News & Events

As our reliance on digital technology increases, so do the risks associated with cybersecurity. For students and faculty at The UWI St Augustine Campus, understanding these risks and learning how to mitigate them is essential. This blog post will explore the importance of cybersecurity, provide practical tips, and highlight resources available at the Alma Jordan Library to help you stay safe online.

Why Cybersecurity Matters?

Cybersecurity is critical because our personal and professional lives are increasingly intertwined with digital technologies. According to Craigen, Diakun-Thibault, and Purse (2014), cybersecurity encompasses the protection of cyberspace and cyberspace-enabled systems from occurrences that misalign legal and actual property rights. This definition underscores the multidimensional nature of cybersecurity, which includes technical, organizational, economic, social, and political aspects.

Common Cyber Threats

Phishing Attacks: These attacks often involve fraudulent emails that appear to be from legitimate sources. The goal is to trick recipients into providing sensitive information, such as passwords or credit card numbers. For example, a student might receive an email that looks like it’s from their university, asking them to reset their password, only to have their information stolen.

• Malware: Malicious software designed to disrupt, damage, or gain unauthorized access to computer systems. This can include viruses, worms, and Trojan horses.
• Ransomware: A type of malware that locks users out of their systems or data, demanding a ransom to restore access. Hospitals, for instance, have been targeted, putting patients at risk.
• Social Engineering:  This tactic involves manipulating individuals into breaking normal security procedures, often by tricking them into giving away confidential information.

Tips for Enhancing Cybersecurity Awareness

• Use Strong Passwords: Create complex passwords that include a mix of letters, numbers, and symbols. Avoid using easily guessable information, such as birthdays or common words.
• Enable Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA): MFA adds an extra layer of security by requiring additional verification beyond just a password.
• Stay Informed About Phishing Scams: Be cautious of unsolicited emails or messages asking for personal information. Verify the source before clicking on any links or providing information.
• Regularly Update Software: Keep your operating systems and applications up to date to protect against the latest vulnerabilities.

• Be Mindful of Your Online Presence: Limit the amount of personal information shared online and adjust privacy settings on social media platforms.

Selected E-books

Understanding and practising good cybersecurity habits is essential for protecting yourself and the university community. You can enhance your cybersecurity awareness and resilience by staying informed about the latest threats and utilizing the resources available at the Alma Jordan Library. Discover our selected e-books on cybersecurity below, and don't forget to explore the library's catalogue and databases for even more insightful e-books and journals on this crucial topic.

Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity by Ishaani Priyadarshini (Editor); Rohit Sharma (Editor)

ISBN: 9781003097518

Publication Date: 2022

Artificial intelligence and cybersecurity are two emerging fields that have made phenomenal contributions toward technological advancement. As cyber-attacks increase, there is a need to identify threats and thwart attacks. This book incorporates recent developments that artificial intelligence brings to the cybersecurity world. Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity: Advances and Innovations provides advanced system implementation for Smart Cities using artificial intelligence. It addresses the complete functional framework workflow and explores basic and high-level concepts. The book is based on the latest technologies covering major challenges, issues and advances, and discusses intelligent data management and automated systems. This edited book provides a premier interdisciplinary platform for researchers, practitioners and educators. It presents and discusses the most recent innovations, trends and concerns as well as practical challenges and solutions adopted in the fields of artificial intelligence and cybersecurity.

 

Developing a Cybersecurity Immune System for Industry 4. 0 by Sergei Petrenko

ISBN: 9781003337874

Publication Date: 2022

Cyber immune systems try to mimic the adaptive immune system of humans and animals because of its capability to detect and fend off new, unseen pathogens. Today's current cyber security systems provide an effective defense mechanism against known cyber-attacks but are not so good when it comes to defending against unknown attacks. This book describes the possible development and organization of self-healing computing based on cyber immunity techniques and aimed at working in the new realm of Industry 4.0. Industry 4.0 is the trend towards automation and data exchange in manufacturing technologies and processes which include cyber-physical systems (CPS), the internet of things (IoT), industrial internet of things (IIOT), cloud computing, cognitive computing and artificial intelligence. The book describes the author's research and development of cyber-immunity systems that will prevent the destruction of critical information infrastructure by future unknown cyber-attacks and thus avoid the significant or catastrophic consequences of such attacks. The book is designed for undergraduate and post-graduate students, for engineers in related fields as well as managers of corporate and state structures, chief information officers (CIO), chief information security officers (CISO), architects, and research engineers in the field of cybersecurity. 

 

Information Technology Law in Jamaica by Nicole Foga

ISBN: 9789403515366

Publication Date: 2022

Derived from the renowned multi-volume International Encyclopaedia of Laws, this practical guide to information technology law - the law affecting information and communication technology (ICT) - in Jamaica covers every aspect of the subject, including the regulation of digital markets, intellectual property rights in the digital context, relevant competition rules, drafting and negotiating ICT-related contracts, electronic transactions, and cybercrime. Lawyers who handle transnational matters will appreciate the detailed explanation of specific characteristics of practice and procedure. Following a general introduction, the monograph assembles its information and guidance in six main areas of practice: (1) the regulatory framework of digital markets, including legal aspects of standardization, international private law applied to the online context, telecommunications law, regulation of audio-visual services and online commercial platforms; (2) online public services including e-government, e-health and online voting; (3) contract law with regard to software, hardware, networks and related services, with special attention to case law in this area, rules with regard to electronic evidence, regulation of electronic signatures, online financial services and electronic commerce; (4) software protection, legal protection of databases or chips, and other intellectual property matters; (5) the legal framework regarding cybersecurity and (6) the application of criminal procedure and substantive criminal law in the area of cybercrime. Its succinct yet scholarly nature, as well as the practical quality of the information it provides, make this monograph a valuable time-saving tool for business and legal professionals alike. Lawyers representing parties with interests in Jamaica will welcome this very useful guide, and academics and researchers will appreciate its value in the study of comparative law in this relatively new and challenging field.

 

Routledge Handbook of International Cybersecurity by Eneken Tikk (Editor); Mika Kerttunen (Editor)

ISBN: 9781351038904

Publication Date: 2020

The Routledge Handbook of International Cybersecurity examines the development and use of information and communication technologies (ICTs) from the perspective of international peace and security. Acknowledging that the very notion of peace and security has become more complex, the volume seeks to determine which questions of cybersecurity are indeed of relevance for international peace and security and which, while requiring international attention, are simply issues of contemporary governance or development. The Handbook offers a variety of thematic, regional and disciplinary perspectives on the question of international cybersecurity, and the chapters contextualize cybersecurity in the broader contestation over the world order, international law, conflict, human rights, governance and development. The volume is split into four thematic sections: Concepts and frameworks; Challenges to secure and peaceful cyberspace; National and regional perspectives on cybersecurity; Global approaches to cybersecurity. This book will be of much interest to students of cybersecurity, computer science, sociology, international law, defence studies and International Relations in general. 

 

Challenges in Cybersecurity and Privacy - the European Research Landscape by Jorge Bernal Bernabe (Editor); Antonio Skarmeta (Editor)

ISBN: 9788770220880

Publication Date: 2019

Cybersecurity and Privacy issues are becoming an important barrier for a trusted and dependable global digital society development. Cyber-criminals are continuously shifting their cyber-attacks specially against cyber-physical systems and IoT, since they present additional vulnerabilities due to their constrained capabilities, their unattended nature and the usage of potential untrustworthiness components. Likewise, identity-theft, fraud, personal data leakages, and other related cyber-crimes are continuously evolving, causing important damages and privacy problems for European citizens in both virtual and physical scenarios. In this context, new holistic approaches, methodologies, techniques and tools are needed to cope with those issues, and mitigate cyberattacks, by employing novel cyber-situational awareness frameworks, risk analysis and modeling, threat intelligent systems, cyber-threat information sharing methods, advanced big-data analysis techniques as well as exploiting the benefits from latest technologies such as SDN/NFV and Cloud systems. In addition, novel privacy-preserving techniques, and crypto-privacy mechanisms, identity and eID management systems, trust services, and recommendations are needed to protect citizens' privacy while keeping usability levels. 

