Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Submit Content to UWIScholar - STEP 1
You can add content to UWIScholar by following these two steps:
STEP 1: log into your account
- Logging in to your account
- When prompted to Sign In, enter the UWI email address associated with your UWIScholar account and your password. If you do not know your password, click on Forget your password? You will be taken to a page that will allow you to reset your password.
- Once you have logged in to your account, you will have access to the site management tools which will allow you to upload content and build your Researcher Profile in the Scholar Module
GO TO STEP 2
Input Guidelines for Contributors
Information required for all the areas of interest on the navigation pane are described in detail below:
- Bio Information. Add biodata in this area. Enter researcher’s name (e.g. John Allen Davis), contact information, personal website, current position, faculty/department/campus affiliation and brief biography. Upload a photograph if an image is available (for students entering data please validate photograph to ensure that photo matches the researcher that the profile is being created for). For all submissions: Please note that this field will be pre-populated with profile data uploaded from PeopleSoft & Banner systems. Review and edit/add data as required. Drop down menus are available to select data for the following fields: Prefix, Campus, Department, Faculty and Employment Status.
To edit content in this field, click on the EDIT button, add and save content.
- Research Interests. In this area add broad subject or topics of research interests. For example, Environmental Science, Chemistry, Engineering. Separate entries by pressing the ENTER Tab. Enter the information in title case.
- Research Activity. In this field, enter information on all scholarly works/publications. Information in this field includes all formats for published and unpublished works: books, journal articles, theses, codes, datasets, photographs, paintings, movie clips etc. Where applicable, add a URL link to the FULL-TEXT of the work. To determine if adding full-text is allowed under the publisher's copyright policies, search the SHERPA/RoMEO database on publishers' policies on copyright and self-archiving. The SHERPA/RoMEO database is available here:
Input Guidelines for Contributors - Part 3
- Memberships. In this area add listing of memberships in professional organisations/associations. For example: The Human Resource Management Association of Trinidad and Tobago (HRMATT), 1997-2017. Also, add the URL link to the organization.
- Courses Lectured: In this field add data on current and past courses taught. Include course codes, description of course and keywords if this information is available. For example: LAW 1230 – Legal Methods, Research and Writing.
- Grants and Funding: In this area add information on research grants, scholarships and other funding received and the funding organisation. Add descriptive information on the monetary allocation and collaboration with other UWI Researchers.
How to Submit Content to UWIScholar - STEP 2
- Contributor’s Guide - Guide to Building your Scholar Profile
Consider your Curriculum Vitae (CV) as the primary source document to obtain information to populate fields when building a profile. Additional content can be sourced from secondary resources such as The UWI website, the Faculty/Department website, UWISpace, ResearchGate, LinkedIn and Google Scholar.
To begin the process of adding data to create a Scholar Profile follow these steps:
- From the UWIScholar homepage: https://uwischolar.sta.uwi.edu/ click on MY PROFILE (found on the main menu at the top of the page). This is the Scholar Profile page where you enter data on Bio Information, Research Interests, Research Activities, Public Service, Consultancies, Education and Training, Awards, Memberships, Supervision, Courses Lectured, Grants and Funding, In the News, Social Media, Identity, and Other Activities.
- To enter information into the Scholar Profile template for a specific area of interest:
- highlight the area on interest (for example Research Activities) on the left navigation pane
- on the screen which appears select [CLICK HERE]
- the online submission form (template) for the area selected appears on the next screen. Add metadata to complete the form.
- To edit content for existing data, click on the data or EDIT tab and edit as required.
Input Guidelines for Contributors - Part 2
Tips for entering data in the Research Activity area:
- Search for full-text articles on the following platforms: UWISpace - (always search UWISpace as the first resource for full-text), The UWI’s website, faculty/department website, ResearchGate, Google Scholar.
- Use batch upload (Excel spreadsheet) to reduce manual data entry
- Batch import citations using Bibtex format (see separate documentation on this procedure)
- Public Service. Add description of public service (provision of services for civic and other organisations, voluntary work) in this area. For example: Treasurer, Association of Professional Engineers of Trinidad and Tobago (APETT) – (2018- Present).
- Consultancies. Enter descriptive information on consultancies in this field. It is important to add the names of other UWI collaborators engaged in the same consultancy. In this area information on research projects (output, affiliation, funding/grants, agreements, status reports, datasets, research assistants) can also be added.
- Education and Training. Add information on education and professional training. For example, Bachelor/Masters/Ph.D programmes as well as certificates and diplomas obtained. Include programme title, institution, year started/ended and other descriptive/notable information such as awards/distinctions received. For example: Ph.D Computer Science, Boston University, Boston, United States of America (1995-1999).
- Awards. Add information on the title of the awards received (public awards, academic scholarships and other notable achievements) and the date (s) received. For example: Fulbright IIE Foreign Student Programme, 2007.
Input Guidelines for Contributors - Part 4
- In The News. In this field add information on the Researcher as highlighted in local, regional and international media (print and online). Include additional authors if collaborative work. Include the URL to full-text of article if this is available.
- Social Media: Use the drop down menu to add information on social platforms the Researcher has an active presence on. This includes popular platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, You Tube, Instagram, Snapchat, Flickr. Add information on other academic platforms (ResearchGate, Academia.edu, Google Scholar) using the OTHER option. Add URL links to all platforms identified.
- Other Activities. Here, enter miscellaneous information (secondary email, alternate telephone contact) as required.