Skip to main content

Sources for Jamaican History: Databases & Digital Collections

This guide provides descriptions and links to useful databases, websites, digital collections and other resources for researching Caribbean History.

Subscription Based

 

JSTOR is a digital library for academic journals, books and primary sources.Though it is a multidisciplinary database, its archive of journals on Caribbean history is very useful.

UWI login required for access.

Project Muse is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Project Muse features journals and books. 

UWI login required for access.

EBSCOhost is a multidisciplinary database with many resources covering History and the Humanities. Within EBSCO, is the noteworthy Caribbean Search, a collection of over 700 English-language Caribbean focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books.

UWI login required for access.

Free Digital Collections

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) provides access to digitised versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in libraries archives and private collections. The Library includes sub-collections arranged by topics, events, sources and other categories; for instance: Caribbean Newspapers, Vodou Archive, Caribbean Maps  to name a few.

University of the West Indies Libraries

The UWI Libraries have digitised content which are available through each campus library website as well as some content available through UWISpace, UWI's institutional repository for research and scholarship.     

The UWI Mona Library Digital Collection is a collection of digitised manuscripts, maps, photographs, newspapers, postcards and other ephemeral materials from the Library's Special Collections.

The Alma Jordan Library's Digital Collection is managed by the Library at UWI's St. Augustine campus. The collection includes rare photographs, Dudley Higgins Papers (1949-1969) and the Michael Goldberg collection among others.

Other Digital Collections

National Library of Jamaica's digital collection consists of freely available digitized photographs, maps, manuscripts, newspapers, rare books, prints and other unique materials. The collection is categorised into, Jamaican biographies, digital images, digitised books from Google Books, riots and rebellion and slave trade.

John Carter Brown Library Haiti Collection makes available over one thousand digitised documents on Haiti. The collection includes texts dating from the late 18th century. 

Cuban Heritage Collection Digital Collections contains digitised maps, manuscripts, photographs, letters and other materials from the Cuban Heritage Collection held at the University of Miami Libraries.

HathiTrust Digital Library has digitised books from many countries worldwide, including those from the Caribbean