LibGuides: Engineering Division: Resources and Services: Engineering eBooks

Accessing e-Books

Our eBook collections are available to registered students and faculty and staff of the UWI, St. Augustine Campus 24/7 through the library's homepage and online portal (UWIlinC).

If you are on campus, access to online material requires an STA network connection.

If you are off campus, access to eBooks is via the Library's proxy server. Students are required to log in with their MyUWI username and password. Staff members need to enable their account and reset their password, which must be done while on campus. See here.

Having problems?

See our E-Resources FAQs

eBooks

AMERICAN CONCRETE INSTITUTE COLLECTION ONLINE (AMERICAN CONCRETE INSTITUTE) (STA) This link opens in a new window ACI provides access to information on concrete and its applications. The Library has access via username and password to : (a) Concrete International (b)The Manual of Concrete Practice.
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF CIVIL ENGINEERS (ASCE) EBOOKS (STA) This link opens in a new window This collection of Civil Engineering EBooks is published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. ASCE E-books provide state-of-the-practice information and guidance on todays engineering methods and technologies, from design and planning through application in the field.
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS (ASME) DIGITAL COLLECTION (STA) This link opens in a new window ASME Press publishes high-quality professional and reference works, handbooks, select non-ASME conference proceedings, as well as advanced monographs in established and emerging areas of interest to mechanical engineers and allied disciplines
ASM HANDBOOKS ONLINE (ASM INTERNATIONAL) (STA) This link opens in a new window ASM Handbooks Online is a comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.
BIOMED CENTRAL (STA) This link opens in a new window An online database from an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.
DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS BOOKS (DOAB) (STA) This link opens in a new window The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for Open Access monographs. It provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publishers website or repository.
DOAB is open to all academic publishers and covers all subject areas and all languages. Currently there are 5959 Academic peer-reviewed books from 169 publishers.
DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS (DOAJ) (STA) This link opens in a new window A service that offers online access to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. A wide range of research subjects is covered in many languages.
EBOOK COLLECTION - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window Ebscohost Ebooks provide access to a collection of e-books, covering a range of topic areas.
EBSCOHOST EJOURNALS - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is your gateway to online access to the electronic journals that are subscribed by the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine, Campus Libraries from EBSCO.
EMERALD INSIGHT (STA) This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles to the librarys subscribed Emerald journals on all major management disciplines from marketing, human resources management, library and information management, training and education and more.
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF DATABASE TECHNOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS (STA) This link opens in a new window The Encyclopedia of Database Technologies includes more than 970 terms and definitions and over 2,400 references. It also delivers explanations of emerging issues and technologies such as multimedia database systems, geospatial and temporal databases, and more
ENGnetBASE (STA) This link opens in a new window This eBook collection gives access to over 2310 handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering, The library subscribes to the entire Engineering Collection which includes the following netbases: CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE, ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE, GeneralENGINEERINGnetBASE, IndustrialENGINEERINGnetBASE, MiningENGINEERINGnetBASE and MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE
ENERGY - FOCUS COLLECTION - ELSEVIER (STA) This link opens in a new window This Elsevier-published online collection covers topics in energy. Elsevier Insights is designed to provide high-quality, cutting-edge, specialized content through fast-track online publications. This collection focuses on topics in energy. Coverage begins with 2015 publications.
ENGINEERING - FOCUS COLLECTION - ELSEVIER (STA) This link opens in a new window Elsevier Insights is designed to provide high-quality, cutting-edge, specialized content through fast-track online publication. This collection focuses on topics in engineering. Coverage begins with 2015 publications.
MATERIALS SCIENCE AND MATERIALS ENGINEERING - FOCUS COLLECTION - ELSEVIER (STA) This link opens in a new window Elsevier Insights is designed to provide high-quality, cutting-edge, specialized content through fast-track online publication. This collection focuses on topics in materials science and materials engineering. Coverage begins with 2015 publications.
GEOnetBASE - TAYLOR & FRANCIS (STA) This link opens in a new window From underground excavation and blasting to foundation engineering and earthquakes, this collection covers emerging developments in the geosciences.
IEEE XPLORE DIGITAL LIBRARY (STA) This link opens in a new window IEEE (Institution of Electrical and Electronics Engineering) Xplore digital library provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
KIRK-OTHMER ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CHEMICAL TECHNOLOGY - WILEY (STA) This link opens in a new window The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substancesincluding their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
KNOVEL - ENGINEERING TECHNICAL REFERENCE INFORMATION - ELSEVIER (STA) This link opens in a new window Knovel is a Web-based information service that revolutionizes the way scientists, engineers, and technicians find and use technical information.
Knovel merges hundreds of the world's top technical references (full-text) into a single online source, complete with powerful search capabilities and analysis tools.

