UWIlinC brings together UWI information resources from across the English-speaking Caribbean in all formats including UWI's intellectual output, subscribed resources (electronic journals, databases, electronic books) and the catalogues for all four UWI campuses.
Failure Case Studies in Civil Engineering by
Sponsored by the Technical Council on Forensic Engineering of ASCE. Failure Case Studies in Civil Engineering: Structures, Foundations, and the Geoenvironment, Second Edition, provides short descriptions of 50 real-world examples of constructed works that did not perform as intended. Designed for classroom use, each case study contains a brief summary, lessons learned, and references to key sources. This new edition, which replaces the 1995 classic edited by Robin Shepherd and J. David Frost, offers expanded descriptions, additional photographs and diagrams, and updated references. It also includes new case studies, such as the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building, the Charles de Gaulle Airport Terminal, and the North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Water Treatment Plant. Topics include: foundation failures; embankment, dam, and slope failures; geoenvironmental failures; bridge failures; and building failures. This book supplies valuable resource material on typical failures that can be integrated into undergraduate engineering courses. Engineering professors and their students will use this book as the basis for class discussions, a starting point for further research, and a demonstration of how each failure leads to improved engineering design and safety.
Introduction to Direction-of-Arrival Estimation by
Direction-of-Arrival (DOA) estimation concerns the estimation of direction finding signals in the form of electromagnetic or acoustic waves, impinging on a sensor or antenna array. DOA estimation is used for locating and tracking signal sources in both civilian and military applications. This authoritative volume provides an overview and performance analysis of the basic DOA algorithms, including comparisons between the various types. The book offers you a detailed understanding of the arrays pertinent to DOA finding, and presents a detailed illustration of the ESPRIT-based DOA algorithms complete with their performance assessments. From antennas and array receiving systems, to advanced topics on DOA estimation, this book serves as a one-stop resource for professionals and students. Nearly 100 illustrations and more than 281 equations support key topics throughout.
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering by
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering is a comprehensive survey text for biomedical engineering courses. It is the most widely adopted text across the BME course spectrum, valued by instructors and students alike for its authority, clarity and encyclopedic coverage in a single volume. Biomedical engineers need to understand the wide range of topics that are covered in this text, including basic mathematical modeling; anatomy and physiology; electrical engineering, signal processing and instrumentation; biomechanics; biomaterials science and tissue engineering; and medical and engineering ethics. Enderle and Bronzino tackle these core topics at a level appropriate for senior undergraduate students and graduate students who are majoring in BME, or studying it as a combined course with a related engineering, biology or life science, or medical/pre-medical course. NEW: Each chapter in the 3rd Edition is revised and updated, with new chapters and materials on compartmental analysis, biochemical engineering, transport phenomena, physiological modeling and tissue engineering. Chapters on peripheral topics have been removed and made avaialblw online, including optics and computational cell biology NEW: many new worked examples within chapters NEW: more end of chapter exercises, homework problems NEW: image files from the text available in PowerPoint format for adopting instructors Readers benefit from the experience and expertise of two of the most internationally renowned BME educators Instructors benefit from a comprehensive teaching package including a fully worked solutions manual
Biomedical Engineering by
The second edition of this popular introductory undergraduate textbook uses examples, applications, and profiles of biomedical engineers to show students the relevance of the theory and how it can be used to solve real problems in human medicine. The essential molecular biology, cellular biology, and human physiology background is included for students to understand the context in which biomedical engineers work. Updates throughout highlight important advances made over recent years, including iPS cells, microRNA, nanomedicine, imaging technology, biosensors, and drug delivery systems, giving students a modern description of the various subfields of biomedical engineering. Over two hundred quantitative and qualitative exercises, many new to this edition, help consolidate learning, whilst a solutions manual, password-protected for instructors, is available online. Finally, students can enjoy an expanded set of leader profiles in biomedical engineering within the book, showcasing the broad range of career paths open to students who make biomedical engineering their calling.
Principles of Applied Civil Engineering Design by
Principles of Applied Civil Engineering Design: Producing Drawings, Specifications, and Cost Estimates for Heavy Civil Projects walks engineers through standard practice and basic principles needed to prepare quality design and construction documents for a successful infrastructure project. Drawing on more than 30 years of engineering and design experience, Ying-Kit Choi helps readers understand the interrelationships among contract documents, site characterization, design and construction documents, and construction cost estimates. Choi introduces the fundamentals and process of applied engineering design, including the necessary field investigations to characterize a project site. He provides pragmatic guidance on the "how-to" of producing construction drawings, with advice on graphical representation; legends, abbreviations, and notes; drawing techniques and software; and certification of construction drawings. He offers a wealth of details on developing technical specifications, including good writing practices, types of construction specifications, the standardized Construction Specifications Institute format, measurement and payment provisions, and reference data. Chapters on cost estimating cover quantity estimates, pricing estimates, allowances and contingencies, and bid evaluation. A handy glossary defines common terms. This second edition reflects the rapid changes in the methods and tools used to produce design drawings, updating the discussions of presentation formats and technical resources. Of particular interest, the 2014 Construction Specifications Institute format is introduced for use in preparing specifications and estimating construction costs. Nine chapters encourage readers to test their comprehension with example problems and solutions. By setting out the guidelines, principles, and philosophy needed to produce design and construction documents for heavy civil projects, Choi assembles an excellent introduction for civil engineering students and young professionals, as well as provides a valuable reference for experienced design engineers, contractors, and project owners.
