Skip to main content

Databases A-Z: Special Offers (STA): Home

This guide profiles selected special access opportunities, as provided by our subscribed electronic databases and more.

Highlights

Faculty Select
JSTOR
Springer Nature

Related Research Guides

More Highlights

EBSCO eBooks
Project Muse
ProQuest Ebook Central

About

Since the onset of the global COVID-19 health crisis, several academic publishers and vendors have offered temporaryexpanded access to their electronic resources, including e-books and e-journals. This page, which will be periodically updated, profiles selected access opportunities (across disciplines) from various databases (our vendors and their publishers) and university presses.

For a fuller list of such special offers (i.e. beyond e-books and e-journals), do visit here.

The University of the West Indies (UWI), St. Augustine (STA) Campus Libraries' print collections are not currently accessible due to the temporary closure of the Campus. Our subscribed online databases, containing thousands of e-books, e-journals and more, continue to be accessible via our Database A-Z list and UWIlinC. However, this expanded content, along with freely available and open access electronic resources may be useful complements to our subscribed online databases. Do also refer to the Related Research Guides section on this page (see left).

Should you have any questions or concerns about the special offers profiled in this guide, kindly contact our Acquisitions and Continuing Resources Unit at acqmail@sta.uwi.edu.

Note(s):

  • These resources have been profiled strictly for individual, non-commercial, academic/educational, reference/research use.
  • Use of of these resources during this period of temporary, expanded access, does not commit the Campus Libraries to subscribe to these resources after the end of the aforementioned period.

Databases

Title 

Description

EBSCO eBooks

Unlimited access to all Campus Libraries' owned e-book titles, from selected publishers, until June 30th, 2020. For further information about this offer, including the list of participating publishers, visit here.

~

Unlimited access to the complete catalog of the Harvard Business Review E-Book Subscription Collection until May 30th, 2020.

This collection comprises 600 e-books (article compilations of the HBR Classics series, monographs, newly published e-books and seminal works).

EBSCO Faculty Select

Simplified access to Faculty Select until June 30th, 2020. Search the database for over 12,000 Open Educational Resources (OER). Limit the search to OER only. Link to materials of interest in myeLearning or share the links directly with students via another means.

UWI STA lecturers: To request the link to Faculty Select, do contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian.

JSTOR

Temporary access to 35,000+ e-books in addition to all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, until June 30th, 2020.

For further information about this offer, including the list of available e-books, visit here.

MathSciNet

Temporary mobile pairing access to MathSciNet so that users can maintain remote access to the platform across devices, for ninety (90) days.

UWI STA lecturers and students: To request the link to activate mobile pairing to MathSciNet, do contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian.

Project Muse

Temporary access to titles from selected publishers. For the full list of publishers, the content that they have made freely available, the duration of that access and more, visit here.

When browsing/searching for materials in Project Muse, do look out for the new "Free" icon. 

ProQuest Ebook Central

Unlimited access to all Campus Libraries' owned e-book titles, from selected publishers, through mid-June. 

For further information about this offer, including the list of participating publishers, visit here.

SAGE Publishing Ninety (90) day access to SAGE Knowledge, SAGE Research Methods Video, and SAGE Video.
Springer Nature

Temporary access to 500+ textbooks, across disciplines, from Springer Nature's eBook subject collections, until "at least the end of July 2020".

For further information about this offer, including the list of available e-books, visit here.

 

University Presses

Title

Description

Ohio State University Press

Temporary access to Ohio State University Press' scholarly electronic monographs and Language Files (12th ed.) linguistics textbook, via its Knowledge Bank collection, for educational use.

For more information about this offer and to access the Knowledge Bank, along with a list of the titles that are temporarily open and free to use, visit here.

Purdue University Press

Access to Purdue University Press' open collections of online books and journals, via its repository and publishing platform, Purdue e-Pubs.

For more information about this offer, visit here.

University of California Press

Temporary access to University of California Press' online journals through June 2020.

The UC Press journals offer coverage of the humanities, natural sciences and social sciences and includes history, film and media, literature and criticism, music, religion and sociology.

To access the journals, either click on the respective image (link) for the journal or click on the articles link.

University of Michigan Press

Temporary, read-only online access to the University of Michigan Press' Ebook Collection titles, via its Fulcrum e-book platform, until the end of April 2020.

This 1,150+ title collection includes coverage of subjects such as American studies, area studies (e.g. East Asian, African, and German studies), classical and medieval studies, performing arts, political science and public policy (including health).

For further information about this offer, visit here.

University Press of Kentucky Temporary access to 1000+ scholarly and general interest University Press of Kentucky ebooks, via its UKnowledge platform, until June 1st, 2020.