Norman Girvan Library - Institute of International Relations (STA)

Africa's international relations have often been defined and oriented by the dominant international and geopolitical agendas of the day. In the aftermath of colonialism the Cold War became a dominant paradigm that defined the nature of the continent's relationship with the rest of the world. The contemporary forces of globalization are now exerting an undue influence and impact upon Africa's international relations. Increasingly, the African continent is emerging as a vocal, and in some respects an influential, actor in international relations. The volume will also engage with the emerging role of the AU as an international actor, e.g. with regard to its role in the reform of the United Nations Security Council, climate change, the International Criminal Court (ICC), the treaty establishing Africa as a nuclear-free zone, Internally Displaced Persons, the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), international trade, the environment, public health issues, security, and development issues.

The study of Latin American and Caribbean international relations has a long evolution both within the development of international relations as a general academic undertaking and in terms of the particular characteristics that distinguish the approaches taken by scholars in the field. This handbook provides a thorough multidisciplinary reference guide to the literature on the various elements of the international relations of Latin America and the Caribbean.

The Oxford Handbook of International Relations offers the most authoritative and comprehensive overview to date of the field of International Relations. Arguably the most impressive collection of International Relations scholars ever brought together within one volume, the Handbook debates the nature of the field itself, critically engages with the major theories, surveys a wide spectrum of methods, addresses the relationship between scholarship and policymaking, and examines the field's relation with cognate disciplines.

This pioneering Research Handbook with contributions from renowned experts, provides an overview of the general doctrines making up the law of international organizations. The approach of this book is taken from a novel perspective: that of the tension between functionalism and constitutionalism. In doing so, this Handbook presents not only practically relevant information, but also provides a tool for understanding the ways in which international organizations work. It has separate chapters on specific 'constitutional' topics and on two specific organizations: the EU and the UN. Research Handbook on the Law of International Organizations will be of particular interest to academics and graduate students in the fields of international law, international politics and international relations.