News & Events

As our reliance on digital technology increases, so do the risks associated with cybersecurity. For students and faculty at The UWI St Augustine Campus, understanding these risks and learning how to mitigate them is essential. This blog post will explore the importance of cybersecurity, provide practical tips, and highlight resources available at the Alma Jordan Library to help you stay safe online.

Why Cybersecurity Matters?

Cybersecurity is critical because our personal and professional lives are increasingly intertwined with digital technologies. According to Craigen, Diakun-Thibault, and Purse (2014), cybersecurity encompasses the protection of cyberspace and cyberspace-enabled systems from occurrences that misalign legal and actual property rights. This definition underscores the multidimensional nature of cybersecurity, which includes technical, organizational, economic, social, and political aspects.

Common Cyber Threats

Phishing Attacks: These attacks often involve fraudulent emails that appear to be from legitimate sources. The goal is to trick recipients into providing sensitive information, such as passwords or credit card numbers. For example, a student might receive an email that looks like it’s from their university, asking them to reset their password, only to have their information stolen.

• Malware: Malicious software designed to disrupt, damage, or gain unauthorized access to computer systems. This can include viruses, worms, and Trojan horses.
• Ransomware: A type of malware that locks users out of their systems or data, demanding a ransom to restore access. Hospitals, for instance, have been targeted, putting patients at risk.
• Social Engineering:  This tactic involves manipulating individuals into breaking normal security procedures, often by tricking them into giving away confidential information.

Tips for Enhancing Cybersecurity Awareness

• Use Strong Passwords: Create complex passwords that include a mix of letters, numbers, and symbols. Avoid using easily guessable information, such as birthdays or common words.
• Enable Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA): MFA adds an extra layer of security by requiring additional verification beyond just a password.
• Stay Informed About Phishing Scams: Be cautious of unsolicited emails or messages asking for personal information. Verify the source before clicking on any links or providing information.
• Regularly Update Software: Keep your operating systems and applications up to date to protect against the latest vulnerabilities.

• Be Mindful of Your Online Presence: Limit the amount of personal information shared online and adjust privacy settings on social media platforms.

Selected E-books

Understanding and practising good cybersecurity habits is essential for protecting yourself and the university community. You can enhance your cybersecurity awareness and resilience by staying informed about the latest threats and utilizing the resources available at the Alma Jordan Library. Discover our selected e-books on cybersecurity below, and don't forget to explore the library's catalogue and databases for even more insightful e-books and journals on this crucial topic.

Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity by Ishaani Priyadarshini (Editor); Rohit Sharma (Editor)

ISBN: 9781003097518

Publication Date: 2022

Artificial intelligence and cybersecurity are two emerging fields that have made phenomenal contributions toward technological advancement. As cyber-attacks increase, there is a need to identify threats and thwart attacks. This book incorporates recent developments that artificial intelligence brings to the cybersecurity world. Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity: Advances and Innovations provides advanced system implementation for Smart Cities using artificial intelligence. It addresses the complete functional framework workflow and explores basic and high-level concepts. The book is based on the latest technologies covering major challenges, issues and advances, and discusses intelligent data management and automated systems. This edited book provides a premier interdisciplinary platform for researchers, practitioners and educators. It presents and discusses the most recent innovations, trends and concerns as well as practical challenges and solutions adopted in the fields of artificial intelligence and cybersecurity.

 

Developing a Cybersecurity Immune System for Industry 4. 0 by Sergei Petrenko

ISBN: 9781003337874

Publication Date: 2022

Cyber immune systems try to mimic the adaptive immune system of humans and animals because of its capability to detect and fend off new, unseen pathogens. Today's current cyber security systems provide an effective defense mechanism against known cyber-attacks but are not so good when it comes to defending against unknown attacks. This book describes the possible development and organization of self-healing computing based on cyber immunity techniques and aimed at working in the new realm of Industry 4.0. Industry 4.0 is the trend towards automation and data exchange in manufacturing technologies and processes which include cyber-physical systems (CPS), the internet of things (IoT), industrial internet of things (IIOT), cloud computing, cognitive computing and artificial intelligence. The book describes the author's research and development of cyber-immunity systems that will prevent the destruction of critical information infrastructure by future unknown cyber-attacks and thus avoid the significant or catastrophic consequences of such attacks. The book is designed for undergraduate and post-graduate students, for engineers in related fields as well as managers of corporate and state structures, chief information officers (CIO), chief information security officers (CISO), architects, and research engineers in the field of cybersecurity. 