 

Cyberspace and Cybersecurity by George Kostopoulos

ISBN: 9781138057715

Publication Date: 2017

Providing comprehensive coverage of cyberspace and cybersecurity, this textbook not only focuses on technologies but also explores human factors and organizational perspectives and emphasizes why asset identification should be the cornerstone of any information security strategy. Topics include addressing vulnerabilities, building a secure enterprise, blocking intrusions, ethical and legal issues, and business continuity. Updates include topics such as cyber risks in mobile telephony, steganography, cybersecurity as an added value, ransomware defense, review of recent cyber laws, new types of cybercrime, plus new chapters on digital currencies and encryption key management.

 

 

 

 

Cybersecurity by Kim J. Andreasson (Editor)

ISBN: 9781439846636

Publication Date: 2011

The Internet has given rise to new opportunities for the public sector to improve efficiency and better serve constituents in the form of e-government. But with a rapidly growing user base globally and an increasing reliance on the Internet, digital tools are also exposing the public sector to new risks. An accessible primer, Cybersecurity: Public Sector Threats and Responses focuses on the convergence of globalization, connectivity, and the migration of public sector functions online. It identifies the challenges you need to be aware of and examines emerging trends and strategies from around the world.nbsp;Offering practical guidance for addressing contemporary risks, the book is organized into three sections: Global Trends--considers international e-government trends, includes case studies of common cyber threats and presents efforts of the premier global institution in the field National and Local Policy Approaches--examines the current policy environment in the United States and Europe and illustrates challenges at all levels of government Practical Considerations--explains how to prepare for cyber attacks, including an overview of relevant U.S. Federal cyber incident response policies, an organizational framework for assessing risk, and emerging trends Also suitable for classroom use, this book will help you understand the threats facing your organization and the issues to consider when thinking about cybersecurity from a policy perspective.

 

Students and faculty are invited to visit the Alma Jordan Library to view our informative display on cybersecurity and explore the selection of featured books on this topic.

Cybersecurity Awareness Course

The UWI's Centre for Information Technology Services (CITS) provides a Cybersecurity Awareness Course tailored to enhance the security awareness of both faculty and students. This programme aims to educate participants on the recommended methods for maintaining safety and safeguarding institutional information. The curriculum covers topics, including identifying phishing scams, securing devices, creating robust passwords and understanding the potential risks associated with social media and internet usage. By completing this course, faculty and students will be better prepared to defend against cyber threats and contribute to establishing a digital environment at UWI. For more information on this course, visit;  https://sta.uwi.edu/cits/cybersecurity-awareness-course
 

References

Alharbi, Talal, and Asifa Tassaddiq. 2021. "Assessment of Cybersecurity Awareness among Students of Majmaah University." Big Data and Cognitive Computing 5 (2): 23.

Craigen, Dan, Nadia Diakun-Thibault, and Randy Purse. 2014. "Defining Cybersecurity." Technology innovation management review 4 (10).

Florackis, Chris, Christodoulos Louca, Roni Michaely, and Michael Weber. 2023. "Cybersecurity Risk." The Review of Financial Studies 36 (1): 351-407.

Peker, Yesem Kurt, Lydia Ray, Stephanie Da Silva, Nathaniel Gibson, and Christopher Lamberson. "Raising Cybersecurity Awareness among College Students." 2016.

Global Creativity and Innovation Day

World Creativity and Innovation Day is an event observed on April 21, emphasizing the vital role of creativity and innovation in problem-solving and advancing human progress. For engineering students, this day serves as a reminder of the impact of thinking on shaping the future of technology and engineering.

The Significance of Creativity and Innovation in Engineering

Creativity and innovation are elements in engineering that enable the creation of solutions to complex issues. According to Cropley (2015), fostering creativity in engineering education helps generate innovative solutions that meet society’s evolving needs.

Throughout history, engineering has been about individuals discovering solutions to an array of problems spanning from architecture to medicine. It tackles challenges like earthquakes, transportation systems, clean water access, and increased lifespans. Engineering not only enhances life but also impacts the economy and overall quality of life.

The Engineering Division at the Alma Jordan Library has a wealth of information on engineering, creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship and other relevant topics. Here is a brief list of selected e-books that may be of interest to engineering students seeking to foster creativity and innovation.

Selected E-books

How can Engineering Students further Enhance their Creativity and Innovation Skills?

Engineering students can further enhance their creativity and innovation skills during their university studies by following the steps outlined below based on practices for creating a culture that fosters creativity (Higuera et al., 2021);

1. Apply creativity and innovation techniques to explore opportunities and challenge thinking boundaries. Experiment with approaches and methods to uncover solutions for complex problems.
2. Keep a mind without any ideas or biases allowing for a fresh outlook and the ability to consider things from different perspectives. Embrace thoughts and viewpoints to spark creativity and encourage ideas.
3. Avoid assuming that creativity is beyond reach or unnecessary. Understand that creativity can be nurtured and honed through practice, dedication, and a positive attitude. Let go of self-doubt. Believe that everyone possesses the potential for creativity.
4. Experiment to test theories, discover insights, and challenge established conventions. Adopt a mindset of learning and exploration recognizing that failure often paves the way for innovation and progress.
5. View failures as opportunities for learning. Acknowledge that setbacks and errors offer lessons and insights. Learn from failures, adjust your approach accordingly, and use them as stones towards achievements.
6. Pose thought-provoking questions that challenge the state of affairs. Explore possibilities by asking "why" and "what if," fostering thinking and generating innovative concepts. Dare to question assumptions or prevailing norms.
7. Generate numerous ideas through brainstorming sessions and thinking exercises. Encourage an exchange of ideas without criticism or constraints.
8. To enhance the quality of your ideas, aim to generate a number of them, as quantity often leads to outcomes.
9. Collaborate with others to benefit from viewpoints, expertise, and backgrounds. Embrace collective thinking to create an innovative atmosphere. Share your ideas, seek input, and work together to create solutions that are more impactful than efforts.
10. Integrate elements of art, music, literature or nature into your process for inspiration. Look beyond engineering for perspectives and innovative approaches.
11. Stay informed by reading literature in your field to gain insights from experts. Keep up with the research and trends to expand your knowledge base and spark ideas.
12. Utilize resources from organizations to connect with peers at conferences and workshops. Engage with professionals from different fields to exchange ideas and experiences that can fuel innovation.
13. Diversify your skill set by taking courses outside of engineering disciplines, such as design thinking or psychology. Explore subjects to broaden your perspective and enhance your creativity.
14. Engage in real-life design endeavours during your time to put your skills and imagination into action in situations. Undertake projects or team up with others to create solutions that tackle needs and difficulties, refining your problem-solving and inventive thinking capabilities.
15. Join movement-oriented classes that promote activity, such as dance, sports, or yoga. Physical motion can trigger thoughts, enhance abilities, and nurture diverse thought processes that pave the way for innovative concepts.
16. Participate in a lab specially crafted to cultivate creativity and innovation. Immerse yourself in an atmosphere that fosters exploration, experimentation and teamwork. Utilize specialized tools, resources and mentors to bolster your journey.
17. Broaden your expertise beyond engineering by embracing education. Delve into fields such as business, marketing, psychology, or design to develop a grasp of industries and boost your capacity to innovate across disciplines.

Keep in mind that creativity and innovation extend beyond engineering. To foster creativity and innovation among engineering students, educational programs should surpass instruction. Badran (2007) stresses the importance of an approach to enhancing innovative skills through interdisciplinary courses, workshops, and hands-on projects. You can unleash your potential by incorporating these strategies and nurturing a mindset that embraces creativity. Become a driving force for positive change in any field or pursuit you decide to embark on.

On the occasion of World Creativity and Innovation Day, it is crucial to acknowledge the role that creativity and innovation play in the realm of engineering. By cultivating a mindset and offering access to resources, the Alma Jordan Library continues to empower engineering students to emerge as inventive problem solvers and influential figures in their domain. We request that you embrace this day as an opportunity to delve into concepts and embrace risks. Push the boundaries of what can be achieved in engineering.

References

Badran, Ibrahim. 2007. "Enhancing Creativity and Innovation in Engineering Education." European Journal of Engineering Education 32 (5): 573-585.

