LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (STA): Locating

Locating: Introduction

Many institutions (academic or other) have joined the open education movement and have developed online collections, repositories and other tools to enable the discovery of and access to open educational resources (OER).

This page profiles a selection of resources for locating open access textbooks. For the purposes of this Guide, discovery tools include open textbooks, as well as other educational resources.

Page contents: Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) | Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) | More Discovery Tools | More Textbooks | Additional Books

If you are in need of assistance, do Ask a Librarian.

Locating: Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)

About MOM
more...less...
Emanating from George Mason University (GMU), MOM simultaneously searches across 20+ sources, including some of the resources listed on this page, for open educational materials.

Locating: Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS)

About OASIS
more...less...
Developed at the State University of New York (SUNY) Geneseo's Milne Library, Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) currently searches 90+ sources, including some of the resources listed on this page, for open access materials.

Locating: More Discovery Tools

eCampus Ontario Open Library
Subjects covered: Business & Management, Computing & IT, Earth & the Environment, Health & Development, History, Language & Linguistics, Law, Literature, Mathematics & Science, Medicine & Nursing, Philosophy & Religion, Reference, Society & Social Sciences, Technology & Engineering, and The Arts.
more...less...
An Open Publishing Infrastructure Project (eCampusOntario and Ryerson University), the Open Library includes 350+ resources, including open access textbooks, some of which have been reviewed by educators and experts.
MERLOT II
Subjects covered: Academic Support Services, Arts, Business, Education, Humanities, Mathematics & Statistics, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Workforce Development.
more...less...
A "program of the California State University System partnering with education institutions, professional societies, and industry," the MERLOT Collection consists of 40,000+ materials (various material types), including open access textbooks. MERLOT materials are reviewed annually for continued inclusion in the collection (and many materials even undergo peer review).
OER Commons
Subjects covered: Applied Science, Arts & Humanities, Business & Communication, Car & Technical Education, Education, English Language Arts, History, Law, Life Science, Mathematics, Physical Science, and Social Science
more...less...
OER Commons is "a public digital library of open educational resources." Open access textbooks are amongst the range of materials included in the resource.
The Orange Grove
Subjects covered: Business & Consumer Science, Communication & Information, Education, Engineering & Technology, Health Science, Humanities, Mathematics, Professional, Career & Technical, Science, Social Science, and Visual & Performing Arts.
more...less...
Florida's Open Educational Resource Repository, The Orange Grove contains a range of resources for varying academic levels, including open textbooks for higher education.
Teaching Commons
Subjects covered: Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Engineering, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine & Health Sciences, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
more...less...
Hosted on the Bepress platform, Teaching Commons contains open educational resources, including open access textbooks, from higher education institutions across the globe.

Locating: More Textbooks

BCcampus OpenEd
Subjects covered: Academic/Career Success, Adult Basic Education, Art & Design, Biological/Physical Sciences, Business, Communication/Writing, Computer Science, Earth & Ocean Sciences, Education, Engineering, Health & Medical, Hospitality/Tourism, Humanities, Language Learning, Law/Criminal Justice, Math/Stats, Social Sciences, Support Resources, and Trades.
more...less...
Funded by the Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training, British Columbia, the BCcampus OpenEd collection includes 300+ open textbooks.
LibreText
Subjects covered: Biology, Business, Chemistry, Engineering, Español, Geosciences, Humanities, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Social Sciences, Statistics, and Workforce.
more...less...
A multi-institution initiative, LibreText includes 390+ open textbooks, textmaps, and LibreTexts.
Lyryx Open Textbooks
Subjects covered: Business, Economics, Mathematics, and Statistics.
Online Textbooks -- MIT OpenCourseWare
Subjects covered: Aeronautics & Astronautics, Architecture, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Earth, Atmospheric, & Planetary Sciences, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, Engineering Systems Division, Global Studies & Languages, Health Sciences & Technology, Data, Systems, & Society, Management, Materials Science & Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Media Arts & Sciences, Nuclear Science & Engineering, and Physics.
more...less...
A web-based publication of "virtually all MIT course content", MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) includes, amongst other material, open-licensed electronic versions of print books and self-published online books.
OpenStax
Subjects covered: Math, Science, Social Sciences, Humanities, Business, Essentials, and College Success.
more...less...
Part of Rice University, OpenStax includes open peer-reviewed textbooks in a range of disciplines.
Open SUNY
Subjects covered: Academic Writing, Anthropology, Biology, Business Ethics, Career, Cinema & Film, Culture, Education, Engineering, English, Ethics, Gender Studies & Women's Studies, Governance, Health & Healthcare, Information Literacy, Law, Leadership, Literature, Mathematics, Medicine & Pharmacy, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Psychology, Scholarly Writing, Science, Social Work, Statistics, Student Success, and Teaching.
more...less...
A State University of New York libraries initiative, the Open SUNY collection includes open textbooks in a range of disciplines.
Open Textbook Library
Subjects covered: Accounting & Finance, Business, Computer Science & Information Systems, Economics, Education, Engineering, Humanities, Journalism, Media Studies & Communications, Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, and Student Success.
more...less...
Supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network, the Open Textbook Library includes open access textbooks in a range of disciplines.

Locating: Additional Books

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Directory of Open Access Books is a collaboration of OAPEN, OpenEdition, CNRS and Aix-Marseille Université. It currently contains 27,000+ academic peer-reviewed books from 370+ publishers.