 

Information Technology Law in Jamaica by Nicole Foga

ISBN: 9789403515366

Publication Date: 2022

Derived from the renowned multi-volume International Encyclopaedia of Laws, this practical guide to information technology law - the law affecting information and communication technology (ICT) - in Jamaica covers every aspect of the subject, including the regulation of digital markets, intellectual property rights in the digital context, relevant competition rules, drafting and negotiating ICT-related contracts, electronic transactions, and cybercrime. Lawyers who handle transnational matters will appreciate the detailed explanation of specific characteristics of practice and procedure. Following a general introduction, the monograph assembles its information and guidance in six main areas of practice: (1) the regulatory framework of digital markets, including legal aspects of standardization, international private law applied to the online context, telecommunications law, regulation of audio-visual services and online commercial platforms; (2) online public services including e-government, e-health and online voting; (3) contract law with regard to software, hardware, networks and related services, with special attention to case law in this area, rules with regard to electronic evidence, regulation of electronic signatures, online financial services and electronic commerce; (4) software protection, legal protection of databases or chips, and other intellectual property matters; (5) the legal framework regarding cybersecurity and (6) the application of criminal procedure and substantive criminal law in the area of cybercrime. Its succinct yet scholarly nature, as well as the practical quality of the information it provides, make this monograph a valuable time-saving tool for business and legal professionals alike. Lawyers representing parties with interests in Jamaica will welcome this very useful guide, and academics and researchers will appreciate its value in the study of comparative law in this relatively new and challenging field.

 

Routledge Handbook of International Cybersecurity by Eneken Tikk (Editor); Mika Kerttunen (Editor)

ISBN: 9781351038904

Publication Date: 2020

The Routledge Handbook of International Cybersecurity examines the development and use of information and communication technologies (ICTs) from the perspective of international peace and security. Acknowledging that the very notion of peace and security has become more complex, the volume seeks to determine which questions of cybersecurity are indeed of relevance for international peace and security and which, while requiring international attention, are simply issues of contemporary governance or development. The Handbook offers a variety of thematic, regional and disciplinary perspectives on the question of international cybersecurity, and the chapters contextualize cybersecurity in the broader contestation over the world order, international law, conflict, human rights, governance and development. The volume is split into four thematic sections: Concepts and frameworks; Challenges to secure and peaceful cyberspace; National and regional perspectives on cybersecurity; Global approaches to cybersecurity. This book will be of much interest to students of cybersecurity, computer science, sociology, international law, defence studies and International Relations in general. 

 

Challenges in Cybersecurity and Privacy - the European Research Landscape by Jorge Bernal Bernabe (Editor); Antonio Skarmeta (Editor)

ISBN: 9788770220880

Publication Date: 2019

Cybersecurity and Privacy issues are becoming an important barrier for a trusted and dependable global digital society development. Cyber-criminals are continuously shifting their cyber-attacks specially against cyber-physical systems and IoT, since they present additional vulnerabilities due to their constrained capabilities, their unattended nature and the usage of potential untrustworthiness components. Likewise, identity-theft, fraud, personal data leakages, and other related cyber-crimes are continuously evolving, causing important damages and privacy problems for European citizens in both virtual and physical scenarios. In this context, new holistic approaches, methodologies, techniques and tools are needed to cope with those issues, and mitigate cyberattacks, by employing novel cyber-situational awareness frameworks, risk analysis and modeling, threat intelligent systems, cyber-threat information sharing methods, advanced big-data analysis techniques as well as exploiting the benefits from latest technologies such as SDN/NFV and Cloud systems. In addition, novel privacy-preserving techniques, and crypto-privacy mechanisms, identity and eID management systems, trust services, and recommendations are needed to protect citizens' privacy while keeping usability levels. 

 

Cyberspace and Cybersecurity by George Kostopoulos

ISBN: 9781138057715

Publication Date: 2017

Providing comprehensive coverage of cyberspace and cybersecurity, this textbook not only focuses on technologies but also explores human factors and organizational perspectives and emphasizes why asset identification should be the cornerstone of any information security strategy. Topics include addressing vulnerabilities, building a secure enterprise, blocking intrusions, ethical and legal issues, and business continuity. Updates include topics such as cyber risks in mobile telephony, steganography, cybersecurity as an added value, ransomware defense, review of recent cyber laws, new types of cybercrime, plus new chapters on digital currencies and encryption key management.

