Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MedCarib Database: Home

MedCarib is a bibliographic database that brings together health science information from the Caribbean. It contains health information from the English-speaking Caribbean and Suriname. Initially, the database consisted of bibliographic data but has since moved towards including full-text publications.

The MedCarib database contributes to the Regional Network for Latin-America and the Caribbean (LILACS), the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. Through this medium, MedCarib helps to increase visibility, access and the quality of health information in the Region. 

HISTORY

MedCarib was funded by W.K. Kellogg in 1990 as a sub-regional network within the Latin American and Caribbean Health Information Systems by BIREME (Latin America and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information).  BIREME is a specialized centre of the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO/WHO) located in Brazil. 

The University of the West Indies, Mona Jamaica, Medical Library was the first Regional Coordinating Center of the network, with sixteen (16) countries participating. They were Antigua, Anguilla, Barbados, Bahamas, British Virgin Islands, Belize, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Vincent, St. Lucia, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.  Today, The University of the West Indies Medical Sciences Library, St. Augustine Campus is the new Regional Coordinating Center for the network with Ms Ayaana Alleyne Cumberbatch as the sitting Regional Coordinator.

 

AIMS AND OBJECTIVES

AIMS

 

1. To foster cooperation and resources sharing in the Region. 

2. To support Health Care Projects and Programmes by providing current and comprehensive information.

3. To stimulate the development of library systems within the Region in data collection, retrieval and communication.

4. To promote the use of information technology within the Region. 

 

OBJECTIVES

1. Provision of a database of Caribbean health literature by collecting, organizing and indexing data published in or about the Region.

2. Giving access to medical and health information.

3. Making medical and health information of the Caribbean discoverable.

CONTRIBUTING TO MedCarib

The MedCarib Database is the result of the cooperative efforts of libraries in participating Caribbean countries, each responsible for the collection, data entry and indexing of selected health literature by or about the country. 

The database comprises over 14,000 regional and international produced entries including theses, books, reports and conference proceedings from the 17th century to present. 

SUBJECT CATEGORIES AVAILABLE IN MedCarib

Appropriate Technology

Dentistry

Drug Abuse

Environment

Environmental Health

Essential Drugs

Family Planning

Health Administration & Planning

Health Economics

Health Policies

Health Technology

Immunization

Mother and Child Care

Nursing

Nutrition and Food Production

Pharmacy

Population

Prevention and Control of Infectious Diseases

Primary Health Care

Public Health 

Sanitation

Substance Abuse 

Traditional Medicine

Veterinary Medicine

Water Supply

Training

Ongoing training is conducted regionally on the use of new methodologies and software programmes relating to the MedCarib database.

MEDCARIB TODAY

On June 28th 2018 following a MedCarib meeting held at the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA), the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine, Trinidad became MedCarib's Regional Coordinating Centre.

Active participants of the MedCarib network are:

Barbados

Belize

Guyana

Jamaica

Suriname

Trinidad and Tobago

 

HOW TO FIND US

Search the MedCarib Database via BIREME's Virtual Health Library Regional Library Portal - Information and Knowledge for Health by visiting:

https://bvsalud.org/en/

For more information on MedCarib send an email to:

Vhl.TTMail@sta.uwi.edu

 

How to Search the MedCarib database?

  1. In your search engine type MedCarib BIREME
  2. Select MedCarib from your search results
  3. You have landed on the MedCarib Search interface when you see this picture

4. To search the database use words of the title of the article, abstract, name of substances, name of people as subject, and subject descriptors.

5. You can search for articles in the following languages:

  • English
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

6. DO NOT USE BOOLEAN TERMS

7. Select the option “All words (AND)” in order to relate the words. [This] restricts the scope of the search. The option “Any word (OR)” in order to add the words. [This] expands the scope of the search.