Databases - Norman Girvan Library - Institute of International Relations (STA) - LibGuides at The University of the West Indies

Databases: Introduction

The Alma Jordan Library's (AJL) collection includes subscribed databases that offer content (books, journals, legislation, cases, and more) on International Relations, Foreign Policy, Foreign Relations, International Law, and Public International Law.

There are also websites that facilitate access to such content.

Databases: Selected Resources (AJL)

BOOKS IN PRINT - PROQUEST (STA) This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is an essential bibliographic tool for libraries, booksellers, and publishers worldwide. It provides information on millions of titles of books, audio books, or videos. Reviews are also available.
CREDO REFERENCE (STA) This link opens in a new window
This is a full text database that comprises of a searchable collection of over 150 online reference books from different publishers. It also includes a collection of art images.
DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS BOOKS (DOAB) (STA) This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for Open Access monographs. It provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publishers website or repository.
DOAB is open to all academic publishers and covers all subject areas and all languages. Currently there are 5959 Academic peer-reviewed books from 169 publishers.
DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS (DOAJ) (STA) This link opens in a new window
A service that offers online access to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. A wide range of research subjects is covered in many languages.
EBSCOHOST - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
A multi-database system that provides access to a number of databases.
OECD (ORGANISATION FOR ECONOMIC COOPERATION AND DEVELOPMENT) ILIBRARY (STA) This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers, and statistics.
It is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
PROQUEST CENTRAL (STA) This link opens in a new window
A full text database that covers a broad range of subjects.
These include social sciences, business, management, psychology, marketing, international relations, law, arts, humanities and education, health, science, technology, information organization, and more.
PROQUEST DISSERTATIONS AND THESES GLOBAL (STA) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, covering subjects such as Business and Economics, Medical Sciences, Science, Technology, Agriculture, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities.

HEINONLINE (STA) This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is an online research product with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Our subscription offers access to the following: English Reports, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP), Kluwer Law International Journal Library, Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, Philip C. Jessup Library, Revised Statutes of Canada, Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law, World Constitutions Illustrated, World Treaty Library, and more.
INDEX TO LEGAL PERODICALS RETROSPECTIVE: 1908-1981 (H.W. WILSON) - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered. The coverage dates are 1908 1981
LEXIS+ UK (LEXISNEXIS) (STA) This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ UK offers access the UK's most authoritative and comprehensive collection of annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary from Butterworths and Tolley.
MAX PLANCK ENCYCLOPEDIAS OF PUBLIC INTERNATIONAL LAW (STA) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource contains peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. Please note that the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law can be found within the Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law.
OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES - INTERNATIONAL LAW (STA) This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies- International Law offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship.
OXFORD REPORTS ON INTERNATIONAL LAW (STA) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reports on International Law brings together decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals. In this resource, the full scope of international case law is available in one place, accompanied by expert analysis and cross-case navigation via the Oxford Law Citator.
THOMSON REUTERS WESTLAW PRECISION [CONTACT LAW LIBRARY/LIBRARIAN] (STA) This link opens in a new window
Thomson Reuters Westlaw Precision is an online legal research service for legal and law related materials and services, including searches of United States and international legal materials
This database can only be accessed via username and password. Please contact the Law Librarian for further information.
WEST INDIAN REPORTS (LEXIS+ UK) (STA) This link opens in a new window
West Indian Reports (WIR) includes an archive of over 3,500 cases decided in the High Courts and Courts of Appeal of the West Indian States, and Privy Council appeals therefrom.
First published in 1958 they are the authoritative, ongoing archive of case law in the Caribbean relied upon by the legal profession throughout the West Indies.

CARIBBEAN SEARCH - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Search is a multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region.
CENTRAL BANK OF TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (STA) This link opens in a new window
WEST INDIAN REPORTS (LEXIS+ UK) (STA) This link opens in a new window
West Indian Reports (WIR) includes an archive of over 3,500 cases decided in the High Courts and Courts of Appeal of the West Indian States, and Privy Council appeals therefrom.
First published in 1958 they are the authoritative, ongoing archive of case law in the Caribbean relied upon by the legal profession throughout the West Indies.