Charyton, Christine. 2015. "Creative Engineering Design: The Meaning of Creativity and Innovation in Engineering." Creativity and innovation among science and art: A discussion of the two cultures: 135-152.

Cropley, David H. 2015. "Promoting Creativity and Innovation in Engineering Education." Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts 9 (2): 161.

Higuera Martínez, Oscar Iván, Liliana Fernández-Samacá, and Lizeth Fernanda Serrano Cárdenas. 2021. "Trends and Opportunities by Fostering Creativity in Science and Engineering: A Systematic Review." European Journal of Engineering Education 46 (6): 1117-1140.

United Nations. “World Creativity and Innovation Day.” United Nations. Accessed April 19, 2024. https://www.un.org/en/observances/creativity-and-innovation-day.

Photo: Ritesh Man Tamrakar, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

As an engineering student, your brain is your most powerful asset. From tackling complex equations to developing innovative solutions, cognitive function is crucial for your academic success. Did you know that your diet plays a significant role in optimizing your brainpower? Let's delve into the science behind brain-boosting foods and highlight some key resources at the Alma Jordan Library that can further your understanding of this vital topic.

The Science Behind Nutritious Foods for the Brain

The brain is a high-energy organ that utilizes 20% of the body's energy. Your food choices can hinder cognitive abilities such as memory retention, concentration, and mental acuity. Harvard Health suggests that specific foods offer benefits for brain health.

Healthy foods, such as fish, berries, nuts, and leafy green vegetables, are all important for supporting brain function by providing nutrients.

Key Nutrients for Brain Health

• Omega-3 Fatty Acids: Essential for brain cell maintenance and forming connections, omega-3s found in fatty fish like salmon are vital for learning and memory.
• Antioxidants: Blueberries, known for their antioxidant properties, help protect the brain from stress and inflammation that can impact function.
• Vitamin E: Nuts such as almonds and walnuts are sources of vitamin E, which helps combat the decline associated with ageing.
• Folate: Leafy greens like spinach and kale are packed with folate, a nutrient for brain health that reduces the risk of neurodegenerative diseases.

Top Foods to Boost Brain Performance

An article from Thrive Global highlights power foods" that can improve brain function and are easy to include in your meals.

• Dark Chocolate; Contains caffeine and flavonoids that enhance memory and cognitive abilities.
• Avocados; Rich in fats that promote blood flow, to the brain.
• Whole Grains; Provide sustained energy by releasing glucose into the bloodstream. Turmeric is famous, for its ability to reduce inflammation and enhance brain function by increasing brain derived factor (BDNF) a protein for learning and memory.

When it comes to making choices that can improve brainpower having a grasp of food science is essential. McGill University highlights the significance of understanding the chemistry, biology, and nutrition of foods in determining how different components influence our health and cognitive functions.

For students studying engineering, incorporating brain-boosting foods into your diet can be as simple as starting your day with a smoothie filled with berries, spinach and flaxseeds in omega 3s. Snacking on dark chocolate between classes and including fish and whole grains in your meals can help maintain consistent energy levels throughout the day.

To delve deeper into the link between diet and brain health the Alma Jordan Library provides an array of resources. Some recommended books available include:

Functional Foods and Biotechnology by Kalidas Shetty (Editor); Dipayan Sarkar (Editor)

ISBN: 9781003003830

Publication Date: 2019

The first of two related books that kick off the Food Biotechnology series, Functional Foods and Biotechnology: Sources of Functional Foods and Ingredients, focuses on the recent advances in the understanding of the role of cellular, metabolic, and biochemical concepts and processing that are important and relevant to improve functional foods and food ingredients targeting human health benefits. This volume explores sources of ecologically-based diversity of functional foods and food ingredients that are available to enhance diverse nutritional values and functional benefits of foods for better human health outcomes, especially focusing on emerging diet and lifestyle-linked non-communicable chronic disease (NCDs) challenges. 

 

Nutrition in Neurologic Disorders by Ethem Murat Arsava (Editor)

ISBN: 9783319531700

Publication Date: 2017

This book offers focused and concise coverage of all issues relating to malnutrition in the field of neurology, and in particular addresses practical aspects of nutritional support from a neurology perspective. In addition to providing basic knowledge on important nutritional concepts (body metabolism, assessment and diagnosis of malnutrition, epidemiology, enteral/parenteral nutrition), detailed information is presented on nutritional support for various neurologic disorders handled in a variety of settings, including the neuro-intensive care unit. Much consideration is also given to the diagnosis and management of dysphagia, which is a common and highly critical cause of malnutrition in these patients. Finally, the newly developing concept of neuro-nutrition (or brain foods) - the use of certain nutrients for treatment of neurologic disorders - is discussed. 

 

 

Food As Medicine by Maurice M. Iwu

ISBN: 9781315371627

Publication Date: 2016

This comprehensive book documents African plants used for functional and medicinal foods. It contains more than 60 detailed monographs of African foods, describing foods with various characteristics such as prebiotic, probiotic, satiety, immune modulation, stress-reduction, sports performance, mental acuity, sleep-supporting, metabolic syndrome, antioxidant, and unsaturated fats. Plant description, botanical names and synonyms, plant part used, habitat and distribution, folk use, nutritional content, and chemistry are all fully detailed. The book highlights indigenous African food processing technologies up to the modern era.

 

 

 

Functional Foods by Leah Coles (Editor)

ISBN: 9780429090783

Publication Date: 2013

This title includes a number of Open Access chapters. This new book presents a variety of important research on functional foods-foods that have another role related to disease prevention or health. The first section of the book includes chapters on the complicated relationships between nutrition, physical and mental health, and disease. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

Be sure to visit the Alma Jordan Library to view our display on Power Foods for the Brain, check out resources on this topic, and deepen your knowledge of brain health.

Do you have any recipes or snacks that help boost brain function? Feel free to share them in the comments section!

References

Department of Food Science and Agricultural Chemistry. “What Is Food Science?” Food Science and Agricultural Chemistry, McGill University. Accessed March 19, 2024. https://www.mcgill.ca/foodscience/what-food-science.

“Foods Linked to Better Brainpower.” Harvard Health, March 6, 2021. https://www.health.harvard.edu/healthbeat/foods-linked-to-better-brainpower.

Kodoth Prabhakaran, Nair. 2020. Food and Human Responses: A Holistic View. Book. Cham: Springer.

Sons, Tammy. 2017. “Power Foods for The Brain.” Thrive Global, blog. Medium, August 31. https://medium.com/thrive-global/power-foods-for-the-brain-56a28e94ff55.

Engineering Week is just around the corner, and it's a fantastic time to celebrate the ingenuity, creativity, and impact of engineers worldwide. Whether you're an aspiring engineer or already deep into your studies, this week is dedicated to recognizing the importance of engineering in shaping our world. Join us in this celebration and make the most of the resources available to you at the Alma Jordan Library.

What is Engineering Week?
Engineering Week is an annual event that highlights the contributions of engineers and promotes engineering as a vital and exciting career path. This year, it coincides with World Engineering Day on March 4th, a global celebration to raise awareness about the role of engineering in modern life and its contributions to sustainable development.

For more information on the schedule and themes, check out the official websites for World Engineering Day and Engineers Week 2024.

Dive into Engineering Literature at the Alma Jordan Library
As you engage with Engineering Week activities, don't miss the opportunity to explore some of the best engineering books available at the Alma Jordan Library. Here's a curated list of must-read titles that can provide both foundational knowledge and advanced insights into various engineering careers:

Engineer to Entrepreneur by Rick De la Guardia

ISBN: 9780784414415

Publication Date: 2016

Starting, managing, and owning an engineering firm can be a daunting experience. Engineer to Entrepreneur: Success Strategies to Manage Your Career and Start Your Own Firm provides practical steps at key career points to reach professional goals in any engineering discipline. Rick De La Guardia leads aspiring entrepreneurs through the process from undergraduate class choices, through first jobs, to opening an office and running a consulting firm. Divided into three main sections for the student, beginning engineer, and company owner, De La Guardia provides background information, suggested activities, and detailed steps to make the most of each stage of one's career. Personal examples from his own career are used to illustrate real-life issues and decisions facing entrepreneurs as they find their niche, expand their contacts, and launch their firms. Engineer to Entrepreneur will help engineers in any discipline rethink their careers and take charge of their futures.

