News & Events

This blog post was written by Natasha Daniel, UWI MLIS Intern.

Studies in building, civil, structural engineering and architecture are essential for the development and maintenance of residential and commercial buildings, infrastructures and public spaces.  Students have the opportunity to contribute to the design, construction, and maintenance of structures that improve people’s lives, enhance public safety and promote sustainable development.

These fields require a combination of technical knowledge, problem-solving skills, and creativity, as well as the opportunity to translate conceptual ideas into practical and functional designs. Furthermore, these fields are continuously evolving with the introduction of new technologies, construction methods, and materials to support sustainable design practices.

The construction industry offers a diverse range of career paths, including architectural design, structural engineering, construction management, urban planning, and project management. The tangible results from work associated with these professions can provide a sense of accomplishment and personal fulfilment. Below are some of the eBooks related to these fields that are available in your library databases. 

Advanced Fiber-Reinforced Polymer(FRP) Composites for Structural Applications by Jiping Bai (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128203460
Publication Date: 2023

Advanced Fibre-reinforced Polymer (FRP) Composites for Structural Applications, Second Edition provides updates on new research that has been carried out on the use of FRP composites for structural applications. These include the further development of advanced FRP composites materials that achieve lighter and stronger FRP composites, how to enhance FRP integrated behavior through matrix modification, along with information on pretension treatments and intelligence technology. The development of new technology such as automated manufacturing and processing of fiber-reinforced polymer (FRP) composites have played a significant role in optimizing fabrication processing and matrix formation.

Performance and Improvement of Green Construction Projects : Management Strategies and Innovations by Bon-Gang Hwang
ISBN: 9780128154830
Publication Date: 2018

Performance and Improvement of Green Construction Projects: Management Strategies and Innovations expertly explains the specific characteristics and management approaches of green construction projects using in-depth examples that compare presented tactics to conventional construction projects. The book provides a holistic view on management strategies and innovations, focusing on the assessment and improvement of green construction projects and how to manage performance with respect to cost, scheduling, quality, safety, risk, productivity and leadership development. Addresses performance improvement and project management in green construction projects, covering cost, scheduling, safety, quality, risk, productivity and leadership Clearly explains the obstacles, challenges and barriers to implementing green construction projects Discusses special issues that are inherent in green construction projects, from inception to delivery.

Advances in Structural Engineering Mechanics, Volume One by Vasant Matsagar (Editor)
ISBN: 9788132221906
Publication Date: 2015

The book presents research papers presented by academicians, researchers, and practicing structural engineers from India and abroad in the recently held Structural Engineering Convention (SEC) 2014 at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi during 22 – 24 December 2014. The book is divided into three volumes and encompasses multidisciplinary areas within structural engineering, such as earthquake engineering and structural dynamics, structural mechanics, finite element methods, structural vibration control, advanced cementitious and composite materials, bridge engineering, and soil-structure interaction. Advances in Structural Engineering is a useful reference material for structural engineering fraternity including undergraduate and postgraduate students, academicians, researchers and practicing engineers.

Contemporary Issues in Construction in Developing Countries by George Ofori (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203847350
Publication Date: 2012

Economic growth and socio-economic development are particuliarly important for developing countries, and the construction industry plays a central role in driving both of these. Traditionally the issues faced have been assumed to be merely offshoots of those encountered in industrialised nations and are usually discussed only in this context. In addition, research in construction management and economics has generally failed to take proper account of the unique or highly emphasised characteristics of the industries in developing countries, or their economic and social environment. This volume challenges underlying assumptions and focuses on the distinct characteristics of construction in developing countries. In so doing it considers the issues from the perspective of the developing countries themselves to present a strong contemporary picture for researchers. It forms a companion volume to New Perspectives on Construction in Developing Countries which provides an update on the generic subjects relating to the construction industry in developing countries, and covers new concepts and issues.
 

100 Ideas that Changed Architecture by Richard Weston
ISBN: 1856697320
Publication Date: 2011

This inspiring book chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped architecture. 100 Ideas that Changed Architecture explores when each idea first evolved and the subsequent impact it has had up to the present day.

