Introduction

Welcome to the exciting world of Robotics and Artificial Intelligence (AI)! Whether you are an engineering student embarking on your academic journey or a faculty member leading cutting-edge research, the Alma Jordan Library offers a wealth of information to support your endeavours.

 

Historical Context and Evolution

The fields of AI and Robotics were strongly connected in the early days of AI, but over time they developed as separate disciplines. AI focused on abstract problems and algorithms, while Robotics concentrated on physical embodiment and control. However, recent advancements have bridged this gap, leading to the integration of AI and Robotics into a cohesive field (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

 

Selected E-Books:

 

 

Cover ArtRobotics: Industry 4. 0 Issues and New Intelligent Control Paradigms by Alla G. Kravets (Editor)

ISBN: 9783030378400
Publication Date: 2020
This book focuses on open issues of new intelligent control paradigms and their usage. Industry 4.0 requires new approaches in the context of secure connection, control, and maintenance of robotic systems, as well as enhancing their interaction with humans. The book presents recent advances in industrial robotics, and robotic design and modeling for various domains, and discusses the methodological foundations of the collaborative robotics concept as a breakthrough in modern industrial technologies. It also describes the implementation of multi-agent models, programs and methods that could be used in future processes for control, condition assessment, diagnostics, prognostication, and proactive maintenance.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Cover ArtBiologically Inspired Robotics by Yunhui Liu (Editor); Dong Sun (Editor)

ISBN: 9781439854884
Publication Date: 2011
Robotic engineering inspired by biology--biomimetics--has many potential applications: robot snakes can be used for rescue operations in disasters, snake-like endoscopes can be used in medical diagnosis, and artificial muscles can replace damaged muscles to recover the motor functions of human limbs. Conversely, the application of robotics technology to our understanding of biological systems and behaviors--biorobotic modeling and analysis--provides unique research opportunities: robotic manipulation technology with optical tweezers can be used to study the cell mechanics of human red blood cells, a surface electromyography sensing system can help us identify the relation between muscle forces and hand movements, and mathematical models of brain circuitry may help us understand how the cerebellum achieves movement control. 
 
 
 
 
 

Cover ArtFrom AI to Robotics by Arkapravo Bhaumik

ISBN: 9781315372549
Publication Date: 2018
From AI to Robotics: Mobile, Social, and Sentient Robots is a journey into the world of agent-based robotics and it covers a number of interesting topics, both in the theory and practice of the discipline. The book traces the earliest ideas for autonomous machines to the mythical lore of ancient Greece and ends the last chapter with a debate on a prophecy set in the apparent future, where human beings and robots/technology may merge to create superior beings - the era of transhumanism. Throughout the text, the work of leading researchers is presented in depth, which helps to paint the socio-economic picture of how robots are transforming our world and will continue to do so. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Cover ArtRobotics and Automation in Industry 4.0: Smart Industries and Intelligent Technologies by Nidhi Sindhwani, Rohit Anand, A. George, Digvijay Pandey

ISBN: 9781003317456
Publication Date: 2024
The book presents the innovative aspects of smart industries and intelligent technologies involving Robotics and Automation. It discusses the challenges in the design of autonomous robots and provides an understanding of how different systems communicate with each other, allowing cooperation with other human systems and operators in real time. Robotics and Automation in Industry 4.0: Smart Industries and Intelligent Technologies offers research articles, flow charts, algorithms, and examples based on daily life in automation and robotics related to the building of Industry 4.0.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Cover ArtCognitive Robotics by Hooman Samani (Editor)

ISBN: 9781482244564
Publication Date: 2015
The kimono-clad android robot that recently made its debut as the new greeter at the entrance of Tokyo's Mitsukoshi department store is just one example of the rapid advancements being made in the field of robotics. Cognitive robotics is an approach to creating artificial intelligence in robots by enabling them to learn from and respond to real-world situations, as opposed to pre-programming the robot with specific responses to every conceivable stimulus. Presenting the contributions of international experts from various disciplines within the field, Cognitive Robotics provides novel material and discusses advanced approaches in the field of intelligent robotics. It explains the various aspects of the topic to provide readers with a solid foundation on the subject. This edited collection presents theoretical research in cognitive robotics. It takes a multidisciplinary approach that considers the artificial intelligence, physical, chemical, philosophical, psychological, social, cultural, and ethical aspects of this rapidly emerging field. The editor is a prominent researcher whose Lovotics research into emotional bonds with robots is widely recognized. Supplying an accessible introduction to cognitive robotics, the book considers computational intelligence for cognitive robotics based on informationally structured space. It examines how people respond to robots and what makes robots psychologically appealing to humans. The book contextualizes concepts in the history of studies on intelligence theories and includes case studies of different types of robots in action. Although ideal for robotics researchers and professionals, this book is also suitable for use as a supporting textbook in advanced robotics courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

 

International Standards:

 

ISO 10218-1:2011, Robots and robotic devices — Safety requirements for industrial robots — Part 1: Robots

Scope:

ISO 10218-1:2011 specifies requirements and guidelines for the inherent safe design, protective measures and information for use of industrial robots. It describes basic hazards associated with robots and provides requirements to eliminate, or adequately reduce, the risks associated with these hazards.