 

Building a Career in Software by Daniel Heller

ISBN: 9781484261460

Publication Date: 2020

Software engineering education has a problem: universities and bootcamps teach aspiring engineers to write code, but they leave graduates to teach themselves the countless supporting tools required to thrive in real software companies. Building a Career in Software is the solution, a comprehensive guide to the essential skills that instructors don't need and professionals never think to teach: landing jobs, choosing teams and projects, asking good questions, running meetings, going on-call, debugging production problems, technical writing, making the most of a mentor, and much more. In over a decade building software at companies such as Apple and Uber, Daniel Heller has mentored and managed tens of engineers from a variety of training backgrounds, and those engineers inspired this book with their hundreds of questions about career issues and day-to-day problems. Designed for either random access or cover-to-cover reading, it offers concise treatments of virtually every non-technical challenge you will face in the first five years of your career--as well as a selection of industry-focused technical topics rarely covered in training. 

 

Engineering in Perspective by Tony Ridley

ISBN: 9781786342270

Publication Date: 2017

Engineering in Perspective provides a unique look into the career of one of Britain's most widely experienced engineers, Professor Tony Ridley. Ridley analyses key moments from his career to identify the real-world skills required for success. Through this, he examines how important it is that a successful engineer has not only traditional engineering skills but also good interpersonal skills coupled with a deep understanding of social, economic and political factors. Ridley's career case-studies include his time as first Director General of the Tyne & Wear Passenger Transport Executive and working on the creation of the Metro; first Managing Director of the Hong Kong Mass Transit Railway; Chairman and Managing Director of London Underground; the development of the Docklands Light Railway; and working through the trauma of the Kings Cross fire. 

 

Women in STEM Careers by Diana Bilimoria (Editor); Linley Lord (Editor)

ISBN: 9781781954065

Publication Date: 2014

Adopting an international perspective, this book draws on current research from the United States, Australia and Europe to examine women's participation, advancement and leadership in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) fields. The book explores the nature of STEM careers across industry and academia, and presents the latest thinking on successful individual, organizational and educational initiatives related to women in STEM. Along with a select group of international contributors, Diana Bilimoria and Linley Lord provide a fresh perspective, based on success stories and successful initiatives, augmenting contemporary perspectives on the barriers and issues that women in STEM careers continue to face. Women in STEM Careers is a positive and insightful outlook on gender relations, which will be an invaluable resource for scholars, practitioners and policy-makers in organizations, human resources, academia, and government, as well as for women aspiring to or presently working in STEM fields. 

 

Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering by Ömer Aydan

ISBN: 9780367822309

Publication Date: 2019

The two-volume set Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering is concerned with the application of the principles of mechanics to physical, chemical and electro-magnetic processes in the upper-most layers of the earth and the design and construction of the rock structures associated with civil engineering and exploitation or extraction of natural resources in mining and petroleum engineering. Volume 2, Applications of Rock Mechanics - Rock Engineering, discusses the applications of rock mechanics to engineering structures in/on rock, rock excavation techniques and in-situ monitoring techniques, giving some specific examples. The dynamic aspects associated with the science of earthquakes and their effect on rock structures, and the characteristics of vibrations induced by machinery, blasting and impacts as well as measuring techniques are described. Furthermore, the degradation and maintenance processes in rock engineering are explained. Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering is intended to be a fundamental resource for younger generations and newcomers and a reference book for experts specialized in Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering and associated with the fields of mining, civil and petroleum engineering, engineering geology, and/or specialized in Geophysics and concerned with earthquake science and engineering.

 

Food Engineering Handbook by Theodoros Varzakas (Editor); Constantina Tzia (Editor)

ISBN: 9780429171727

Publication Date: 2014

Food Engineering Handbook: Food Process Engineering addresses the basic and applied principles of food engineering methods used in food processing operations around the world.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Story of Industrial Engineering by Adedeji B. Badiru

ISBN: 9780429461811

Publication Date: 2018

Industrial engineering is the profession dedicated to making collective systems function better with less waste, better quality, and fewer resources, to serve the needs of society more efficiently and more effectively. This book uses a story-telling approach to advocate and elaborate the fundamental principles of industrial engineering in a simple, interesting, and engaging format. It will stimulate interest in industrial engineering by exploring how the tools and techniques of the discipline can be relevant to a broad spectrum of applications in business, industry, engineering, education, government, and the military. Features Covers the origin of industrial engineering Discusses the early pioneers and profiles the evolution of the profession Presents offshoot branches of industrial engineering Illustrates specific areas of performance measurement and human factors Links industrial engineering to the emergence of digital engineering Uses the author's personal experience to illustrate his advocacy and interest in the profession

You can access these books and many more by visiting the Alma Jordan Library or checking their availability through the library's online catalogue; UWIlinC.

Get Involved!
Mark your calendars and get ready to immerse yourself in a week of engineering excellence. Engage in the online events via the World Engineering Day and Engineers Week 2024 websites, expand your knowledge with the recommended books, and connect with the engineering community. The future is engineered by those who dare to innovate, and Engineering Week is your platform to step up and make a difference.

Stay updated with the latest events and resources by visiting the World Engineering Day and Engineers Week 2024 websites, and don’t forget to leverage the vast resources available at the Alma Jordan Library.

Happy Engineering Week!
 

Introduction

Welcome to the exciting world of Robotics and Artificial Intelligence (AI)! Whether you are an engineering student embarking on your academic journey or a faculty member leading cutting-edge research, the Alma Jordan Library offers a wealth of information to support your endeavours.

Historical Context and Evolution

The fields of AI and Robotics were strongly connected in the early days of AI, but over time they developed as separate disciplines. AI focused on abstract problems and algorithms, while Robotics concentrated on physical embodiment and control. However, recent advancements have bridged this gap, leading to the integration of AI and Robotics into a cohesive field (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

Selected E-Books:

International Standards:

ISO 10218-1:2011, Robots and robotic devices — Safety requirements for industrial robots — Part 1: Robots

Scope:

ISO 10218-1:2011 specifies requirements and guidelines for the inherent safe design, protective measures and information for use of industrial robots. It describes basic hazards associated with robots and provides requirements to eliminate, or adequately reduce, the risks associated with these hazards.

ISO 10218-1:2011 does not address the robot as a complete machine. Noise emission is generally not considered a significant hazard of the robot alone, and consequently noise is excluded from the scope of ISO 10218-1:2011.

ISO 10218-1:2011 does not apply to non‑industrial robots, although the safety principles established in ISO 10218 can be utilized for these other robots.

ISO 10218-2:2011, Robots and robotic devices — Safety requirements for industrial robots — Part 2: Robot systems and integration

Scope:

ISO 10218-2:2011 specifies safety requirements for the integration of industrial robots and industrial robot systems as defined in ISO 10218-1, and industrial robot cell(s). The integration includes the following: the design, manufacturing, installation, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the industrial robot system or cell; necessary information for the design, manufacturing, installation, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the industrial robot system or cell; component devices of the industrial robot system or cell.

ISO 10218-2:2011 describes the basic hazards and hazardous situations identified with these systems, and provides requirements to eliminate or adequately reduce the risks associated with these hazards. ISO 10218-2:2011 also specifies requirements for the industrial robot system as part of an integrated manufacturing system. ISO 10218-2:2011 does not deal specifically with hazards associated with processes (e.g. laser radiation, ejected chips, welding smoke). Other standards can be applicable to these process hazards.

ISO/IEC 22989:2022, Information technology — Artificial intelligence — Artificial intelligence concepts and terminology

Scope:

This document establishes terminology for AI and describes concepts in the field of AI.

This document can be used in the development of other standards and in support of communications among diverse, interested parties or stakeholders.

This document is applicable to all types of organizations (e.g. commercial enterprises, government agencies, not-for-profit organizations).

ISO/IEC 23053:2022, Framework for Artificial Intelligence (AI) Systems Using Machine Learning (ML)

Scope:

This document establishes an Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) framework for describing a generic AI system using ML technology. The framework describes the system components and their functions in the AI ecosystem. This document is applicable to all types and sizes of organizations, including public and private companies, government entities, and not-for-profit organizations, that are implementing or using AI systems.

