HOSPITAL LIBRARIES AT YOUR CLINICAL SITES
You can choose to use the resources afforded you at the Hospital Libraries, as well as simply use the library facilities as study space.
The Medical Sciences Library has working relationships with the Libraries attached to your clinical sites hospitals.
NOTE: You can access resources at the University Libraries via your REMOTE ACCESS privileges, while you are at your clinical site.
Medical Library Port of Spain*
Port of Spain General Hospital
There are study carrels which students and staff are able to utilize. There are six functioning computers which the patrons can utilize. Also available to the students are the EBSCOHOST databases and over 10,000 medical titles. Journals are accessed through EBSCOHOST databases.
* Please note that this site is presently being refurbished and there has been a disruption in service.
Medical Library San Fernando
San Fernando General Hospital
The San Fernando Medical Library has approximately 1100 books. Journals are available and can be accessed through the EBSCOHOST suite of databases. Computers are made available from the South West Regional Health Authority (SNRHA) and the University of the West Indies (UWI). Internet, photocopying and printing services are also available.
Mount Hope Women’s Hospital
Mt. Hope Women's Hospital
Currently, there are approximately one thousand, one hundred (1,100) titles at this facility. A small collection of Social and Preclinical Sciences material exists; however, the majority is focused on Obstetrics and Gynaecology. There are several audiovisual teaching aids available including scrolls, film reels, and several teaching models, which are used by students as well as staff members. The Mount Hope Women’s Hospital (MHWH) Medical Library is equipped with studying facilities for students including desks and study carrels, as well as two (2) computers with internet access. Students can also utilize their own devices by connecting to the wireless network.
Sangre Grande Hospital
Sangre Grande Hospital
Sangre Grande Reading Room(868) 223-2640
UWI Library resources should be accessed remotely.
It is therefore important that you familiarize yourselves with the steps you need for remote access (see tab above: Electronic Resources Access).
Scarborough General Hospital -Tobago Regional Health Authority (TRHA)
Scarborough General Hospital
The Scarborough General Hospital is located in the City of Scarborough, Trinidad and Tobago. It is the only hospital serving the entire island of Tobago. This institution falls under the Tobago Regional Health Authority.
Hospitals at the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex
Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex
There are no physical libraries associated with the EWMSC hospitals.
The medical staff at the Complex have always enjoyed service from the UWI Medical Sciences Library, as part of a community.
Clinical students based at the EWMSC are at their "home" library.
Access Caribbean medical resources via regional and international institutions.
UWI Clinical Sites Countries
AIDS Clinical Trials and Information Services
A Public Health Service (PHS) project with information about federally and privately-funded AIDS trials and the drugs and vaccines being tested.
CenterWatch: Clinical Research and Drug Information
CenterWatch is a publishing company with one of the largest clinical trial databases on the internet. It provides clinical trials and results information,drug approvals, study grants to professionals working at sponsors, CROs, research sites and niche service providers.
Clinical Trials and Noteworthy Treatments for Brain Tumor
A premier source of information for brain tumor information, as well as online support groups, chat rooms, newsletters, articles, and the database of clinical trials.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) Clinical Center Search the Studies site
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) Clinical Center Search the Studies site is a registry of publicly supported clinical studies conducted mostly in Bethesda, MD.