Skip to Main Content

Sidney Martin Library: User Services - Circulation: Borrowing, Renewing and Returning Items

This libguide gives details of services provided from the User Services Unit at Sidney Martin Library

HELP AND INFORMATION

Library Hours

Semesters 1 & 2
Monday - Friday 
 9:00am - 11:00pm
Saturday
10:00am -  6:00pm
Sunday 
Closed

Summer & semester break opening hours will be posted: Please check SML website, Facebook, UWI CHILL (CHILL Libraries) and bulletin boards for updates.

 

Self Checkout Machine

 

Students may also use the Book Self-Checkout Machine to borrow and renew books from the open shelf.

BORROWING ITEMS

BORROWING

  • In order to check out material, UWI staff and students must have a valid UWI identification card.  Other borrowers will be issued with a Sidney Martin Library ID card for the duration of their membership.
  • Items that can be borrowed or used:
    • Books 
    • Laptops
    • Discussion Rooms
    • Postgraduate Carrels
LENDING QUOTAS NUMBER OF ITEMS DETAILS LOAN PERIOD
Academic, Professional, Research and Senior Administrative staff Twenty (20) Including no more than two (2) from Reserve, Overnight, West Indies Collections 8 weeks
Graduate Students Twenty (20)  Including no more than two (2) from Reserve, Overnight, West Indies Collections 8 weeks
Undergraduate Students Twelve (12)  Including no more than two (2) from Reserve, Overnight, West Indies Collections 2 weeks
Administrative,  Technical  and  Support  staff Four (4)  From the Main Collection 2 weeks
External users with full Privileges Six (6)  Including a maximum of two (2) from Reserve, Overnight, West Indies Collections 2 weeks
Retirees Four (4)  From the Main Collection 2 weeks
VIP's Fifteen (15)    28 days
  • No material may be removed from the library unless the prescribed loan procedure has been completed at the Circulation Desk.

 

  • Readers are responsible to the Library for material for which their ID cards have been used. Material which has been borrowed is the responsibility of the borrower until the item is returned and the record of the loan is cancelled.

RENEWING ITEMS

Renewing Items 

An open shelf item may be renewed up to two consecutive times, provided that it has not been requested by another user, and is not overdue. Please note that the Library reserves the right to recall any item borrowed if it is in great demand (e.g. required course material).

 

HOW TO RENEW ONLINE

RETURNING ITEMS

Returning

  • Books can be returned at any time during opening hours to the circulation desks. Otherwise, during closed hours, books can be returned via the book drop located in the foyer of the library.

Library fines for overdue items vary with user status and the category of item.  For items from the Main Collection the fine is

  • $1.00 per day, per item for postgraduate and undergraduate students, and also for members of the academic, research and senior administrative staff.

For all other borrowers the fine is

  • $1.00 per day, per item.

For periodicals the fine is

  • $0.50 per day per item.

For items from the Overnight, Reserve and West Indies Collections, the fine is

  • $0.10 per hour, per item.