Geological and geophysical calamities affect every continent with a significant human population. The 1556 Shaanxi earthquake in China killed 830,000 people, the 1755 tsunami in Portugal killed 60,000 people, the Vesuvius explosion in 79 AD buried Pompeii and Herculaneum, and the 1949 landslide in Tajikistan killed 12,000 (Guthrie 2013, 388-389).
Geophysical engineering is a field of study that focuses on applying principles and methods of physics to studying the Earth's structure and properties. Geophysical engineers use various techniques to gather and interpret data about the Earth's subsurface, which is valuable for various applications, including natural resource exploration, environmental assessment, and geotechnical engineering. Here are some key aspects of geophysical engineering:
Exploration and Resource Assessment: Mineral and Energy Exploration: Geophysical methods such as seismic surveys, electromagnetic surveys, and gravity surveys are used to locate and assess mineral deposits, oil, and natural gas reserves underground.
Groundwater Exploration: Geophysical techniques help locate and characterise groundwater resources, aiding in sustainable water management.
Environmental and Engineering Applications:
Environmental Site Assessment: Geophysical surveys are employed to assess contaminated sites and monitor the movement of pollutants underground.
Civil Engineering: Geophysical methods are used to study the subsurface conditions, such as dams, bridges, and tunnels, before construction projects, providing vital information about soil and rock properties.
Natural Hazard Assessment:
Earthquake Studies: Seismic surveys and other geophysical methods help study seismic activity, fault lines, and earthquake hazards.
Landslide and Volcano Studies: Geophysical techniques aid in monitoring the stability of slopes and volcanic activity, providing early warning systems for potential disasters.
Methods and Techniques:
Seismic Methods: This involves sending seismic waves into the ground and measuring their reflections to create subsurface images. It is widely used in oil exploration and earthquake studies.
Electromagnetic Methods: These methods use electromagnetic fields to detect subsurface structures commonly used in mineral exploration.
Gravity and Magnetic Methods: Gravity surveys measure variations in the Earth's gravitational field, while magnetic surveys detect variations in the Earth's magnetic field. Both methods are valuable in geophysical mapping.
Data Interpretation and Modeling:
Data Processing: Geophysical data often need advanced processing techniques to filter noise and enhance the signal, improving the quality of interpretations.
Geophysical Modeling: Specialised software is used to create 3D models of the subsurface based on geophysical data, aiding in visualisation and analysis.
Research and Development:
Instrumentation: Geophysical engineers develop and improve instruments used in data collection, making them more accurate and efficient.
Innovation: Research in geophysical engineering often leads to the developing of new techniques and methodologies, advancing the field.
Geophysical engineers are crucial in understanding the Earth's subsurface, which is responsible for resource management, disaster prevention, and sustainable development. Their work contributes significantly to various industries and scientific research.
The Staff of the Engineering Division at the Alma Jordan Library has mounted a display highlighting the importance of geophysical engineering in managing geophysical disaster preparedness. Stop by and browse the books on display, and remember... all the books on display are available for checkout.
Geotechnical and Geophysical Site Characterization 4 contain 8 keynote Lectures prepared by experts in the field, including the 5th James K. Mitchell Lecture presented by Dr. Peter K. Robertson, and 4 Workshop Lectures and 217 technical papers from 40 different countries. Geotechnical and Geophysical Site Characterization 4 will be much of interest to academics, engineers and professionals involved in Geotechnical Engineering.
This multi-contributor book provides comprehensive coverage of earthquake engineering problems, an overview of traditional methods, and the scientific background on recent developments. It discusses computer methods on structural analysis and provides access to the recent design methodologies and serves as a reference for both professionals and researchers involved in earthquake engineering. With an entire chapter dedicated to seismic resistant design through supplemental damping and structural control, this volume includes important advances in the characteristics of earthquake ground motions, behavior and design of structures, seismic design of non-structural systems, and more.
This book explains to governments, decision makers and disaster professionals the potential uses of recent technologies for disaster monitoring and risk reduction based on the knowledge and experience of prominent experts/researchers in the relevant fields. It discusses the application of recent technological developments for emerging disaster risks in today's societies and deliberates on the various aspects of disaster risk reduction strategies, especially through sustainable community resilience and responses. This book consists of selected invited papers on disaster management, which focus on community resilience and responses towards disaster risk reduction based on experiences, and closely examines the coordinated research activities involving all stakeholders, especially the communities at risk. Many regions of the world and aspects of disaster risk and its management are covered. It is described how recent technologies will support better understanding and action to reduce the number and impact of disasters in future. The principal audience for this book is researchers, urban planners, policy makers, as well as students.
Guthrie, Richard. 2013. "Geological/Geophysical Disasters." In Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards, edited by Peter T. Bobrowsky, 387-400. Dordrecht: Springer Netherlands.
Leake Jennie. 2012. Geophysical Engineering. New Delhi: World Technologies.
Mat, Mahmut. "Geophysics." GeoScience. Posted April 23, 2023. https://geologyscience.com/geology-branches/geophysics/?amp.
Geological and geophysical calamities affect every continent with a significant human population. The 1556 Shaanxi earthquake in China killed 830,000 people, the 1755 tsunami in Portugal killed 60,000 people, the Vesuvius explosion in 79 AD buried Pompeii and Herculaneum, and the 1949 landslide in Tajikistan killed 12,000 (Guthrie 2013, 388-389).
Geophysical engineering is a field of study that focuses on applying principles and methods of physics to studying the Earth's structure and properties. Geophysical engineers use various techniques to gather and interpret data about the Earth's subsurface, which is valuable for various applications, including natural resource exploration, environmental assessment, and geotechnical engineering. Here are some key aspects of geophysical engineering:
Geophysical engineers are crucial in understanding the Earth's subsurface, which is responsible for resource management, disaster prevention, and sustainable development. Their work contributes significantly to various industries and scientific research.
The Staff of the Engineering Division at the Alma Jordan Library has mounted a display highlighting the importance of geophysical engineering in managing geophysical disaster preparedness. Stop by and browse the books on display, and remember... all the books on display are available for checkout.
Selected E-books
This multi-contributor book provides comprehensive coverage of earthquake engineering problems, an overview of traditional methods, and the scientific background on recent developments. It discusses computer methods on structural analysis and provides access to the recent design methodologies and serves as a reference for both professionals and researchers involved in earthquake engineering. With an entire chapter dedicated to seismic resistant design through supplemental damping and structural control, this volume includes important advances in the characteristics of earthquake ground motions, behavior and design of structures, seismic design of non-structural systems, and more.
References
Guthrie, Richard. 2013. "Geological/Geophysical Disasters." In Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards, edited by Peter T. Bobrowsky, 387-400. Dordrecht: Springer Netherlands.
Leake Jennie. 2012. Geophysical Engineering. New Delhi: World Technologies.
Mat, Mahmut. "Geophysics." GeoScience. Posted April 23, 2023. https://geologyscience.com/geology-branches/geophysics/?amp.