Advanced Civil Infrastructure Materials: Science, Mechanics and Applications by Hwai Chung Wu
ISBN: 9781855739437
Publication Date: 2006

Advanced civil infrastructure materials provides an up-to-date review of several emerging construction materials that may have a significant impact on repairs of existing infrastructures and/or new constructions. Each chapter explores the ‘materials design concept’ which leads to the creation of advanced composites by synergistically combining two or more constituents. Such design methodology is made possible by several key advancements in materials science and mechanics. Each chapter is concluded with selective examples of real world applications using these advanced materials. This includes relevant structural design guidelines and mechanics to assist readers in comprehending the uses of these advanced materials.

The contributors are made up of renowned authors who are recognized for their expertise in their chosen field. Advanced civil infrastructure materials is of value to both graduate and undergraduate students of civil engineering, and will serve as a useful reference guide for researchers and practitioners in the construction industry.

For further exploration on this topic, you can search the library's catalogue and online databases to discover a wealth of additional resources.

Engineering Week is just around the corner, and it's a fantastic time to celebrate the ingenuity, creativity, and impact of engineers worldwide. Whether you're an aspiring engineer or already deep into your studies, this week is dedicated to recognizing the importance of engineering in shaping our world. Join us in this celebration and make the most of the resources available to you at the Alma Jordan Library.

What is Engineering Week?
Engineering Week is an annual event that highlights the contributions of engineers and promotes engineering as a vital and exciting career path. This year, it coincides with World Engineering Day on March 4th, a global celebration to raise awareness about the role of engineering in modern life and its contributions to sustainable development.

For more information on the schedule and themes, check out the official websites for World Engineering Day and Engineers Week 2024.

Dive into Engineering Literature at the Alma Jordan Library
As you engage with Engineering Week activities, don't miss the opportunity to explore some of the best engineering books available at the Alma Jordan Library. Here's a curated list of must-read titles that can provide both foundational knowledge and advanced insights into various engineering careers:

Engineer to Entrepreneur by Rick De la Guardia

ISBN: 9780784414415

Publication Date: 2016

Starting, managing, and owning an engineering firm can be a daunting experience. Engineer to Entrepreneur: Success Strategies to Manage Your Career and Start Your Own Firm provides practical steps at key career points to reach professional goals in any engineering discipline. Rick De La Guardia leads aspiring entrepreneurs through the process from undergraduate class choices, through first jobs, to opening an office and running a consulting firm. Divided into three main sections for the student, beginning engineer, and company owner, De La Guardia provides background information, suggested activities, and detailed steps to make the most of each stage of one's career. Personal examples from his own career are used to illustrate real-life issues and decisions facing entrepreneurs as they find their niche, expand their contacts, and launch their firms. Engineer to Entrepreneur will help engineers in any discipline rethink their careers and take charge of their futures.

 

Building a Career in Software by Daniel Heller

ISBN: 9781484261460

Publication Date: 2020

Software engineering education has a problem: universities and bootcamps teach aspiring engineers to write code, but they leave graduates to teach themselves the countless supporting tools required to thrive in real software companies. Building a Career in Software is the solution, a comprehensive guide to the essential skills that instructors don't need and professionals never think to teach: landing jobs, choosing teams and projects, asking good questions, running meetings, going on-call, debugging production problems, technical writing, making the most of a mentor, and much more. In over a decade building software at companies such as Apple and Uber, Daniel Heller has mentored and managed tens of engineers from a variety of training backgrounds, and those engineers inspired this book with their hundreds of questions about career issues and day-to-day problems. Designed for either random access or cover-to-cover reading, it offers concise treatments of virtually every non-technical challenge you will face in the first five years of your career--as well as a selection of industry-focused technical topics rarely covered in training. 