ISO/IEC 23894:2023, Information technology — Artificial intelligence — Guidance on risk management

Scope:

This document provides guidance on how organizations that develop, produce, deploy or use products, systems and services that utilize artificial intelligence (AI) can manage risk specifically related to AI. The guidance also aims to assist organizations to integrate risk management into their AI-related activities and functions. It moreover describes processes for the effective implementation and integration of AI risk management.

The application of this guidance can be customized to any organization and its context.

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

Advances and Applications

• Healthcare:

AI and Robotics are revolutionizing healthcare by assisting in surgeries, rehabilitation, and elder care. Robots equipped with AI can perform precise operations and monitor patients, reducing the workload on healthcare professionals (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

• Manufacturing:

Intelligent robots are transforming manufacturing processes by performing tasks with high precision and adaptability. AI enables these robots to learn and optimize their operations, leading to increased efficiency and reduced costs (Soori et al., 2023)​​.

• Service Industry:

AI-powered robots are being deployed in various service sectors, including hospitality and retail, to improve customer experiences through personalized interactions and efficient service delivery (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

Challenges and Future Directions

Despite significant advancements, several challenges remain:

• Uncertainty and Complexity: Robots must operate in unpredictable environments and handle incomplete and conflicting information. Developing robust AI algorithms to manage these uncertainties is crucial (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.
• Ethical and Social Implications: The widespread adoption of AI and Robotics raises ethical concerns, including job displacement and privacy issues. Addressing these concerns through thoughtful policy and design is essential (Soori et al., 2023)​​.
• Interdisciplinary Collaboration: Effective integration of AI and Robotics requires collaboration across various disciplines, including computer science, mechanical engineering, and cognitive science (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

The fusion of AI and Robotics is set to revolutionize multiple industries, offering solutions to complex problems and enhancing human capabilities. The AJL is committed to providing the best resources to support your research and learning in these dynamic fields. Dive into our collection, explore the latest research, and be a part of the technological revolution that is reshaping our world.

Discover a world of knowledge by exploring the Alma Jordan Library’s catalogue at at - https://libraries.sta.uwi.edu/uwilinc. Don’t miss the chance to visit the Engineering Division of the Alma Jordan Library, where you can immerse yourself in our informative display on Robotics and browse or check out the books on display.

References

Rajan, Kanna, and Alessandro Saffiotti. 2017. "Towards a Science of Integrated Ai and Robotics." Artificial Intelligence 247: 1-9. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.artint.2017.03.003.

Soori, Mohsen, Behrooz Arezoo, and Roza Dastres. 2023. "Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning and Deep Learning in Advanced Robotics, a Review." Cognitive Robotics 3: 54-70. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cogr.2023.04.001.
 

Renewable energy is revolutionizing how we power our world, offering sustainable alternatives to fossil fuels and reducing environmental impacts. As engineering students and faculty, understanding the nuances and potentials of renewable energy is crucial. This blog post and our in-library display delve into various renewable energy sources, their benefits, and their implications for the future.

What is Renewable Energy?
Renewable energy is derived from natural sources that replenish at a faster rate than they are consumed. Unlike fossil fuels, which take millions of years to form, renewable energy sources such as sunlight and wind are constantly being replenished. This makes renewable energy a key player in mitigating the climate crisis and ensuring sustainable energy for future generations.

Types of Renewable Energy
Solar Energy

Description: Solar energy harnesses sunlight through photovoltaic panels or mirrors that concentrate solar radiation to generate electricity.
Benefits: Solar energy is abundant and can be harnessed even in cloudy weather. The rate of solar energy intercepted by the Earth far exceeds human energy consumption needs. Solar panels have become more affordable, with a lifespan of approximately 30 years.
Applications: Solar energy can provide heat, cooling, lighting, and fuels for various applications.

Wind Energy

Description: Wind energy utilizes large turbines to convert the kinetic energy of moving air into mechanical energy, which can be used to generate electricity.
Benefits: Wind energy has a vast technical potential and can be harnessed both onshore and offshore. Offshore wind power, in particular, offers tremendous potential due to strong wind speeds.
Applications: Wind energy can be used to power entire communities, particularly in regions with strong wind conditions.

Hydropower

Description: Hydropower harnesses the energy of moving water from high to low elevations. It can be generated from reservoirs and rivers.
Benefits: Hydropower is a reliable source of renewable electricity and has been used for centuries. Small-scale hydropower can be an environmentally friendly option for isolated communities.
Applications: Hydropower plants provide energy, drinking water, irrigation, and flood control.

Geothermal Energy

Description: Geothermal energy utilizes heat from the Earth's interior, extracted from geothermal reservoirs.
Benefits: Geothermal energy is a reliable and constant source of power, with hydrothermal reservoirs being used for over 100 years.
Applications: Geothermal energy can be used for direct heating and electricity generation.

Biomass Energy

Description: Biomass energy is derived from organic materials that are burned or converted into liquid or gaseous forms, such as ethanol and biodiesel.
Benefits: Biomass can be a renewable and sustainable source of energy when managed properly.
Applications: Biomass is used for heating, electricity generation, and as a fuel for transportation.

Ocean Energy

Description: Ocean energy captures the kinetic and thermal energy from seawater through waves or currents to generate electricity.
Benefits: Ocean energy has the potential to exceed current human energy requirements significantly.
Applications: Still in the prototype stage, ocean energy devices show promise for future large-scale applications.

Advantages of Renewable Energy

Environmental Benefits: Renewable energy sources produce significantly lower emissions compared to fossil fuels, helping to combat climate change.
Cost Efficiency: Renewable energy technologies are becoming increasingly cost-effective, with lower operational and maintenance costs.
Sustainability: By utilizing the Earth's natural processes, renewable energy can theoretically meet global energy needs indefinitely.

Selected e-books

Renewable Fuels by Rajni Kant, Keshav Kant

ISBN: 9781003200123

Publication Date: 2023

Renewable fuels, in the present times, have become important to curb emission of greenhouse gases, which are causing damage to the environment and leading to climatic changes. Ideally, their utilization can be a zero carbon operation. Planting suitable trees on all waste lands and agro forestry on a large scale can fulfil the needs of timber, fuel, fruits, etc. All kinds of lignocellulosic biomass can be converted by several methods to useful liquid fuels like alcohols, biodiesel, methane, renewable diesel and renewable gasoline. Hydrogen can be used as a renewable fuel because of its desirable characteristics and properties for its use as a green fuel.

 

Decarbonising Electricity Made Simple by Andrew F. Crossland

ISBN: 9780367203320

Publication Date: 2019

This book assesses how low-carbon generation, the advance of energy storage and consumer-based models can help decarbonise electricity supplies at a national level. This book is built around developing a decarbonised electricity mix for Britain which reduces fossil fuels from 50% of supply in 2018 down to levels within 2030 carbon targets. Crossland explores the idea of a future energy storage mix which blends domestic batteries, vehicles, thermal stores and pumped hydro to provide a flexible, responsive electricity system. He then goes on to look at how much storage can contribute to decarbonisation in a multitude of contexts - from domestic to national electricity. This book also discusses how efficiency and self-sufficiency can bring about a decarbonised electricity use within our homes today. Britain is used as the main example, but the themes and conclusions are applicable to a global audience, and each chapter draws on practical case studies from around the world to illustrate key ideas. Drawing on the author's experience in delivering and analysing low-carbon energy projects in the UK, Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America and Oceania, this book will be of great relevance to students, scholars and industry specialists with an interest in energy technology, policy and storage.

The Science of Green Energy by Frank R. Spellman

ISBN: 9781003439059

Publication Date: 2024

Concern for the environment and the impacts of pollution have brought about the need to shift from the use and reliance on hydrocarbons to energy-power sources that are pollution neutral or near pollution neutral or renewable. Moreover, the impact of 200 years of industrialization and surging population growth threatens to exceed the future supply of hydrocarbon power sources. Therefore, the implementation of green energy sources is surging. The Science of Green Energy presents technologies and techniques, as well as real-world usage of and operation of today’s green energy-based applications. This practical book is designed to be used as an information source for the general reader, or for a course in energy, chemistry or in renewable energy engineering fields where green energy is becoming a key player. It is intended to fill a wide gap of missing information in published texts dealing with the green energy revolution currently in progress; it specifically provides information involving the many different sources of energy.

