Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases A-Z: Special Offers (STA): Home

This guide profiles selected special access opportunities, as provided by our subscribed electronic databases and more.

Highlights

EBSCOhost
Faculty Select
JSTOR

Related Research Guides

About

Since the onset of the global COVID-19 health crisis, several academic publishers and vendors have offered temporaryexpanded access to their electronic resources, including e-books and e-journals. This page, which will be periodically updated, profiles selected access opportunities (across disciplines) from various databases (our vendors and their publishers).

For a fuller list of such special offers (i.e. beyond e-books and e-journals), do visit here.

The University of the West Indies (UWI), St. Augustine (STA) Campus Libraries' print collections are not currently accessible due to the temporary closure of the Campus. Our subscribed online databases, containing thousands of e-books, e-journals and more, continue to be accessible via our Database A-Z list and UWIlinC. However, this expanded content, along with freely available and open access electronic resources may be useful complements to our subscribed online databases. Do also refer to the Related Research Guides section on this page (see left).

Should you have any questions or concerns about the special offers profiled in this guide, kindly contact our Acquisitions and Continuing Resources Unit at acqmail@sta.uwi.edu.

Note(s):

  • These resources have been profiled strictly for individual, non-commercial, academic/educational, reference/research use.
  • Use of of these resources during this period of temporary, expanded access, does not commit the Campus Libraries to subscribe to these resources after the end of the aforementioned period.

Databases

Title 

Description

EBSCO

-- Simplified access to Faculty Select until September 30th, 2020Search the database for over 12,000 Open Educational Resources (OER). Limit the search to OER only. Link to materials of interest in myeLearning or share the links directly with students via another means. UWI STA lecturers, click here to access.

-- Free access to selected databases (e.g. EBSCO Open Dissertations; Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts; European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750; Teacher Reference Center) to support research and professional development. Click here to access.

-- Free access to selected resources to help students prepare for specific standardised tests (US), college courses and careers. Click here to access.

JSTOR

-- Expanded access to journals and primary sources (that we do not already have access to through our institutional subscription) until December 31st, 2020. Click here for more information about the offer and visit here to access JSTOR.

-- Access to the read articles for free online service expanded from six to 100 articles per month until December 31st, 2020. Click here for guidelines on the offer. Note: Do first check our institutional subscription to JSTOR to see if we already have access to the articles of interest.