Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Philosophy Databases and Repositories
UWI Mona Library Databases
Access restricted to students and staff of UWI, Mona
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by a community of philosophers and is one of the largest open access archive in the discipline.
Contains full text access to millions of free scholarly articles, book chapters and theses in many disciplines including philosophy.
An authoritative directory of academic open access repositories covering information in several disciplines.
An electronic archive for preprints in philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community.
It is an electronic archive in which authors can self-archive papers in any area of cognitive science, including philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic).
It is a social networking site covering multidisciplinary information and a medium for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and collaborate.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Provides open access to academic philosophy on the Internet.
This is a refereed series of original papers in philosophy. Its target audience consists primarily of academic philosophers and philosophy students, but it also aims to attract non-academic readers to philosophy by making excellent philosophical scholarship available without license or subscription.
Boolean Search Techniques
Database Search Tips
Spell words correctly
Use keywords to search-These are the nouns or significant words in your research questions.
Use Boolean operators-These are words (connectors) placed between search terms to narrow or expand a search. They are: AND, OR and NOT.
- AND-helps to narrow your search
- OR-helps to broaden your search
- NOT-helps to narrow your search
Truncation-This allows you to search the "root" form of a word with all its different endings by adding a symbol to the end of the word. e.g. bank* will yield results with words such as bank, banking, bankers and bankruptcy
Note. The asterisk * is the most common truncation symbol but there are others but databases vary. e.g. bank! bank? bank+
Check the help feature to ascertain the truncation symbol used.
Utilize phrase searching-It allows you to retrieve specific information from commonly used phrases. e.g. "social networking"