Don't Throw This Away! by
If you keep your ties for so long, they start to curl up... If you think the Firth of Forth Rail Bridge is a dream vacation destination... If you evaluate infrastructure for your daughter's hamsters... If you one-up your techno-nerd neighbor by offering to network his toilets... ...you must meet Brian Brenner, a civil engineer's civil engineer. In Don't Throw This Away The Civil Engineering Life, Brenner reports on what it's like to be a civil engineer in the 21st century: the mindset, the practice, the profession. Equally skilled as a writer and an engineer, Brenner ranges from serious discussions of suburban sprawl, technology run amok, and bridge aesthetics, to comical accounts of packrat habits, quacking moments, and engineering fashion. This entertaining collection of essays displays Brenner's distinctive combination of quirky humor and engineering right stuff. Product Reviews ...Brenner's honest, assured voice, brainiac populism and bite-sized essays make this a quirky, addictive winner that should bring out the 'inner civil engineer' in a wide cross-section of readers. --Publisher's Weekly This unique collection of essays will make anyone chuckle as the author lampoons engineers regarding pack-rat-ism, bad clothing sense, pocket-protectors, and Dilbert-esque lifestyles. --Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER) ...engaging, occasionally thought-provoking, and more than a little amusing. --Civil Engineering This civil engineer's surprisingly pithy meditations...will delight even those who don't consider a trip to Scotland's Forth Rail Bridge the ideal vacation. --Tufts Magazine About the Author Brian Brenner, P.E., is a senior principal engineer with Fay Spofford & Thorndike in Burlington, Massachusetts, working on several bridge projects in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, and New York. He is also an adjunct professor at Tufts University and teaches classes in concrete design, bridge analysis and design, and introduction to engineering. He has published more than 70 papers and articles on structural analysis and design, design for construction mitigation, engineering education, computer-aided design, and other topics. Mr. Brenner received the Boston Society of Civil Engineers President's Award in 2000, the Clemens Herschel Award in 2001, and the Richard R. Torrens Award from ASCE in 2005.
Civil Engineering Body of Knowledge for the 21st Century by
Prepared by the Body of Knowledge Committee of the Committee on Academic Prerequisites for Professional Practice of ASCE. This report focuses on outcomes of proposed changes in the way civil engineering is taught and learned, including the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary for entry into professional practice. The first Body of Knowledge report, published in 2004, outlined 15 areas of knowledge that, when fulfilled by means of formal education and experience, prepare an engineer for practice at the professional level. This new edition expands the 15 outcomes to 24 organized into three categories: foundational, technical, and professional. It also makes use of Bloom's Taxonomy to describe minimum cognitve levels for each outcome. This report offers a detailed roadmap for engineering educators and professionals to change the way civil engineering is practiced by reforming the manner in which tomorrow's civil engineers are prepared for tomorrow. The body of the report defines the body of knowledge, presents the means of fulfilling those requirements, and offers guidance for faculty, students, engineer interns, and practitioners. The numerous appendixes include ASCE Policy 465, Emergence of the Body of Knowledge; an explanation of Bloom's Taxonomy; rubrics for measuring a student's knowledge according to the taxonomy; and the importance of education in humanities and social sciences, sustainability, globalization, public policy, and personal attitudes. This report is essential reading for anyone involved in the education of student and younger engineers. Free download of the book in PDF format.
Advances in Mechanical and Electronic Engineering by
This book includes the volume 3 of the proceedings of the 2012 International Conference on Mechanical and Electronic Engineering(ICMEE2012), held at June 23-24,2012 in Hefei, China. The conference provided a rare opportunity to bring together worldwide researchers who are working in the fields. This volume 3 is focusing on Electronic Engineering and Electronic Communication; Electronic Engineering and Electronic Image Processing.
![Electronic engineering [by] Charles L. Alley [and] Kenneth W. Atwood.](http://s3.amazonaws.com/libapps/apps/common/images/gc-md.gif)
Electronic Engineering by Digital Electronics by 
e-book, in full electronic book, digital file containing a body of text and images suitable for distributing electronically and displaying on-screen in a manner similar to a printed book. E-books can be created by converting a printer’s source files to formats optimized for easy downloading and on-screen reading, or they can be drawn from a database or a set of text files that were not created solely for print.
Taken from Arthur Attwell.
https://www.britannica.com/technology/e-book
