UWILinC is your go to space 24/7/365 for searching across a wide variety of resources we have accumulated for your benefit, including over 200 research databases, 80,000 journals, the Library's print collections, and the UWISpace institutional repository..The following video produced by Librarian Dr. Karen Eccles provides useful information for navigating this platform to search and discover library information resources
If you are interested in discovering what books and journals the Library has in its physical collections, that you can also borrow for use, the online Catalogue is available online 24/7/365.
The video below provides a quick guide to performing a basic search of the Library's Catalogue.
Search the Library's Catalogue and find the call number for the book titled "Life along the seashore of Trinidad and Tobago"
The University of The West Indies, St. Augustine Campus has a large collection of eBooks that are available to you.. eBooks (or electronic books) are the same as printed books in an online environment. They can be read on your personal computers, tablets and smart phones.
The St. Augustine Campus acquires eBooks from several vendors. While we do have a few eBook collections for which we pay an annual subscription, the majority of our eBooks are individual titles for which we have perpetual access rights (so we own them, rather than subscribe to them)..
Please note that not all eBooks are available for downloading or reading offline. EBook access is governed by digital rights management (DRM) systems, which are used by vendors/publishers to prevent unauthorized reproduction of their books. In addition to this, eBook availability can be restricted by user option models- single, three or multi-user options
In order to borrow or 'download' eBooks (those which can be borrowed), you would need to do the following:
You can also filter your searches in the UWIlinC portal to limit your search results to e-Books. Check out how to do this here.
Search for a specific journal, newspaper, or magazine, or by subject to find journal full text articles to assist you with your assignments. Remember journals tend to carry more up-to-date, current information. Searching for specific journal titles the Library has subscribed to is best accomplished using UWIlinC. Clicking on the e-Journals link in the drop-down menu under the research tab on the Library's homepage will take you to a UWIlinC search window. If you are off campus you will need to authenticate by entering your credentials as the following image describes.
Once authenticated, you can search using the interface for a journal by title, subject, vendor etc. The following example window allows you to do a combination search using title, publisher/vendor and subject area as facets to narrow down your results.
Go to The Alma Jordan LIbrary web site, find UWIlinC and login using you student credentials for the portal my.uwi.edu.
Search for at least two e-journal titles available for your discipline of study..
Research Subject Guides: See what resources librarians recommend for your subject or research project.
There are a number of research guides developed by Librarians and available to you for obtaining additional information that can help in the completion of your assignments. Challenge yourself by finding the link to research guides on the Alma Jordan Library web site and then locate a guide that deals with highlighting information resources for "Business"
UWISpace Institutional Repository: This archive was established by the UWI Libraries to support the dissemination of knowledge by providing open access to the digitally preserved intellectual output of the University. Here we aim to collect together in one place the research and scholarship of members of the UWI community. Included in this repository are digital copies of theses submitted by UWI postgraduate students
Learn more about what Institutional Repositories like UWISpace seek to accomplish. by checking out the video below.
Go the website for the UWISpace Institutional Repository, and browse the collections we have stored there.
Find an image of the Toco lighthouse in UWISpace.
Past Exam Papers: The Library's database of past papers includes only papers that are either sent from the Exams Registry or the individual academic departments. Please note: Past Papers with Multiple Choice and/or True/False questions are not included in the database.
The Exams Past Papers Online can be found under the Research tab on the Library's website.
Find out if the exams papers database has papers for your courses. You may need to know your course codes to perform this search.
West Indiana: The Library holds a repository of international significance for research on West Indian-related topics. Our mission as a Caribbean rooted Library is to preserve and provide access to material emanating from the West Indies, produced by West Indians, and on the West Indies as well as on the West Indian diaspora.
The Special Collections constitute a separate category of materials within the West Indiana and Special Collections Division. The Collection contains manuscripts, personal papers, archival material and rare books. The Collections are open to registered students and staff of The University of the West Indies and to visiting researchers
Telephone: 662-2002 Ext. 83506, 84244
E-mail for enquiries: wimail@sta.uwi.edu
Find the Micheal Goldberg Special Collection of postcards. Try to locate an image of cocoa farming in Trinidad from this Special Collection.
Caribbean Online Resources: Databases which have primarily Caribbean content including subscription and open access resources. The Alma Jordan Library has produced a guide to some of these useful resources. Click here to locate the site.
Browse some of the resources available on the Caribbean Online Resources page on the Library website. Look for a newspaper published in Jamaica.