 

Green Energy Materials Handbook by Ming-Fa Lin (Editor); Wen-Dung Hsu (Editor)

ISBN: 9780429881169

Publication Date: 2019

Green Energy Materials Handbook gives a systematic review of the development of reliable, low-cost, and high-performance green energy materials, covering mainstream computational and experimental studies as well as comprehensive literature on green energy materials, computational methods, experimental fabrication and characterization techniques, and recent progress in the field. This work presents complete experimental measurements and computational results as well as potential applications. Among green technologies, electrochemical and energy storage technologies are considered as the most practicable, environmentally friendly, and workable to make full use of renewable energy sources. This text includes 11 chapters on the field, devoted to 4 important topical areas: computational material design, energy conversion, ion transport, and electrode materials. This handbook is aimed at engineers, researchers, and those who work in the fields of materials science, chemistry, and physics. The systematic studies proposed in this book can greatly promote the basic and applied sciences.

Renewable Energy in Developing Countries by Hoy-Yen Chan (Editor); Kamaruzzaman Sopian (Editor)

ISBN: 9783319898087

Publication Date: 2018

This book discusses aspects of policy and techno-economic analysis of renewable energy in developing countries. Renewable energy technologies have been one of the most important strategies in addressing sustainable energy development and climate change. The roles of renewable energy in developing countries are vital, which include the accessibility of modern energy services in rural areas, climate change mitigation, energy security, green job creation and eventually improvement of quality of life. Part I of this book focuses on policy and strategy, while Part II focuses on technology development and feasibility. Chapters are contributed by leading experts from the ASEAN Center of Energy, government agencies, industries, and universities from five developing countries, including Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam, Brunei Darussalam and Bangladesh.

 

 

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

 

 

References

Da Rosa, Aldo Vieira, and Juan Carlos Ordóñez. 2022. Fundamentals of Renewable Energy Processes. London, United Kingdom: Academic Press.
Holden, John, Patrick Robinson, and Establishment Building Research. 2014. Renewable Energy Sources: How They Work and What They Deliver. Part 3, Electrically Driven Heat Pumps. Digest (Building Research Establishment); Dg 532-3. Garston, Watford: IHS BRE Press.
Hossain, Eklas, and Slobodan Petrovic. 2021. Renewable Energy Crash Course: A Concise Introduction. Cham: Springer.
Usher, Bruce. 2019. Renewable Energy: A Primer for the Twenty-First Century. New York: Columbia University Press.
 

World Standards Day, celebrated on October 14th each year, highlights the critical role of standards in ensuring safety, efficiency, and interoperability across various sectors. This year’s theme, “Shared Vision for a Better World: Incorporating SDG 3,” focuses on Sustainable Development Goal 3 (SDG 3), which aims to ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all. Click hyperlink to read the  2023 World Standards Day Message.

This blog post and our in-library display explore this theme's significance and highlight key standards and resources that students and faculty can leverage to contribute to a healthier and more sustainable world.

The Importance of Standards in Achieving SDG 3
What is SDG 3?
SDG 3 is one of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals established by the United Nations. It focuses on ensuring healthy lives and promoting well-being for people of all ages. Achieving SDG 3 involves reducing maternal and child mortality, combating communicable and non-communicable diseases, and ensuring access to essential healthcare services and medications.

Role of International Standards
International standards play a critical role in achieving SDG 3 by providing guidelines and specifications that ensure products and services are safe, reliable, and of high quality. These standards cover a wide range of areas, including healthcare, food safety, and environmental protection, thereby contributing to the overall well-being of individuals and communities.

Key Standards and Resources

• ISO 45001: Occupational Health and Safety - ISO 45001 sets the standard for occupational health and safety management systems. It helps organizations reduce workplace risks and create safer working conditions.
• Codex Alimentarius: Food Safety - The Codex Alimentarius, developed by the FAO and WHO, provides internationally recognized standards for food safety. These standards ensure that food is safe to consume and free from contaminants.
• IEC 60601 Series: Medical Electrical Equipment - IEC 60601 is a series of technical standards for the safety and performance of medical electrical equipment. These standards ensure that medical devices used in hospitals, health centres and health facilities are safe and effective.

Join the movement for a better world! from ISO.

Other Resources

• Check out our library guide on Technical Standards to discover how you can access standards at the Alma Jordan Library. Find out more at https://libguides.uwi.edu/c.php?g=252800!
• 

For more information on the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards’ National Standardization Strategy, please click on the image or visit https://gottbs.com/2020/02/05/national-standardization-strategy-nss/

• To learn more about World Standards Day, please visit https://www.worldstandardsday.org/home.html

References
Codex Alimentarius Commission. "World Standards Day 2023 / Promoting Good Health and Well-Being." Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, October 13, 2023. Accessed October 13, 2023. https://www.fao.org/news.

Geneva Environment Network. "World Standards Day 2023." Accessed October 13, 2023. https://www.genevaenvironmentnetwork.org/events/world-standards-day-2023/.

International Organization for Standardization. "World Standards Day." Accessed October 13, 2023. https://www.iso.org/world-standards-day.html.

Geological and geophysical calamities affect every continent with a significant human population. The 1556 Shaanxi earthquake in China killed 830,000 people, the 1755 tsunami in Portugal killed 60,000 people, the Vesuvius explosion in 79 AD buried Pompeii and Herculaneum, and the 1949 landslide in Tajikistan killed 12,000 (Guthrie 2013, 388-389).

Geophysical engineering is a field of study that focuses on applying principles and methods of physics to studying the Earth's structure and properties. Geophysical engineers use various techniques to gather and interpret data about the Earth's subsurface, which is valuable for various applications, including natural resource exploration, environmental assessment, and geotechnical engineering. Here are some key aspects of geophysical engineering:

• Exploration and Resource Assessment: Mineral and Energy Exploration: Geophysical methods such as seismic surveys, electromagnetic surveys, and gravity surveys are used to locate and assess mineral deposits, oil, and natural gas reserves underground.
• Groundwater Exploration: Geophysical techniques help locate and characterise groundwater resources, aiding in sustainable water management.

1. Environmental and Engineering Applications:

• Environmental Site Assessment: Geophysical surveys are employed to assess contaminated sites and monitor the movement of pollutants underground.
• Civil Engineering: Geophysical methods are used to study the subsurface conditions, such as dams, bridges, and tunnels, before construction projects, providing vital information about soil and rock properties.

2. Natural Hazard Assessment:

• Earthquake Studies: Seismic surveys and other geophysical methods help study seismic activity, fault lines, and earthquake hazards.
• Landslide and Volcano Studies: Geophysical techniques aid in monitoring the stability of slopes and volcanic activity, providing early warning systems for potential disasters.

3. Methods and Techniques:

• Seismic Methods: This involves sending seismic waves into the ground and measuring their reflections to create subsurface images. It is widely used in oil exploration and earthquake studies.
• Electromagnetic Methods: These methods use electromagnetic fields to detect subsurface structures commonly used in mineral exploration.
• Gravity and Magnetic Methods: Gravity surveys measure variations in the Earth's gravitational field, while magnetic surveys detect variations in the Earth's magnetic field. Both methods are valuable in geophysical mapping.

4. Data Interpretation and Modeling:

• Data Processing: Geophysical data often need advanced processing techniques to filter noise and enhance the signal, improving the quality of interpretations.
• Geophysical Modeling: Specialised software is used to create 3D models of the subsurface based on geophysical data, aiding in visualisation and analysis.

5. Research and Development:

• Instrumentation: Geophysical engineers develop and improve instruments used in data collection, making them more accurate and efficient.
• Innovation: Research in geophysical engineering often leads to the developing of new techniques and methodologies, advancing the field.

Geophysical engineers are crucial in understanding the Earth's subsurface, which is responsible for resource management, disaster prevention, and sustainable development. Their work contributes significantly to various industries and scientific research.

The Staff of the Engineering Division at the Alma Jordan Library has mounted a display highlighting the importance of geophysical engineering in managing geophysical disaster preparedness. Stop by and browse the books on display, and remember... all the books on display are available for checkout.