 

Engineering in Perspective by Tony Ridley

ISBN: 9781786342270

Publication Date: 2017

Engineering in Perspective provides a unique look into the career of one of Britain's most widely experienced engineers, Professor Tony Ridley. Ridley analyses key moments from his career to identify the real-world skills required for success. Through this, he examines how important it is that a successful engineer has not only traditional engineering skills but also good interpersonal skills coupled with a deep understanding of social, economic and political factors. Ridley's career case-studies include his time as first Director General of the Tyne & Wear Passenger Transport Executive and working on the creation of the Metro; first Managing Director of the Hong Kong Mass Transit Railway; Chairman and Managing Director of London Underground; the development of the Docklands Light Railway; and working through the trauma of the Kings Cross fire. 

 

Women in STEM Careers by Diana Bilimoria (Editor); Linley Lord (Editor)

ISBN: 9781781954065

Publication Date: 2014

Adopting an international perspective, this book draws on current research from the United States, Australia and Europe to examine women's participation, advancement and leadership in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) fields. The book explores the nature of STEM careers across industry and academia, and presents the latest thinking on successful individual, organizational and educational initiatives related to women in STEM. Along with a select group of international contributors, Diana Bilimoria and Linley Lord provide a fresh perspective, based on success stories and successful initiatives, augmenting contemporary perspectives on the barriers and issues that women in STEM careers continue to face. Women in STEM Careers is a positive and insightful outlook on gender relations, which will be an invaluable resource for scholars, practitioners and policy-makers in organizations, human resources, academia, and government, as well as for women aspiring to or presently working in STEM fields. 

 

Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering by Ömer Aydan

ISBN: 9780367822309

Publication Date: 2019

The two-volume set Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering is concerned with the application of the principles of mechanics to physical, chemical and electro-magnetic processes in the upper-most layers of the earth and the design and construction of the rock structures associated with civil engineering and exploitation or extraction of natural resources in mining and petroleum engineering. Volume 2, Applications of Rock Mechanics - Rock Engineering, discusses the applications of rock mechanics to engineering structures in/on rock, rock excavation techniques and in-situ monitoring techniques, giving some specific examples. The dynamic aspects associated with the science of earthquakes and their effect on rock structures, and the characteristics of vibrations induced by machinery, blasting and impacts as well as measuring techniques are described. Furthermore, the degradation and maintenance processes in rock engineering are explained. Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering is intended to be a fundamental resource for younger generations and newcomers and a reference book for experts specialized in Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering and associated with the fields of mining, civil and petroleum engineering, engineering geology, and/or specialized in Geophysics and concerned with earthquake science and engineering.

 

Food Engineering Handbook by Theodoros Varzakas (Editor); Constantina Tzia (Editor)

ISBN: 9780429171727

Publication Date: 2014

Food Engineering Handbook: Food Process Engineering addresses the basic and applied principles of food engineering methods used in food processing operations around the world.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Story of Industrial Engineering by Adedeji B. Badiru

ISBN: 9780429461811

Publication Date: 2018

Industrial engineering is the profession dedicated to making collective systems function better with less waste, better quality, and fewer resources, to serve the needs of society more efficiently and more effectively. This book uses a story-telling approach to advocate and elaborate the fundamental principles of industrial engineering in a simple, interesting, and engaging format. It will stimulate interest in industrial engineering by exploring how the tools and techniques of the discipline can be relevant to a broad spectrum of applications in business, industry, engineering, education, government, and the military. Features Covers the origin of industrial engineering Discusses the early pioneers and profiles the evolution of the profession Presents offshoot branches of industrial engineering Illustrates specific areas of performance measurement and human factors Links industrial engineering to the emergence of digital engineering Uses the author's personal experience to illustrate his advocacy and interest in the profession

You can access these books and many more by visiting the Alma Jordan Library or checking their availability through the library's online catalogue; UWIlinC.

Get Involved!
Mark your calendars and get ready to immerse yourself in a week of engineering excellence. Engage in the online events via the World Engineering Day and Engineers Week 2024 websites, expand your knowledge with the recommended books, and connect with the engineering community. The future is engineered by those who dare to innovate, and Engineering Week is your platform to step up and make a difference.

Stay updated with the latest events and resources by visiting the World Engineering Day and Engineers Week 2024 websites, and don’t forget to leverage the vast resources available at the Alma Jordan Library.

Happy Engineering Week!