Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover Caribbean Information
Many of the resources accessible through the Alma Jordan Library's website provide information about the Caribbean. This resource highlights the databases which have primarily Caribbean content. Many of these listed here are not available through UWILinC, the Library's search engine. Thus patrons are encouraged to explore these resources individually.
THE SOCIETY FOR CARIBBEAN STUDIES (UK) ANNUAL CONFERENCE PAPERS
A cartographic history of the Caribbean islands.
MAPS OF THE CARIBBEAN, 1584-1845
This collection includes maps dating from the 16th to 19th centuries, published primarily in Paris, London, and Amsterdam. Many of the maps are hand colored.
CARIBBEAN ONLINE RESOURCES
ADOLEC (Adolescent Health)
A bibliographic database on adolescence health in Latin America and the Caribbean.
BBC CARIBBEAN ARCHIVES
Audio archive of the BBC Caribbean programmes: 1988-2011.
A number of bibliographic databases and scientific magazines of health information sources in Latin America and the Caribbean.
CARIBBEAN CENTRAL BANKS
Links to various publications including conference papers and statistical data from Central Banks in the region.
CARIBBEAN COLLECTION (E-BOOKS)
Works pertinent to the Caribbean, and Latin America. Subjects include history, music, literature, biology, political science, sociology, sports, language, and more.
CARIBBEAN DIGITAL LIBRARY
Digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
CARIBBEAN HISTORIES -NATIONAL ARCHIVES UK
Explores the history of the British Caribbean through government documents, photographs and maps dating from the 17th century to the 1920s and discovered during a cataloguing project at The National Archives of the United Kingdom.
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries.
CARIBBEAN NEWSPAPERS, SERIES I: 1718-1876
Largest collection of fully searchable 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics.
CARIBBEAN REVIEW OF BOOKS
An online magazine covering reviews of new and recent books of Caribbean fiction, poems, biography, arts, culture, and current affairs.
CARIBBEAN SEARCH: EBSCO
A multidisciplinary database providing a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the Caribbean region.
Contains the full text of over 32,000 legal cases with headnotes.
This Database has RESTRICTED access and can only be accessed via username and password. . Please contact the Law Librarian for further information.
A database of the Disaster Documentation Center Collection.
DIGITAL LEGISLATIVE LIBRARY OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO, 1838-2014
Trinidad and Tobago’s legislative material from 1838. Includes volumes of the Federal Law during the years of the West Indian Federation.
DIGITAL LIBRARY OF TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Digital resources highlighting the people, places, lifestyle, culture and events of Trinidad and Tobago. Held at NALIS( National Library and Information System of Trinidad and Tobago).
Latin American and Caribbean history of public health
THE INDUSTRIAL COURT OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO: JUDGEMENT DATABASE
Judgments handed down by the Industrial Court of Trinidad and Tobago since 1965 as well as some Court of Appeal and High Court Judgments related to Industrial Court matters.
Health Legislation in Latin America & the Caribbean.
Comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Health sciences literature mainly from or relevant to Caribbean English-speaking countries.
SIDLAC-Agricultural Information & Documentation System for the Americas)
The SIDALC Alliance provides access to agricultural information generated throughout Latin America a& the Caribbean.
UWI PRESS E-BOOKS
Published by the University of the West Indies Press. Works include Caribbean history, Caribbean cultural studies, Caribbean literature, gender studies, education and political science.
Established by the UWI Libraries to provide Open Access to research and scholarship of The UWI community.
WEST INDIANA SPECIAL COLLECTIONS FINDING AIDS
Provides greater details of the contents in each of the library's Special Collections.
WEST INDIAN REPORTS
Includes an archive of over 3,500 cases decided in the High Courts and Courts of Appeal of the West Indian States, and Privy Council appeals therefrom.