Selected E-books

Geotechnical and Geophysical Site Characterization 4 by Roberto Quental Coutinho, Paul W. Mayne

ISBN: 9780429103063

Publication Date: 2013

Geotechnical and Geophysical Site Characterization 4 contain 8 keynote Lectures prepared by experts in the field, including the 5th James K. Mitchell Lecture presented by Dr. Peter K. Robertson, and 4 Workshop Lectures and 217 technical papers from 40 different countries. Geotechnical and Geophysical Site Characterization 4 will be much of interest to academics, engineers and professionals involved in Geotechnical Engineering.

 

 

 

Earthquake Engineering: From Engineering Seismology to Performance-Based Engineering by Yousef Bozorgnia and Vitelmo V. Bertero

ISBN: 9780849314391

Publication Date: 2004

This multi-contributor book provides comprehensive coverage of earthquake engineering problems, an overview of traditional methods, and the scientific background on recent developments. It discusses computer methods on structural analysis and provides access to the recent design methodologies and serves as a reference for both professionals and researchers involved in earthquake engineering. With an entire chapter dedicated to seismic resistant design through supplemental damping and structural control, this volume includes important advances in the characteristics of earthquake ground motions, behavior and design of structures, seismic design of non-structural systems, and more.

 

Recent Technologies for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction: Sustainable Community Resilience & Responses by Praveen Kumar Rai, Prafull Singh, Varun Narayan Mishra

ISBN: 9783030761158

Publication Date: 2021

This book explains to governments, decision makers and disaster professionals the potential uses of recent technologies for disaster monitoring and risk reduction based on the knowledge and experience of prominent experts/researchers in the relevant fields. It discusses the application of recent technological developments for emerging disaster risks in today's societies and deliberates on the various aspects of disaster risk reduction strategies, especially through sustainable community resilience and responses. This book consists of selected invited papers on disaster management, which focus on community resilience and responses towards disaster risk reduction based on experiences, and closely examines the coordinated research activities involving all stakeholders, especially the communities at risk. Many regions of the world and aspects of disaster risk and its management are covered. It is described how recent technologies will support better understanding and action to reduce the number and impact of disasters in future. The principal audience for this book is researchers, urban planners, policy makers, as well as students.

Geological/Geophysical Disasters by Richard Guthrie

ISBN: 9048186994

Publication Date: 2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

References

Guthrie, Richard. 2013. "Geological/Geophysical Disasters." In Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards, edited by Peter T. Bobrowsky, 387-400. Dordrecht: Springer Netherlands.

Leake Jennie. 2012. Geophysical Engineering. New Delhi: World Technologies.

Mat, Mahmut. "Geophysics." GeoScience. Posted April 23, 2023. https://geologyscience.com/geology-branches/geophysics/?amp.

 

 

On July 24, 2023, the U.N. General Assembly proclaimed August 11 as World Steelpan Day, acknowledging that Steelpan promotes inclusive societies, sustainable communities and the creative economy and can positively impact mental health and well-being, gender equality and youth empowerment.

In commemoration of World Steelpan Day, the Alma Jordan Library, in collaboration with the Faculty of Engineering, invite you to visit the Alma Jordan Library to view an interactive display showcasing the innovative developments in Steelpan by the Faculty of Engineering. This exhibition will run from August 11 to September 15.

Engineering Innovations: G-Pan and the Percussive Harmonic Instrument

• Genesis Pan (G-Pan)

The G-Pan was unveiled in 2007; unlike the traditional pan made from oil drums, the G-Pan is made of durable, high-grade steel sheets (Smith 2012, 141-142). In 2007, under the leadership of Emeritus Professor Brian Copeland, PhD, the Genesis Steelband Project Team was awarded the Chaconia Gold Medal. 

•  Percussive Harmonic Instrument (P.H.I.)

It looks like a steelpan, sounds like a steelpan, and travels like a tenor pan, but the PHI is no steelpan. PHI stands for Percussive Harmonic Instrument and is more akin to an electronic synthesizer, so why does this new instrument have this strong pan character? Click here to learn more about this latest development to emerge from the Steelpan Research Lab of the Faculty of Engineering.

Selected E-Resources

Steel Drums and Steelbands by Angela Smith

ISBN: 9780810883420

Publication Date: 2012

Steel Drums and Steelbands: A History is a vivid account of the events that led to the "accidental" invention of the steel drum: the only acoustic musical instrument invented in the 20th century. Angela Smith walks readers through the evolution of the steel drum from an object of scorn and tool of violence to one of the most studied, performed, and appreciated musical instruments today. Smith explores the development of the modern steelband, from its roots in African slavery in early Trinidad to the vast array of experiments itechnological innovation and to the current explosion of steelbands in American schools.

 

 

TTS 412:2015, Steelpan – Terminology by Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards

Publication Date: 2015

This Standard defines common terms that are unique to the steelpan industry. It includes terms related to: instruments; manufacturing; personnel and performance; and accessories and facilities. 

The Steelpan as a tool to incite interest in Engineering Education by S. E. Maloney

Publication Date: 2021

There is an economic imperative to increase the level of innovative activities in developed and developing countries. Universities have been encouraged to increase the number of science and technology graduates. One of the approaches used by universities is the encouragement of minority students, in particular, Black African- American and African-Caribbean students into undergraduate engineering. However, to realize the potential of these students, programs need to build understanding of engineering principles in a manner that appeal to multiple learning styles. The steelpan, a percussion instrument invented in Trinidad and Tobago, can provide a possible solution. The steelpan also known as the pan or steel drum is produced by creatively deforming metal sheet. The pan is a unique musical device and offers an opportunity to teach engineering concepts using an instrument that is a part of the cultural heritage of some of these students. The technology of the steelpan is multidisciplinary and requires knowledge in the areas of materials science, production processes, acoustics, vibrations and music. By decomposing the production of the instrument into these underlying bodies of knowledge, it provides an ideal opportunity to explain and demonstrate engineering principles at low cost.

The Absence of Standardization of Mid-range Steelpan Instruments and its effects on steelpan players in Trinidad and Tobago by Garcia, Nicholan

Publication Date: 2021

 

Experimental Investigations into Manufacturing Processes Used to Produce Musical Steel Drums by Winston G. Lewis and Aaron O. Ameerali

Publication Date: 2010

This paper explores innovative manufacturing processes, which can be used to manufacture the national musical instrument of Trinidad and Tobago, the Musical Steel Drum or Steelpan. The main manufacturing process used today is the manual or Handforming technique. In order to achieve more consistent and deeper formed components while maintaining the high quality of the instrument, it is proposed that the Marforming process and the Flowforming process, an adaptation of the Spinforming process be used to replace the traditional Handforming method. Experimental investigations using the Flowforming or Spinforming and Marforming processes proved to be promising in achieving the required strain distribution of the formed component. Evaluation took the form of strain analyses of preformed steel drums. It was found that the Marformed components had the smallest range of % strain values while the Spinformed components had the largest range.

References   

Smith, Angela. 2012. Steel Drums and Steelbands. Blue Ridge Summit: The Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group. 

The University of the West Indies. 2009. “Why PHI?: This Latest Synthesizer Is Worth Its Weight.” UWI Today, September 27.  https://sta.uwi.edu/uwitoday/archive/september_2009/article6.asp.

UN (United Nations). n.d. “World Steelpan Day: 11 August.” Accessed August 11, 2023. https://www.un.org/en/observances/steelpan-day.

This blog post was written by Ranessa Austin, UWI MLIS Intern.

Astronomy is the study of everything beyond the Earth’s atmosphere, including the Sun, Moon, stars, galaxies, planets far beyond our solar system, and other outer space components (Ology, n.d.). Regarded as one of the oldest scientific disciplines, astronomy has been used for centuries by various cultures to create calendars, for navigation by the stars, and to make predictions for agricultural practices. Many ancient civilisations relied on the position of the stars and planets as a basis for their religious and cultural beliefs, regarding these objects in the sky with great reverence. Many millennia after this, with the invention of the telescope and space travel, modern research studies the galaxies in new ways.