 

 

 

 

Cybersecurity by Kim J. Andreasson (Editor)

ISBN: 9781439846636

Publication Date: 2011

The Internet has given rise to new opportunities for the public sector to improve efficiency and better serve constituents in the form of e-government. But with a rapidly growing user base globally and an increasing reliance on the Internet, digital tools are also exposing the public sector to new risks. An accessible primer, Cybersecurity: Public Sector Threats and Responses focuses on the convergence of globalization, connectivity, and the migration of public sector functions online. It identifies the challenges you need to be aware of and examines emerging trends and strategies from around the world.nbsp;Offering practical guidance for addressing contemporary risks, the book is organized into three sections: Global Trends--considers international e-government trends, includes case studies of common cyber threats and presents efforts of the premier global institution in the field National and Local Policy Approaches--examines the current policy environment in the United States and Europe and illustrates challenges at all levels of government Practical Considerations--explains how to prepare for cyber attacks, including an overview of relevant U.S. Federal cyber incident response policies, an organizational framework for assessing risk, and emerging trends Also suitable for classroom use, this book will help you understand the threats facing your organization and the issues to consider when thinking about cybersecurity from a policy perspective.

 

Students and faculty are invited to visit the Alma Jordan Library to view our informative display on cybersecurity and explore the selection of featured books on this topic.

Cybersecurity Awareness Course

The UWI's Centre for Information Technology Services (CITS) provides a Cybersecurity Awareness Course tailored to enhance the security awareness of both faculty and students. This programme aims to educate participants on the recommended methods for maintaining safety and safeguarding institutional information. The curriculum covers topics, including identifying phishing scams, securing devices, creating robust passwords and understanding the potential risks associated with social media and internet usage. By completing this course, faculty and students will be better prepared to defend against cyber threats and contribute to establishing a digital environment at UWI. For more information on this course, visit;  https://sta.uwi.edu/cits/cybersecurity-awareness-course
 

References

Alharbi, Talal, and Asifa Tassaddiq. 2021. "Assessment of Cybersecurity Awareness among Students of Majmaah University." Big Data and Cognitive Computing 5 (2): 23.

Craigen, Dan, Nadia Diakun-Thibault, and Randy Purse. 2014. "Defining Cybersecurity." Technology innovation management review 4 (10).

Florackis, Chris, Christodoulos Louca, Roni Michaely, and Michael Weber. 2023. "Cybersecurity Risk." The Review of Financial Studies 36 (1): 351-407.

Peker, Yesem Kurt, Lydia Ray, Stephanie Da Silva, Nathaniel Gibson, and Christopher Lamberson. "Raising Cybersecurity Awareness among College Students." 2016.

Introduction

Welcome to the exciting world of Robotics and Artificial Intelligence (AI)! Whether you are an engineering student embarking on your academic journey or a faculty member leading cutting-edge research, the Alma Jordan Library offers a wealth of information to support your endeavours.

Historical Context and Evolution

The fields of AI and Robotics were strongly connected in the early days of AI, but over time they developed as separate disciplines. AI focused on abstract problems and algorithms, while Robotics concentrated on physical embodiment and control. However, recent advancements have bridged this gap, leading to the integration of AI and Robotics into a cohesive field (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

Selected E-Books:

International Standards:

ISO 10218-1:2011, Robots and robotic devices — Safety requirements for industrial robots — Part 1: Robots

Scope:

ISO 10218-1:2011 specifies requirements and guidelines for the inherent safe design, protective measures and information for use of industrial robots. It describes basic hazards associated with robots and provides requirements to eliminate, or adequately reduce, the risks associated with these hazards.

ISO 10218-1:2011 does not address the robot as a complete machine. Noise emission is generally not considered a significant hazard of the robot alone, and consequently noise is excluded from the scope of ISO 10218-1:2011.

ISO 10218-1:2011 does not apply to non‑industrial robots, although the safety principles established in ISO 10218 can be utilized for these other robots.

