UWIScholar: UWIScholar FAQ

1. What is UWIScholar? 

UWIScholar is an online platform managed by Campus Libraries of The University of the West Indies (UWI) to highlight the research and expertise of faculty and staff across The UWI Campuses. It captures bio data, research activities projects, publications, courses taught, affiliations and links to social media accounts of researchers. 

2. What are the benefits of UWIScholar? 

UWIScholar is all the following: 

a. A searchable experts database, therefore, it serves as a resource for funders looking for experts in a particular field and it also facilitates networking across The UWI campuses. 

b. Bibliographic database of the research activities of UWI researchers, researchers can add the URLs to their full-text publications to their UWIScholar Scholar. 

c. UWIScholar is a resource to highlight UWI researchers since UWIScholar profiles are indexed by all the major search engines. 

d. It serves as a centralised database of biodata of The UWI faculty across all the campuses. 

3. How do I register for UWIScholar? 

Creating a UWIScholar account is simple. Check out the instructions here. 

4. Why do I need a UWIScholar account? 

A UWIScholar account allows researchers to update their profiles with their research activities and achievements. In addition, a UWIScholar account is required to apply for Ethics Approval at all the UWI Campuses as well as for funding from the Research and Publications Fund. 

Contact Information for Research Ethics 

5. I am a new member of faculty; how do I create a profile in UWIScholar? 

You may visit the UWIScholar homepage and register. After registering, you will receive a username and password. Login into UWIScholar and populate the profile and upload a photo.  As a registered user you can edit your profile as well. You may find more detailed instructions here on creating your profile. 

6. Who can add research to UWIScholar? 

All faculty and senior administrative staff of the University of the West Indies Campuses can create a profile in UWIScholar to populate with their research activities. 

7. Why should I add my research activities in UWIScholar? 

By creating a profile and updating your scholarly output in UWIScholar, it increases the visibility of your research and highlights the research and expertise of faculty at The UWI to external funders, researchers at other universities, stakeholders, and colleagues at other UWI Campus. 

8. How do I revise a submission to UWIScholar? 

Once you have created a profile in UWIScholar, you may edit your profile information. Simply click on the edit button, enter your changes, and save. 

9. What kind of content can I upload to UWIScholar? 

UWIScholar can feature all scholarly activities which include articles in peer review journals, newsletters, conferences presentations, technical reports, podcasts, videos and book chapters. 

10. What about copyright? 

Authors retain copyright of all their work. Only your bibliographic information can be viewed in UWIScholar. However, in some cases the links to the full-text articles may be added.  

11. Whom do I contact if I have general questions about UWIScholar? 

For questions about UWIScholar contact your faculty liaison librarian or a member of the UWIScholar Administration Team. 

12. What to do if I have technical problems with UWScholar? 

For technical assistance contact 1-868-662-2002 Ext. 82254 or UWIScholar@sta.uwi.edu 

13. How do I know when my UWIScholar account is approved? 

You would receive an email when your account is approved by the UWIScholar Team. If you don’t receive an email within 36 hours after registering, please contact the UWIScholar Team. 

You can check the archiving policies of journals you have published with by searching the SHERPA/ROMEO database.