Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UWI Mona West Indies and Special Collections: Copyright, Restrictions, and Unprocessed Collections

This guide provides an overview to the collections and services of the West Indies and Special Collections Section at The University of the West Indies, Mona Library, Mona Campus.

Due to the current COVID-19 crisis the West Indies and Special Collections Section is closed until further notice. For any enquiries please contact us at: wisc.library@uwimona.edu.jm

Citing from the Special Collections

Please contact the Main Library, The University of the West Indies Mona Campus for permission to use the digitized images. The UWI Mona Library must always be cited as the source of text or images when published (with permission) or otherwise distributed as below.

[title of work or collection name], West Indies and Special Collections, The UWI Mona Library

Permission to Reproduce from the Collection

Restrictions

Restrictions come in many varieties, but they generally exist because Special collection may have been given guidelines by donors  and hence cannot allow researchers to access certain materials. Reasons for restrictions include:

The donor who originally gave materials to the archives set a time limit or certain stipulations on how those materials could be used, generally due to privacy concerns or sensitive materials.

 The Collection may be still be being processed/ worked on.