The West Indies and Special Collections (WISC), is the Mona Library’s premier collection with the largest concentration of English-speaking Caribbean content at The UWI Mona. The library offers access to a wide range of current and historical newspapers and this guide provides information and links for accessing. The information is available mostly online but some historical content is available on microfilm in the WISC.
There are several unique collections within the WISC that support teaching and facilitate research. The collection includes approximately 4000 rare books, 440 manuscripts, 70 personal papers, and special collections; 6000 microfilm/microfiche and approximately 200 maps. This Collection brings together a number of the Library's special and unique research collections including the West Indies Collection and the Special Collections.
The Newspaper Collection is a searchable Collection of historical newspaper content that is sought-after primary source materials for research. Additionally, this guide will highlight major newspaper collections at the University of the West Indies, Mona, WISC in print, microfilm and digital format covering the period 1774-2022.
West Indies & Special Collections Opening Hours
| Semester 1 and Semester 2 | |
|---|---|
| Mon - Fri | 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
| Saturday | 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. |
| Sunday | Closed / Online Access Only |
Digitization was identified as the most immediate solution to improve visibility and increase access to the hidden WISC Newspaper collection. Digitization is recognized as a tool to stimulate usage within special collections. This is in support of the Mona Library’s intent to make its resources available anywhere, anytime.
For more information on accessing the resources available through the West Indies and Special Collections (WISC), please contact us via email at wisc.library@uwimona.edu.jm.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, is one of the largest historical newspaper databases online, containing tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to the present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy to explore historical content quickly.
