Skip to main content

Special Collections @ UWI St. Augustine: Home

Hidden no more! You are a click away from finding out what is inside the boxes and folders in Special Collections!

General information

The Special Collections constitute a separate category of materials within the West Indiana and Special Collections Division.

These comprise materials such as:
*
Personal papers
*
Archival materials
*
Rare Books

Services

Research consultation

Reprographics Services

 

Contact Us

Email us at: wimail@sta.uwi.edu

Call:  868-662-2002, Ext 3361

 

Staff

Dr. Glenroy TaittHead, West Indiana and Special Collections,

Lorraine Nero, Senior Librarian, Special Collections Librarian

Aisha Baptiste, Senior Library Assistant, the Eric Williams Memorial Collection

Martha Arthur, Senior Library Assistant, West Indiana General Collection

Blaise Goomansingh,  Library Assistant, West Indiana Acquisitions

Raiann Ruiz,  Library Assistant, West Indiana General Collection

Johnathan Hazzard, Library Attendant

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome

Browse Special Collections A-Z                            Search Special Collections                               Search the Catalogue

Access to the Collection

Hours of Operation

West Indiana Collection: Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 10:00 pm; Saturdays 8:30-5:00 pm.

Special Collections: Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

 

Researchers wishing to consult Rare Books and Special Collections after 4:30.p.m. must obtain prior permission from the librarian(s) in WISC. 

  • The Collections are open to registered students and staff of The University of the West Indies and to visiting researchers.
  • Researchers can identify those items they wish to consult from printed guides and in-house databases; the books (including some of the rare books) are accessible via the Library's online catalogue. 
  • Researchers are required to consult the material in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Researchers are allowed to bring only pencil, paper and/or a laptop computer into the Reading Room; erasers are not permitted.
  • We provide researchers with one folder or book for consultation at any one time.
  •  A member of staff is always available to provide assistance when consulting materials.

 

Acknowledgements

The Design for the West Indiana and Special Collections banner on this page was done by Kirk Mckayle.