Books. Academic books, such as textbooks, are in most instances written by experts in the pertinent field and are therefore considered reliable sources. Such books undergo a quality process at publishers where one or more editors manage the publication of the book and give recommendations on what can be improved.
Tel: (876) 927-2592, (876) 977-0640
Mobile/WhatsApp: (876) 395-0170
Email: fsocsci@uwimona.edu.jm
Click here for the link to the Mona School of Business & Management
Click here for the link to; Faculty of Social Sciences
Click here for the link to UWI Social Sciences Hand Book Management Studies Major (go to page 88)
Organizational Behavior by
Robbins/Judge provides the research you want, written in reader-friendly language and accompanied with the best-selling self-assessment software, SAL. What Is Organizational Behavior?; Foundations of Individual Behavior; Attitudes and Job Satisfaction; Personality and Values; Perception and Individual Decision Making; Motivation Concepts; Motivation: From Concepts to Applications; Emotions and Moods; Foundations of Group Behavior; Understanding Work Teams; Communication; Basic Approaches to Leadership; Contemporary Issues in Leadership; Power and Politics; Conflict and Negotiation; Foundations of Organization Structure; Organizational Culture; Human Resource Policies and Practices; Organizational Change and Stress Management; Globally accepted and written by one of the most foremost authors in the field, this is a necessary read for all managers, human resource workers, and anyone needing to understand and improve their people skills.
Strategic Management by
The 9th edition of Strategic Management offers comprehensive coverage of all the core areas of business strategy with a strong global perspective. Key features: Balanced coverage of prescriptive and emergent models of strategic management. Application of strategic theory to new areas including technology and innovation strategy, sustainability and green strategy, entrepreneurial strategy and public sector strategy. Major revisions to chapters on Strategic Purpose, Knowledge and Networks, Theories of Entrepreneurship and International and Global Strategy in line with key developments. 20 brand new cases and updated case material throughout exploring the shifting economic fortunes of companies around the world, the rise of developing nations and rapid changes in communications and technology including the impact of the Corona virus. Range of tools within the book and online to support your learning including key strategic principles, strategic project ideas, critical reflections, questions and further reading. Richard Lynch is Emeritus Professor of Strategic Management at Middlesex University, London.
Strategic Management 7th Edition by 
Human Resource Management by
This classic, readable book does the best job at covering the current issues within HRM, and provides a complete, comprehensive review of essential personnel management concepts and techniques. Considering the intensely competitive nature of business today, this book focuses on practical applications that all managers can use to deal with their HR-related responsibilities, while being able to defend their plans and contributions in measurable terms. A five-part format begins with an introduction, and then covers recruitment and placement, training and development, compensation, and labor relations and employee security. For all human resource personnel and managers.
Human Resource Management by
This market-leading text takes a pragmatic approach emphasizing the strategic role of human resources. Comprehensive, research-based coverage includes all major topics identified on the Human Resource Certification Institutes Content Outline. Coverage includes a global chapter, expanded coverage of diversity, new material on performance management, and current hot topics such as self-directed work teams, shamrock organization, broadbanding, competency-based pay systems, job security, violence in the workplace, and how organizational commitment affects production, quality, and service.
Principles of Marketing by
'Principles of Marketing' is organized around an innovative customer-value and customer-relationship framework.
Principles of Marketing by
Brassington and Pettitt's Principles of Marketing has proven to be hugely popular with first-time marketing students - leading them painlessly through their course from basic principles such as 'what product should I market?' to more specialised topics such as 'Relationship Marketing'. This comprehensive 4th edition combines the freshness that people love with new and updated cases and now it is set apart from other Principles texts with an unrivalled media package that is fully integrated with the book. The book is essential for undergraduate, postgraduate and post-experience students undertaking introductory marketing courses or modules. Its depth also makes it useful as support reading on specialist courses and modules, such as integrated marketing communications.
Business Law by
With its real-world business-orientated approach, Business Law has been fully updated in line with the Companies Act 2006, and also streamlined to address the needs of today's student of this fascinating and fast-moving subject. Providing a salient introduction to law in a business context, this is a valuable learning companion.
Business Law, 4th edition by
Business Law provides a comprehensive and thought-provoking introduction to all areas of the law as they relate to business. Its engaging style supported by well designed learning aids encourages appreciation of the relevance of the law to everyday situations and to foster an understanding of how different areas of law interrelate. The new edition has been fully revised and updated to take into account the wide ranging reform introduced by the Companies Act 2006.
Making Sense of Change Management by
The definitive, bestselling text in the field of change management, Making Sense of Change Management provides a thorough overview of the subject for both students and professionals. Along with explaining the theory of change management, it comprehensively covers the models, tools, and techniques of successful change management so organizations can adapt to tough market conditions and succeed by changing their strategies, structures, boundaries, mindsets, leadership behaviours and of course their expectations of the people who work within them. This completely revised and updated 4th edition of Making Sense of Change Management includes more international examples and case studies, emerging new thinking and practice in the area of cultural change and a new chapter on the interrelationship with project management (PM) and change management. It also covers complexity models, agile approaches, and stakeholder management along with cultural sensitivity and what to do when cultures collide. Making Sense of Change Management remains essential reading for anyone who is currently part of, or leading, a change initiative. Online supporting resources include lecture slides, making this an ideal textbook for MBA or graduate students focusing on leading or managing change.
Change Management by
Based on their extensive research and work with organisations, V Nilakant and S Ramnarayan present a new model for organisational change that identifies four core tasks crucial to the success of any change initiative: appreciating change, mobilising support for change, executing change and building change capability. The authors contend that those change initiatives that do not succeed are the direct outcome of a failure to effectively manage one or more of these tasks.Simultaneously, as it warns managers against adoping simplistic recipes, Change Management also explains how organisational change is about changing the way in which people think and act. This book suggests four fundamental ways of altering the mindsets of managers: tuning to the external environment and people`s mindsets inside the organisation; influencing and persuading people and strengthening communication; constructing change initiatives on the basis of cross-functional collaboration and challenging goals; and creating positive contexts that enable people to have faith in thier own capabilities. This book argues that effective management of change is about balance--balance between short-term and long-term, profits and people , overview and detail, continuity and transformation and between the feasible and the desirable.
The Theory and Practice of Change Management by
This is a core textbook for all courses in change management. It examines all of the key theories on organizational change and applies them to organizational settings to demonstrate how strategies can be devised and employed to help manage organizational change and the issues it precipitates. Taking quite a practical approach, students are helped to apply theory to real-world scenarios through the use of experiential learning and cases. Companion Website: http://www.palgrave.com/business/hayes2/index.html
Use UWIlinC to find resources in all formats including UWI's intellectual output, subscribed resources (electronic journals, databases, electronic books) and the catalogues for all four UWI campuses.