Eric Williams Memorial Collection: Home

• The Eric Williams Memorial Collection (EWMC) is held at the Alma Jordan Library (AJL), UWI, St. Augustine.

• The EWMC consists of the Personal Papers of Trinidad & Tobago's first Prime Minister, Dr. Eric Eustace Williams, inclusive of his extensive Personal Library as well as a museum dedicated to him.

• The collection is owned and curated by Dr. Williams' daughter, Erica Williams-Connell, and managed by the UWI (via the West Indiana & Special Collections at the AJL)   

• The EWMC was opened 22nd March, 1998 and inscribed on UNESCO's International Memory of the World Register in 1999.

• Photo of the replica of Dr Williams' private study at home. Courtesy Trinidad Newsday. See Article
• The Williams' Thesis became Capitalism and Slavery and has been translated into nine (9) different languages.

Dr Williams was a world-renowned scholar and leader of the government of Trinidad and Tobago for 25 years.

.

From the left (front row): Campus Principal Prof. Compton Bourne, Honourable Prime Minister Basdeo Panday, Mrs. Erica Williams-Connell, United States Secretary of State Colin Powell.  From the left (back row) Prof. Rex Nettleford.

Eric Williams Memorial Lecture and online exhibit, Celebrating Eric Williams by the University of Texas with images supplied by the Eric Williams Memorial Collections, Alma Jordan Library.

Call 868-6622002 ext 83361, 84420 or 82243 to book appointments. 

Aisha Baptiste 

Library Assistant

Eric Williams Memorial Collection

 Aisha.baptiste@sta.uwi.edu

Dr Karen Eccles

Senior Librarian

West Indiana and Special Collections

Karen.eccles@sta.uwi.edu

Dr Lorraine Nero

Senior Librarian and Head, West Indiana and Special Collections

Lorraine.nero@sta.uwi.edu

Libguide created and maintained by Aisha Baptiste.