Building on the work of those that came before them and with the development of new technology, modern astronomers study four main classes of astronomy Astrophysics, Astrometry, Astrogeology and Astrobiology, which are broken down into up to seventeen branches of astronomy, including but not limited to, cosmology, asteroseismology, planetology, aerology, exobiology and astrochemistry. No longer are astronomers limited in their scope to use the stars and planets to influence what we do on Earth; now, they focus on understanding the complexities of other planets, stars, and galaxies beyond our own and our universe. Many discoveries have been made to form the basis for new ideas and technological advancements we see today.

The Staff of the Engineering Division at the Alma Jordan Library has mounted a display highlighting the study of astronomy and its modern-day applications. Stop by and browse the books on display, and remember... all the books on display are available for checkout.

Selected E-books on Astronomy

Fundamentals of Astronomy by Cesare Barbieri; Ivano Bertini

ISBN: 9781000223767

Publication Date: 2020-11-24

Providing a broad overview of foundational concepts, this second edition of Fundamentals of Astronomy covers topics ranging from spherical astronomy to reference systems, and celestial mechanics to astronomical photometry and spectroscopy.

Astronomy and Planetary Science: from Cryovolcanism to Black Holes and Galactic Evolution by Chemin, Yann-Henri (editor)

ISBN: 9781803561196

Publication Date: 2022

The decades ahead of us promise the enhancement of our understanding of the Sun, the planets, the stars, black holes, and all other astronomical objects in our universe. This book discusses such topics as extra-galactic radio sources, unified models of black hole accretion, wave propagation theory, cryovolcanism in the solar system, and the early oceans of Earth.

Astrogeology - Gaither's Dictionary of Scientific Quotations by Carl C. Gaither (Editor); Alma E. Cavazos-Gaither (Editor)

ISBN: 9781461411130

Publication Date: 2012-01-04

This unprecedented collection of 27,000 quotations is the most comprehensive and carefully researched of its kind, covering all fields of science and mathematics.  With this vast compendium, you can readily conceptualise and embrace the written images of scientists, laymen, politicians, novelists, playwrights, and poets about humankind's scientific achievements. 

Introduction to Planetary Science by Gunter Faure; Teresa M. Mensing

ISBN: 9781402055447

Publication Date: 2007-05-04

This textbook details basic principles of planetary science that help to unify the study of the solar system. It is organized in a hierarchical manner so that every chapter builds upon preceding ones. Starting with historical perspectives on space exploration and the development of the scientific method, the book leads the reader through the solar system. Coverage explains that the origin and subsequent evolution of planets and their satellites can be explained by applications of certain basic principles of physics, chemistry, and celestial mechanics and that surface features of the solid bodies can be interpreted by principles of geology.

Encyclopedia of the History of Astronomy and Astrophysics by David Leverington

ISBN: 9780521899949

Publication Date: 2013-05-20

This comprehensive Encyclopedia covers the full history of astronomy from its ancient origins in Africa, South America, the Middle East and China to the latest developments in astrophysics and space-based research. The initial articles, which are largely organised chronologically, are followed by numerous thematic historical articles on the constituents of the Solar System, types of stars, stellar evolution, active galaxies, cosmology and much more.

Astrophysics Is Easy! by Mike Inglis

ISBN: 9781852338909

Publication Date: 2007-09-17

Astrophysics is often - with some justification - regarded as incomprehensible without at least degree-level mathematics. Consequently, many amateur astronomers skip the math, and miss out on the fascinating fundamentals of the subject. In Astrophysics Is Easy Mike Inglis takes a quantitative approach to astrophysics that cuts through the incomprehensible mathematics, and explains the basics of astrophysics in accessible terms. The reader can view objects under discussion with commercial amateur equipment.

Practical Statistics for Astronomers by J. V. Wall; C. R. Jenkins

ISBN: 9780521732499

Publication Date: 2012-04-26

Astronomy needs statistical methods to interpret data, but statistics is a many-faceted subject that is difficult for non-specialists to access. This handbook helps astronomers analyze the complex data and models of modern astronomy. This second edition has been revised to feature many more examples using Monte Carlo simulations, and now also includes Bayesian inference, Bayes factors and Markov chain Monte Carlo integration. Chapters cover basic probability, correlation analysis, hypothesis testing, Bayesian modelling, time series analysis, luminosity functions and clustering. Exercises at the end of each chapter guide readers through the techniques and tests necessary for most observational investigations.

References

Earth How. 2022. “17 Branches of Astronomy.” Last updated May 12, 2022. https://earthhow.com/what-is-astronomy/.

National Geographic Society. 2021. “How Ancient Astronomy Mixed Science with Mythology.” Nat Geo Explores video, 7:36. February 10, 2021. www.nationalgeographic.com/history/article/how-ancient-astronomy-mixed-science-with-mythology. 

OLogy. n.d. “What Is Astronomy?” American Museum of Natural History.  Accessed July 21, 2023. www.amnh.org/explore/ology/astronomy/what-is-astronomy.

World Metrology Day is an annual observance held on May 20th to commemorate the signing of the Metre Convention in 1875. The Metre Convention established the International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM) and laid the foundation for the global measurement system known as the International System of Units (SI).

Metrology plays a crucial role in various fields such as industry, trade, health, and the environment. The theme of World Metrology Day 2023 focuses on measurements supporting the global food system. This theme was chosen because of the increasing challenges of climate change, and global distribution of food in a world whose population reached 8 billion at the end of 2022. Providing access to safe and affordable food remains one of the major challenges for governments worldwide. Dr Martin Milton, Director of the BIPM and Mr Anthony Donnellan, Director of the BIML highlight in their World Metrology Day Message some of the many measurement challenges that must be addressed to make the global food system work. For example:

• the quantity of food bought and sold is measured according to its mass or volume. These measurements range from the large volumes of grain and wheat traded internationally down to rapid online weighing measurements to ensure pre-packaged goods are labelled correctly;
• the effective storage and packaging of food depends on the accurate control of the temperature and humidity of its storage environment;
• the quality and authenticity of food is determined by measuring its chemical composition. This requires measurements to ensure that it contains the stated levels of vitamins through to measurements of its isotopic composition to validate the origin of high-value foods such as honey or wine; and
• the safety of food is ensured by careful measurement to detect the presence of chemical contamination such as pesticide residues and heavy metals or biological contamination such as mycotoxins.

Click here to read World Metrology Day Message

To commemorate World Metrology Day 2023, the staff of the Engineering Division at the Alma Jordan Library mounted a display on the importance of measurement in the global food system. Stop by and browse the books on display, and remember... all the books on display are available for check out.

Additional readings and information on Metrology:

Mattarozzi, Monica, Eleni Laski, Alessandro Bertucci, Marco Giannetto, Federica Bianchi, Claudia Zoani, and Maria Careri. 2023. "Metrological traceability in process analytical technologies and point-of-need technologies for food safety and quality control: not a straightforward issue." Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry 415 (1): 119-135. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00216-022-04398-5.

Ogrinc, Nives, Andrea Mario Rossi, Francesca Durbiano, Roland Becker, Mojca Milavec, Alexandra Bogožalec Košir, Elias Kakoulides, Hayrettin Ozer, Fatma Akçadag, Heidi Goenaga-Infante, Milena Quaglia, Silvia Mallia, Gisela Umbricht, Gavin O'Connor, and Bernd Guettler. 2021. "Support for a European metrology network on food safety Food-MetNet." Measurement: Sensors 18: 100285. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.measen.2021.100285.

Metrology in Trinidad and Tobago

World Metrology Day 2023 Message from Dr Martin Milton, BIPM Director

Every year on April 22nd, stakeholders of all backgrounds come together to advance sustainability and climate action in commemoration of Earth Day. This year, the theme “Invest In Our Planet”, highlights the importance of dedicating time, resources, and energy to solving climate change and other environmental issues. Investing in our planet is necessary to protect it and the best way to pave a path towards a prosperous future. To learn more about Earth Day, visit https://www.earthday.org/earth-day-2023/

To commemorate Earth Day 2023, the staff of the Engineering, Food, Agriculture, Science and Technology Divisions at the Alma Jordan Library mounted a special display of books on climate change, environmental issues, and renewable energy. The books provide an opportunity for some supplemental reading on this topical issue. Stop by and browse the books on display, and remember... all the books on display are available for check out.
 

Selected eBooks