Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Multidisciplinary Databases
Multidisciplinary databases span several disciplines. So whatever your search, it is prudent to check these generalised as well as relevant specialised databases.
These databases do not have full-text but will provide citations for almost all books published. Can use these databases to verify citations.
BOOK IN PRINT
Books In Print is an essential bibliographic tool for libraries, booksellers, and publishers worldwide. It provides information on millions of titles of books, audio books, or videos. Reviews are also available
FIRST SEARCH- OCLC (WORLDCAT DISCOVERY)
Users will have access to a central index that represents nearly 2,000 e-content collections containing articles, ebooks, and other content from providers including EBSCO, Gale, and ProQuest.
General and Multidisciplinary Databases for Science and Agriculture
ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE – EBSCOHOST
Academic Search Complete is a valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Provides full text articles to the library's subscribed Emerald journals. This database covers all major management disciplines from marketing, human resources management, library and information management, training and education, economics, engineering, quality to operations management and more.
A full text database that covers a broad range of subjects including social sciences, business, management, psychology, marketing, international relations, law, arts, humanities and education, health, science, technology, information organization, and more.
Access to the full text of this resource from 2017 onward is temporarily unavailable.
A gateway that provides access to journals in science, technology and medicine subscribed by the Campus Libraries. Searches can be limited to subscribed or unsubscribed journals.
SpringerLink is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. SpringerLink is a powerful central access point for researchers and scientists. Coverage is available from 1997.
TAYLOR AND FRANCIS ONLINE (JOURNALS)
Taylor & Francis Online’s portfolio of 1,600-plus journals offers access to the latest peer-reviewed research in journals and reference works
WEB OF KNOWLEDGE - ISI
This resource is an integrated research platform and features such databases as: •Science Citation Index; •Expanded - Web of Science; •Journal Citation Reports Science Citation Edition; •Essential Science Indicators and ISIHighlighted.com
World Bank e-Library
"The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 2,000 World Bank publications and over 3,200 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. The World Bank e-library is one of the most comprehensive collections in the area of social and economic development. The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Main Library is a Depository Library with the World Bank."
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of information that is organised so that it can be easily accessed, managed and updated. They can be classified according to types of content: bibliographic, full-text, numeric and images.
The Library provides access to bibliographic databases. Some have full-text and some only abstracts or citations.
Reading Lists in myeLearning
Software to assist Lectures to create reading lists using the Campus Libraries Informmation Resources.
EBSCOhost - Additional material