LibGuides: Library Guide: Language, Linguistics &amp; Philosophy: Databases

List of Databases

Introduction to UWIlinC

UWIlinC brings together UWI information resources from across the English-speaking Caribbean in all formats including UWI's intellectual output, subscribed resources (electronic journals, databases, electronic books) and the catalogues for all four UWI campuses.

Databases to help with Language, Linguistics & Philosophy

ABI/INFORM Complete (XML) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
Academic Research Library (XML) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Description: This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings.
ACADEMIC SEARCH ULTIMATE - EBSCO (STA) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. We build platforms and instructional materials that enable the flexible configuration of content, technology and services for the purpose of connecting learners, faculty and teachers, librarians and publishers. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest XML) This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997
UWISPACE: THE UNIVERSITY OF THE WEST INDIES INSTITUTIONAL REPOSITORY FOR RESEARCH AND SCHOLARSHIP) (STA) This link opens in a new window
UWISpace is the institutional repository for The University of the West Indies (UWI). This online platform captures, preserves and provides online access to the scholarly/intellectual output of all UWI campuses.
View this video on how to access it.
The repository supports publications in all formats (monographs, articles, presentations, data sets, pre-prints and post prints, learning objects, videos and images). Authors retain copyright of all works submitted to UWISpace. Examples of collections include theses and dissertations produced by students of The UWI and special collections such as the Michael Goldberg postcard collection and BBC Archive housed at the St. Augustine Campus. Content is being added on an ongoing basis by all UWI campuses to the repository.
Web of Science -ISI This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index expanded with 5 years backfiles. It also includes access Journal Citation Report and Essential Science Indicators.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections. The UWI library has access to the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Business, and Language & Literature Collections.

Immigration

Related Library Guides for Databases

Using Credo Reference for Your Reference Searches
by Alicia Palmer Last Updated May 28, 2021 62 views this year

EndNote 20
by Shamin Renwick Last Updated Nov 19, 2024 1205 views this year

HOW TO AVOID PLAGIARISM
by Karlene Robinson Last Updated May 9, 2024 95 views this year

UWIScholar
by Marsha Winter Last Updated Mar 30, 2024 344 views this year

Ask Mona Virtual Reference Service

Ask a Librarian Virtual Reference Service FAQ

Ask a Librarian Virtual Reference Service