Skip to main content

Sources for Jamaican History: Reference Sources

This guide provides descriptions and links to useful databases, websites, digital collections and other resources for researching Caribbean History.

Online References

 

The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a bibliography on Latin America and to a lesser extent, nonetheless significant, on the Caribbean.It consists of works selected and annotated by scholars and is edited by. The multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and humanities. 

The Handbook is a useful start in identifying works published. It is searchable online and can direct you to the online or the nearest print copy of works identified.

The Jamaica National Bibliography 1962-2012 (JNB50) lists publications received into the National Library's collection. The bibliography for the most part represents materials published in Jamaica, by Jamaicans or about Jamaicans.

 

Online Catalogues

 Online catalogue/e-portal of the University of the West Indies Libraries

 Library of Congress Online Catalogue - catalogue of the United States Library of Congress which includes collections from around the world including the West Indies.

The British Library Main Catalogue 

 

 catalogue of records

Search the collections of over 10,000 libraries worldwide

Print References

Manuscript Sources for the History of the West Indies records over 2000 manuscript sources located in repositories in the West Indies, United States of America, Canada and the United Kingdom.