POSTGRADUATE STUDENTS, MONA: ESSENTIALS: THE LIBRARY

Use UWIlinC to find resources in all formats including UWI's intellectual output, subscribed resources (electronic journals, databases, electronic books) and the catalogues for all four UWI campuses.

SEARCH UWILinC  CLICK HERE

Learn how to use UWILinC, specifically learn how to find hardcopy books on our shelves; learn how to find e-books and journal articles online 24/7.

The Library's hardcopy collection is organised and shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification system.  This helps our clients to find one book among thousands. Each book has a "call number" which is on a label on the book. e.g. the label may begin with the letter "J" which represents "Political Science."

Here is an example of a call number --- JF1351 .O94  the number for The Oxford Handbook of Public Management.  

CLASS J - POLITICAL SCIENCE (selection)

JA     Political science (General)
JC     Political theory
Read all signs carefully, read the Library's web pages thoroughly.

e.g.

A Journal of Representative Politics (Oxford University Press) JN101.P3
Open Shelf, Main Library (top floor)

Perspectives on Politics (American Political Science Association) JA1 .P485
Open Shelf, Main Library (top floor)

N.B. Most of our journals are online and accessible through UWIlinC & the subscrption databases :           LOG IN

These are housed in the West Indian & Special Collections. Bring a pencil, no pens allowed. You will be able to read these e.g.

• A History of Barbados' Foreign Policy, 1966 to 1988, Ricardo Trevor Leroy Kellman. 2011

From ProQuest Central database.

SAMPLE:  LOG IN

• Broadcast on the Winds: Diasporic Politics in the Age of Garvey, 1919--1940
  Ewing, Adam. Harvard University, 2011
   
• Dispatches from the frontline: The 1981 Brixton riots and the restructuring of black British identity
  Gray, Donna E. University of Maryland. 2009
   
• Staying Connected to Home: The Use of Social Media by the Howard University English-Speaking Caribbean Student Diaspora. 
  Caruth, Roger. Howard University. 2013

• Haitian immigrants and their descendants (HIDs): Cultural expression issues and challenges in Cuba and the Dominican Republic
  Pereira, Emmanuel. The Florida State University. 2013

• Community violence in Trinidad and Tobago: Government inaction, drug blocks, and resident survival
  Adams, Ericka. University of Illinois at Chicago. 2010

HARDCOPY: These are in the MERIC room, on the groundfloor. Don't overlook them!   Some are on the "open shelves" upstairs, top floor, in Reading Room II. A UWIlinC search will indicate the "Location."

• The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations Graham Evans Jeffrey Newnham 

• The Oxford Handbook of Public Management / edited by Ewan Ferlie, Laurence E. Lynn, Jr. and Christopher Pollitt.

• The Penguin biographical dictionary of women.

• The Oxford Handbook of Strategy : a strategy overview and competitive strategy / edited by David O. Faulkner and Andrew Campbell.

​

N.B. Most of our journals are
online and accessible through UWIlinC 
& the Subscrption Databases  (UWI subscribes, no need to pay)
          
YOU MUST 
LOG IN WHEN OFF-CAMPUS

• Use UWILinC and search in the Articles by Subject box.
• e.g. Choose  a broad search term e.g. Caribbean Politics,  then filter by "Peer-reviewed Journals"  and filter again by "Full-Text Online"
• Additional keywords may be used.  The result will be fewer results.
    
• Use UWILinC and search in the Articles by Subject box.