ISO 10218-2:2011, Robots and robotic devices — Safety requirements for industrial robots — Part 2: Robot systems and integration

Scope:

ISO 10218-2:2011 specifies safety requirements for the integration of industrial robots and industrial robot systems as defined in ISO 10218-1, and industrial robot cell(s). The integration includes the following: the design, manufacturing, installation, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the industrial robot system or cell; necessary information for the design, manufacturing, installation, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the industrial robot system or cell; component devices of the industrial robot system or cell.

ISO 10218-2:2011 describes the basic hazards and hazardous situations identified with these systems, and provides requirements to eliminate or adequately reduce the risks associated with these hazards. ISO 10218-2:2011 also specifies requirements for the industrial robot system as part of an integrated manufacturing system. ISO 10218-2:2011 does not deal specifically with hazards associated with processes (e.g. laser radiation, ejected chips, welding smoke). Other standards can be applicable to these process hazards.

ISO/IEC 22989:2022, Information technology — Artificial intelligence — Artificial intelligence concepts and terminology

Scope:

This document establishes terminology for AI and describes concepts in the field of AI.

This document can be used in the development of other standards and in support of communications among diverse, interested parties or stakeholders.

This document is applicable to all types of organizations (e.g. commercial enterprises, government agencies, not-for-profit organizations).

ISO/IEC 23053:2022, Framework for Artificial Intelligence (AI) Systems Using Machine Learning (ML)

Scope:

This document establishes an Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) framework for describing a generic AI system using ML technology. The framework describes the system components and their functions in the AI ecosystem. This document is applicable to all types and sizes of organizations, including public and private companies, government entities, and not-for-profit organizations, that are implementing or using AI systems.

ISO/IEC 23894:2023, Information technology — Artificial intelligence — Guidance on risk management

Scope:

This document provides guidance on how organizations that develop, produce, deploy or use products, systems and services that utilize artificial intelligence (AI) can manage risk specifically related to AI. The guidance also aims to assist organizations to integrate risk management into their AI-related activities and functions. It moreover describes processes for the effective implementation and integration of AI risk management.

The application of this guidance can be customized to any organization and its context.

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

Advances and Applications

• Healthcare:

AI and Robotics are revolutionizing healthcare by assisting in surgeries, rehabilitation, and elder care. Robots equipped with AI can perform precise operations and monitor patients, reducing the workload on healthcare professionals (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

• Manufacturing:

Intelligent robots are transforming manufacturing processes by performing tasks with high precision and adaptability. AI enables these robots to learn and optimize their operations, leading to increased efficiency and reduced costs (Soori et al., 2023)​​.

• Service Industry:

AI-powered robots are being deployed in various service sectors, including hospitality and retail, to improve customer experiences through personalized interactions and efficient service delivery (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

Challenges and Future Directions

Despite significant advancements, several challenges remain:

• Uncertainty and Complexity: Robots must operate in unpredictable environments and handle incomplete and conflicting information. Developing robust AI algorithms to manage these uncertainties is crucial (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.
• Ethical and Social Implications: The widespread adoption of AI and Robotics raises ethical concerns, including job displacement and privacy issues. Addressing these concerns through thoughtful policy and design is essential (Soori et al., 2023)​​.
• Interdisciplinary Collaboration: Effective integration of AI and Robotics requires collaboration across various disciplines, including computer science, mechanical engineering, and cognitive science (Rajan and Saffiotti, 2017)​​.

The fusion of AI and Robotics is set to revolutionize multiple industries, offering solutions to complex problems and enhancing human capabilities. The AJL is committed to providing the best resources to support your research and learning in these dynamic fields. Dive into our collection, explore the latest research, and be a part of the technological revolution that is reshaping our world.

Discover a world of knowledge by exploring the Alma Jordan Library’s catalogue at at - https://libraries.sta.uwi.edu/uwilinc. Don’t miss the chance to visit the Engineering Division of the Alma Jordan Library, where you can immerse yourself in our informative display on Robotics and browse or check out the books on display.

References

Rajan, Kanna, and Alessandro Saffiotti. 2017. "Towards a Science of Integrated Ai and Robotics." Artificial Intelligence 247: 1-9. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.artint.2017.03.003.

Soori, Mohsen, Behrooz Arezoo, and Roza Dastres. 2023. "Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning and Deep Learning in Advanced Robotics, a Review." Cognitive Robotics 3: 54-70. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cogr.2023.04.001.