GOVERNANCE, POLITICS: FROM OUR COLLECTION

LOG IN

Here are a few from the collection:

The Political Culture of Democracy in Jamaica and in the Americas, 2012:Towards Equality of Opportunity

By: Anthony Harriott; Balford A Lewis; Mitchell A Seligson; University of the West Indies (Mona, Jamaica). Centre for Leadership and Governance.; Vanderbilt University (Latin American Public Opinion Project, AmericasBarometer survey); United States Agency for International Development. 2013

 

From ProQuest Central database.

SAMPLE:  LOG IN

• Broadcast on the Winds: Diasporic Politics in the Age of Garvey, 1919--1940
  Ewing, Adam. Harvard University, 2011
   
• Dispatches from the frontline: The 1981 Brixton riots and the restructuring of black British identity
  Gray, Donna E. University of Maryland. 2009
   
• Staying Connected to Home: The Use of Social Media by the Howard University English-Speaking Caribbean Student Diaspora. 
  Caruth, Roger. Howard University. 2013

• Haitian immigrants and their descendants (HIDs): Cultural expression issues and challenges in Cuba and the Dominican Republic
  Pereira, Emmanuel. The Florida State University. 2013

• Community violence in Trinidad and Tobago: Government inaction, drug blocks, and resident survival
  Adams, Ericka. University of Illinois at Chicago. 2010

Credit: Jacqueline Howell Nash

HARDCOPY: These are in the MERIC room, on the groundfloor. Don't overlook them!   Some are on the "open shelves" upstairs, top floor, in Reading Room II. A UWIlinC search will indicate the "Location."

• A Dictionary of Modern Politics / David Robertson.

• The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations Graham Evans Jeffrey Newnham 

• The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought  

• Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy  edited by Jack Rabin.

• The Oxford Handbook of Public Management / edited by Ewan Ferlie, Laurence E. Lynn, Jr. and Christopher Pollitt.

• The Penguin biographical dictionary of women.

• A Dictionary of Politics, by Florence Elliott and Michael Summerskill.

• The Oxford Handbook of Strategy : a strategy overview and competitive strategy / edited by David O. Faulkner and Andrew Campbell.

• The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World / editor in chief, Joel Krieger ;

•  Encyclopedia of Government and Politics / edited by Mary Hawkesworth and Maurice Kogan.

• The Illustrated Dictionary of Constitutional Concepts / Robert L. Maddex.

Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy edited by Jack Rabin.

The Routledge Dictionary of Politics By: Robertson, David. Edition. 2004.

(A selection)

A Journal of Representative Politics (Oxford University Press) JN101.P3
Open Shelf, Main Library (top floor)

PS, Political Science & Politics (American Political Science Association) JA1 .P65 

Open Shelf, Main Library (top floor)

Perspectives on Politics (American Political Science Association) JA1 .P485
Open Shelf, Main Library (top floor)

N.B. Most of our journals are online and accessible through UWIlinC & the subscrption databases : LOG IN

• There are about 742 e-journals on political science including government documents e.g. African Communist
• About 121 have the term "politics" in the title  e.g. Journal of Politics in Latin America, Administration and Society, Journal of Democracy.
   
• Use UWILinC and search in the Articles by Subject box. If you choose  a broad search term e.g. Caribbean Politics,  then filter by "Peer-reviewed Journals"  and filter again by "Full-Text Online" you will get about 14,537 results.
  These should be filtered again and/or additional keywords should be used.
  The result will be fewer, more manageable results.   
• If you do the same search again but this time insert quotation marks i.e. "Carbbean politics" you retrieve about 141 results.

ONLINE:   (LOG IN)

• An Introduction to Politics Lectures for First-year Students

By: Trevor Munroe. 2002

HARDCOPY: 

Human Rights & Human Development Issues in Jamaica.

Lloyd Barnett; S. C Vasciannie (Stephen C.); United Nations Development Programme. 2003

Combating Corruption in Jamaica : a Citizen's Guide / Published by the Carter Center in collaboration with Sangster's Bookstore Ltd.
Lloyd Barnett; Trevor Munroe. 2000

The Constitutional Law of Jamaica. Lloyd G. Barnett. 1977

The Jamaican Constitution : basic facts and questions. Lloyd G. Barnett. 1992

Introduction to politics.  Tony Bogues, Christine Cummings. 1997
Fifty major political thinkers.  Ian Adams 1943- R.W Dyson. 2007

A selection. These are housed in the West Indian & Special Collections. Bring a pencil, no pens.

• The Politics of Identity, Space and Nationhood :the Cultural Significance of Spanish-speaking Migrants on Antigua
  Stanley H. Griffin. 2013
   
• Public Policy and Management for Culture and the Arts in Post-independence Trinidad and Tobago.Parts 1 and 2: a Crisis of Concept, Value and Incremental Indifference
  Lester Efebo Wilkinson. 2012
   
• A History of Barbados' Foreign Policy, 1966 to 1988
  Ricardo Trevor Leroy Kellman. 2011
   
• Robert Llewellyn Bradshaw :the Construction of a Caribbean Hero
  Carleen Payne Jackson. 2009
   
• Political Parties and Election Campaign Financing in Jamaica : Analysis and Proposal in the Context of Global Experience 
  Tameka Hastings. 2007