KNOVEL E-BOOKS: SCIENCES AND ENGINEERING Knovel is a Web-based information service that revolutionizes the way scientists, engineers, and technicians find and use technical information. Knovel merges hundreds of the world's top technical references (full-text) into a single online source, complete with powerful search capabilities and analysis tools.
KNOVEL E-BOOKS: SCIENCES AND ENGINEERING Knovel is a Web-based information service that revolutionizes the way scientists, engineers, and technicians find and use technical information. Knovel merges hundreds of the world's top technical references (full-text) into a single online source, complete with powerful search capabilities and analysis tools.

LYELL COLLECTION (THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY) (STA) This link opens in a new window The Lyell Collection of the Geological Society of London features key journals in Earth Sciences.
These include the Journal of the Geological Society; Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology; Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis; Transactions of the Geological Society, the Geological Societys prestigious Special Publications; the Engineering Geology Special Publications and Memoir book series. Full-text archives date back as far back as 1811.
PROQUEST CENTRAL (STA) This link opens in a new window A full text database that covers a broad range of subjects.
These include social sciences, business, management, psychology, marketing, international relations, law, arts, humanities and education, health, science, technology, information organization, and more.
ROYAL SOCIETY OF CHEMISTRY (E-BOOKS) (STA) This link opens in a new window This E-Book Collection spans from 1968-2014 and contains more than 1200 high-quality chemical science books , from Physical to Organic, Environmental to Biomolecular.
SCIENCE DIRECT - ELSEVIER [FULL TEXT AVAILABLE UP TO 2017] (STA) This link opens in a new window A gateway that provides access to journals in science, technology and medicine subscribed by the Campus Libraries.
Searches can be limited to subscribed or unsubscribed journals.Until further notice, access to full text documents published after 2016 will not be available via this medium. Kindly contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian about utilizing our Document Delivery service to access current Science Direct articles. We regret any inconvenience caused.
SPRINGERLINK (SPRINGER NATURE) (STA) This link opens in a new window Access journals, books and other publications in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.
TAYLOR & FRANCIS eBOOKS (STA) This link opens in a new window This collection comprises a vast collection of eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science, which are led by a global network of editors and authors. (Works best with Google Chrome and Firefox)
ULLMANN'S ENCYCLOPEDIA OF INDUSTRIAL CHEMISTRY (STA) This link opens in a new window Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry.
WILEY ONLINE LIBRARY (STA) This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

eBooks @ The UWI St Augustine

Please see our page eBooks @ The UWI St Augustine for further information on our ebook collections.

Questions?

Ask a Librarian (Online Contact Form)

Contact Us

Need Help?

The staff of the Engineering Division of the Alma Jordan Library are ready to help you get the materials you need!

As always, you can contact:

- Jyeshtha Suraj - Library Attendant

- Teriq Thomas - Library Assistant II

- Sham Narine - Library Assistant III

- Randy Siew - Faculty Liaison Librarian - Engineering

📧 engmail@sta.uwi.edu

☎ (868) 662-2002 ext. 82244

📅 Book Time with Us