 

ISO 10218-1:2011 does not address the robot as a complete machine. Noise emission is generally not considered a significant hazard of the robot alone, and consequently noise is excluded from the scope of ISO 10218-1:2011.

 

ISO 10218-1:2011 does not apply to non‑industrial robots, although the safety principles established in ISO 10218 can be utilized for these other robots.

 

 

ISO 10218-2:2011, Robots and robotic devices — Safety requirements for industrial robots — Part 2: Robot systems and integration

Scope:

ISO 10218-2:2011 specifies safety requirements for the integration of industrial robots and industrial robot systems as defined in ISO 10218-1, and industrial robot cell(s). The integration includes the following: the design, manufacturing, installation, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the industrial robot system or cell; necessary information for the design, manufacturing, installation, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the industrial robot system or cell; component devices of the industrial robot system or cell.

 

ISO 10218-2:2011 describes the basic hazards and hazardous situations identified with these systems, and provides requirements to eliminate or adequately reduce the risks associated with these hazards. ISO 10218-2:2011 also specifies requirements for the industrial robot system as part of an integrated manufacturing system. ISO 10218-2:2011 does not deal specifically with hazards associated with processes (e.g. laser radiation, ejected chips, welding smoke). Other standards can be applicable to these process hazards.

 

ISO/IEC 22989:2022, Information technology — Artificial intelligence — Artificial intelligence concepts and terminology

Scope:

This document establishes terminology for AI and describes concepts in the field of AI.

 

This document can be used in the development of other standards and in support of communications among diverse, interested parties or stakeholders.

 

This document is applicable to all types of organizations (e.g. commercial enterprises, government agencies, not-for-profit organizations).

 

 

ISO/IEC 23053:2022, Framework for Artificial Intelligence (AI) Systems Using Machine Learning (ML)

Scope:

This document establishes an Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) framework for describing a generic AI system using ML technology. The framework describes the system components and their functions in the AI ecosystem. This document is applicable to all types and sizes of organizations, including public and private companies, government entities, and not-for-profit organizations, that are implementing or using AI systems.

 

ISO/IEC 23894:2023, Information technology — Artificial intelligence — Guidance on risk management

Scope:

This document provides guidance on how organizations that develop, produce, deploy or use products, systems and services that utilize artificial intelligence (AI) can manage risk specifically related to AI. The guidance also aims to assist organizations to integrate risk management into their AI-related activities and functions. It moreover describes processes for the effective implementation and integration of AI risk management.

 

The application of this guidance can be customized to any organization and its context.

 

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

 

Advances and Applications

  • Healthcare:

AI and Robotics are revolutionizing healthcare by assisting in surgeries, rehabilitation, and elder care. Robots equipped with AI can perform precise operations and monitor patients, reducing the workload on healthcare professionals (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

  • Manufacturing:

Intelligent robots are transforming manufacturing processes by performing tasks with high precision and adaptability. AI enables these robots to learn and optimize their operations, leading to increased efficiency and reduced costs (Soori et al., 2023)​​.

  • Service Industry:

AI-powered robots are being deployed in various service sectors, including hospitality and retail, to improve customer experiences through personalized interactions and efficient service delivery (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

 

 

Challenges and Future Directions

Despite significant advancements, several challenges remain:

  • Uncertainty and Complexity: Robots must operate in unpredictable environments and handle incomplete and conflicting information. Developing robust AI algorithms to manage these uncertainties is crucial (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.
  • Ethical and Social Implications: The widespread adoption of AI and Robotics raises ethical concerns, including job displacement and privacy issues. Addressing these concerns through thoughtful policy and design is essential (Soori et al., 2023)​​.
  • Interdisciplinary Collaboration: Effective integration of AI and Robotics requires collaboration across various disciplines, including computer science, mechanical engineering, and cognitive science (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

 

The fusion of AI and Robotics is set to revolutionize multiple industries, offering solutions to complex problems and enhancing human capabilities. The AJL is committed to providing the best resources to support your research and learning in these dynamic fields. Dive into our collection, explore the latest research, and be a part of the technological revolution that is reshaping our world.

Discover a world of knowledge by exploring the Alma Jordan Library’s catalogue at at - https://libraries.sta.uwi.edu/uwilinc. Don’t miss the chance to visit the Engineering Division of the Alma Jordan Library, where you can immerse yourself in our informative display on Robotics and browse or check out the books on display.

 

References

Rajan, Kanna, and Alessandro Saffiotti. 2017. "Towards a Science of Integrated Ai and Robotics." Artificial Intelligence 247: 1-9. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.artint.2017.03.003.

Soori, Mohsen, Behrooz Arezoo, and Roza Dastres. 2023. "Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning and Deep Learning in Advanced Robotics, a Review." Cognitive Robotics 3: 54-70. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cogr.2023.04.001.