Skip to main content

BBC Caribbean Archive: Home

An archive of audio recordings from the British Broadcasting Caribbean Service covering the period 1988-2011

About BBC Caribbean Archive

The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) Caribbean Service donated its archive of recordings to The University of the West Indies (UWI) after it ceased broadcasting on March 25, 2011. This archive of audio recordings covers the period 1988-2011 and includes BBC  flagship programmes Caribbean Report (morning and evening drivetime editions) and Caribbean Magazine. The BBC Caribbean Archive is currently hosted within the UWI Institutional repository UWISpace. This unique collection provides a contemporary record of the political, social, cultural and economic issues pertaining to the Caribbean and supports the needs of  regional and global researchers in multiple disciplines.

Welcome

About this LibGuide

This BBC Caribbean Archive  LibGuide is a shared project initiated by the Cataloguing and Metadata Services Unit (CMSU) at the Alma Jordan Library, The University of the West Indies (UWI), St. Augustine campus to promote the use of the collection to the UWI and global communities. Researchers  can use this  interface to search for audio recordings of the BBC Caribbean Report  aired during the period 1988-2011 under pre-selected themes: Contributors, Subjects, Countries, Timeline and Historical Events.

Accessing the BBC Caribbean Archive

Visitors to this LibGuide are asked to note that this interface provides access to metadata records and sound bites of  the BBC Caribbean Report (1988-2011) audio recordings only. These sound bites vary in duration from 3-5 minutes. Access to full length audio recordings housed in the BBC Caribbean Archive can be facilitated by contacting staff at the West Indiana and Special Collections Division (see contact information below). The British Broadcasting Corporation  (BBC) holds all copyright and intellectual rights to the audio recordings hosted in this archive.

Contact:

West Indiana and Special Collections Division
The Alma Jordan Library,
The UWI, St. Augustine Campus,
Trinidad and Tobago
Telephone: (868) 662 2002/Ext. 83506/84244                                                                                                                                                                   
Email: wimail@sta.uwi.edu

 

Librarian

Cheryl Peltier-Davis's picture
Cheryl Peltier-Davis
Contact:
The Alma Jordan Library
The University of the West Indies
St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago
(868) 662-2002 Ext. 82263
Skype Contact: cdtrini

Your Opinion Matters!

Was this page helpful?
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0

Recent Items