 17-22, 2014. The conference provided a unified communication platform for researchers in a wide range of fields from information technology, communication science, and applied mathematics, to computer science, advanced material science, design and engineering. This volume enables interdisciplinary collaboration between science and engineering technologists in academia and industry as well as networking internationally. Innovations of Kansei Engineering by Mitsuo Nagamachi; Anitawati Mohd LokmanISBN: 9780429104213Publication Date: 2016The text details how to construct the intelligent computer system to support new product development using the neural network model and fuzzy logic. It also addresses product quality control management and presents statistical methods of design. Using this innovative technique, you can turn your vision into a shape that can then be transformed into consumer goods that stand out. For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources. How can Engineering Students further Enhance their Creativity and Innovation Skills?Engineering students can further enhance their creativity and innovation skills during their university studies by following the steps outlined below based on practices for creating a culture that fosters creativity (Higuera et al., 2021); Apply creativity and innovation techniques to explore opportunities and challenge thinking boundaries. Experiment with approaches and methods to uncover solutions for complex problems.Keep a mind without any ideas or biases allowing for a fresh outlook and the ability to consider things from different perspectives. Embrace thoughts and viewpoints to spark creativity and encourage ideas.Avoid assuming that creativity is beyond reach or unnecessary. Understand that creativity can be nurtured and honed through practice, dedication, and a positive attitude. Let go of self-doubt. Believe that everyone possesses the potential for creativity.Experiment to test theories, discover insights, and challenge established conventions. Adopt a mindset of learning and exploration recognizing that failure often paves the way for innovation and progress.View failures as opportunities for learning. Acknowledge that setbacks and errors offer lessons and insights. Learn from failures, adjust your approach accordingly, and use them as stones towards achievements.Pose thought-provoking questions that challenge the state of affairs. Explore possibilities by asking "why" and "what if," fostering thinking and generating innovative concepts. Dare to question assumptions or prevailing norms.Generate numerous ideas through brainstorming sessions and thinking exercises. Encourage an exchange of ideas without criticism or constraints.To enhance the quality of your ideas, aim to generate a number of them, as quantity often leads to outcomes.Collaborate with others to benefit from viewpoints, expertise, and backgrounds. Embrace collective thinking to create an innovative atmosphere. Share your ideas, seek input, and work together to create solutions that are more impactful than efforts.Integrate elements of art, music, literature or nature into your process for inspiration. Look beyond engineering for perspectives and innovative approaches.Stay informed by reading literature in your field to gain insights from experts. Keep up with the research and trends to expand your knowledge base and spark ideas.Utilize resources from organizations to connect with peers at conferences and workshops. Engage with professionals from different fields to exchange ideas and experiences that can fuel innovation.Diversify your skill set by taking courses outside of engineering disciplines, such as design thinking or psychology. Explore subjects to broaden your perspective and enhance your creativity.Engage in real-life design endeavours during your time to put your skills and imagination into action in situations. Undertake projects or team up with others to create solutions that tackle needs and difficulties, refining your problem-solving and inventive thinking capabilities.Join movement-oriented classes that promote activity, such as dance, sports, or yoga. Physical motion can trigger thoughts, enhance abilities, and nurture diverse thought processes that pave the way for innovative concepts.Participate in a lab specially crafted to cultivate creativity and innovation. Immerse yourself in an atmosphere that fosters exploration, experimentation and teamwork. Utilize specialized tools, resources and mentors to bolster your journey.Broaden your expertise beyond engineering by embracing education. Delve into fields such as business, marketing, psychology, or design to develop a grasp of industries and boost your capacity to innovate across disciplines. Keep in mind that creativity and innovation extend beyond engineering. To foster creativity and innovation among engineering students, educational programs should surpass instruction. Badran (2007) stresses the importance of an approach to enhancing innovative skills through interdisciplinary courses, workshops, and hands-on projects. You can unleash your potential by incorporating these strategies and nurturing a mindset that embraces creativity. Become a driving force for positive change in any field or pursuit you decide to embark on.On the occasion of World Creativity and Innovation Day, it is crucial to acknowledge the role that creativity and innovation play in the realm of engineering. By cultivating a mindset and offering access to resources, the Alma Jordan Library continues to empower engineering students to emerge as inventive problem solvers and influential figures in their domain. We request that you embrace this day as an opportunity to delve into concepts and embrace risks. Push the boundaries of what can be achieved in engineering. ReferencesBadran, Ibrahim. 2007. "Enhancing Creativity and Innovation in Engineering Education." European Journal of Engineering Education 32 (5): 573-585.Charyton, Christine. 2015. "Creative Engineering Design: The Meaning of Creativity and Innovation in Engineering." Creativity and innovation among science and art: A discussion of the two cultures: 135-152.Cropley, David H. 2015. "Promoting Creativity and Innovation in Engineering Education." Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts 9 (2): 161.Higuera Martínez, Oscar Iván, Liliana Fernández-Samacá, and Lizeth Fernanda Serrano Cárdenas. 2021. "Trends and Opportunities by Fostering Creativity in Science and Engineering: A Systematic Review." European Journal of Engineering Education 46 (6): 1117-1140.United Nations. “World Creativity and Innovation Day.” United Nations. Accessed April 19, 2024. https://www.un.org/en/observances/creativity-and-innovation-day. ...

Construction Resources for Civil Engineering

Leave a comment