LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OERs) : Medicine and Health: Home

INTRODUCTION TO OER's

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation, and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions.

For more information about OER's visit the UNESCO website https://en.unesco.org/themes/building-knowledge-societies/oer

General Pages / Sites

Commonwealth of Learning
Google Books
OER World Map
Open Access Theses and Dissertations ATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
Open Education -- Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)
PubMed Central PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
UWISpace This archive was established by the UWI Libraries to support the dissemination of knowledge by providing open access to the digitally preserved intellectual output of the University.

What is OER?

What is OER?

Related Research Guides

Open Access E-Resources The majority of the library's databases are only available to UWI students, faculty, staff and in-library users. However, the titles in this guide may be freely accessed by the general public, and the UWI community without having to authenticate on the Campus network. done by Frank Soodeen

General Open Educational Resources

Skills Commons
Skills Commons’ mission is to accelerate the democratization of education for all through open educational services and resources enabling individuals, communities, educational institutions, organizations, and businesses to prepare people for successful employment in the 21st Century.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.
InTech Open
IntechOpen’s Academic Editors and Authors are members of our growing scientific community focused on quality, peer-reviewed research and the dissemination of knowledge.
OER Commons - Health, Medicine, and Nursing
Open educational resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources
that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property
license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others. OER include full
courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software,
and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge.
Open Textbook Library
Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.