Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medicine -- Resources for the School of Medicine (UWISTA)

Medicine -- Specialized Database

Specialized Databases 

     

              BIOMED CENTRAL                                      MEDLINE (EBSCO)                                   PUBMED  

 

     
                    

                 MICROMEDEX                                        UPTODATE                                WEB OF SCIENCE     

 

BIOMED CENTRAL    

An online database from an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)    

This National Library of Medicine bibliographic online database provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series    

The MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series of databases is primarily a drug information system and is considered one of the most authoritative resources available.The databases available includes the following: DRUGDEX, DRUG-REAX and Martindale.

PUBMED - NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE  

A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

UPTODATE    

UpToDate is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 4,800 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Supported by UpToDate's 45 in-house physician editors, these authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence.

WEB OF SCIENCE    

This resource is an integrated research platform and features such databases as: 

  • Science Citation Expanded Index;
  • Social Sciences Citation Index;
  • Journal Citation Reports Science Citation Edition;
  • Biosis Citation Index;
  • Essential Science Indicators and ISIHighlighted.com

 

Databases -- Popular and Heavily Used

Other Databases with Clinical Medical Content

ADOLEC - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on adolescence health in Latin America and the Caribbean.

ALT HEALTHWATCH - EBSCOHOST    

This online resource provides coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. It provides full text to journals, reports and proceedings, and consumer newsletters dating back to 1990.

AMERICAN PHYSIOLOGICAL SOCIETY (APS) CLASSIC PAPERS  

Includes classic articles that have proved vital to the discipline of physiology and the evolution of modern-day medicine. Also includes introductory essays, and the complete 1st editions of the American Physiological Society journals.

APA PSYCBOOKS®    

APA PsycNET is the only search platform designed specifically to deliver content from the American Psychological Association. Content includes ebooks on psychology and related disciplines (including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, neuroscience, and physiology, among others).

BDENF - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on nursing

BIOLINE INTERNATIONAL;    

Bioline International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries. BI's aims at increasing the global understanding of health (tropical medicine, infectious diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development.

BIOMED CENTRAL    

An online database from an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

BIREME  

A virtual health library which provides access to a number of bibliographic databases and scientific magazines of health information sources in Latin America and the Caribbean.

CAB ABSTRACTS - EBSCOHOST    

A bibliographic database published by CAB International that contains abstracts covering international research in the applied life sciences from 1973 to present. Access is limited to five concurrent users.

CBCA COMPLETE - PROQUEST    

This database, with 600 full text titles, is a comprehensive Canadian reference collection. CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.

CINAHL PLUS WITH FULL TEXT    

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.

CIRRIE DATABASE OF INTERNATIONAL REHABILITATION RESEARCH  

The CIRRIE Database collects citations from all areas of rehabilitation and compiles them into one central source. Over 5000 journals are represented in the Database and abstracts are available for most citations. There are over 85,000 citations currently indexed with citations added monthly.

COCHRANE VHL  

A collection of evidence-based healthcare resources in the VHL, which includes the complete English version of the Cochrane Library, the complete version of the Cochrane Library Plus produced by the Iberoamerican Cochrane Network , including Spanish contents, and the database of abstracts of the Cochrane Systematic Reviews translated to Portuguese produced by the Brazilian Cochrane Centre.

CONSUMER HEALTH- PROQUEST    

This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.

EVIDENCE DATABASE ON AGING  

The evidence database contains published studies and articles that inform and advance policy discussions regarding aging care and the role of social workers.

HEALTH AND MEDICAL COMPLETE - PROQUEST    

This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.

HEALTH MANAGEMENT - PROQUEST    

This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.

HINDAWI  

Hindawi is a rapidly growing academic publisher with 535 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines.

HISA - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on the Latin American and Caribbean history of public heatlh.

HOMEOINDEX - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on homeopathy.

INFORMAWORLD    

InformaworldTM is a one-stop site hosting journals, eBooks, abstract databases and reference works published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare.

JOURNAL CITATION REPORTS - ISI WEB OF SCIENCE    

Journal Citation Reports - Social Sciences Edition (JCR) contains bibliometric analysis of over 1,400 journals in the social sciences and shows the relative importance of titles within their subject area. The Science Edition provides quantifiable statistical data that evaluates over 6100 leading international science journals illustrating their impact and influence in the global research. Users can sort data by defined fields such as impact factor, total cites, total articles, etc. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period.

LEYES - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on Latin American and Caribbean Basic health legislation.

LILACS - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences

MEDCARIB - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on Caribbean Health Sciences literature.

MEDLINE - BIREME (1966-1996 )  

A bibliographic database on international medical literature.

MEDLINE - BIREME (1996- 2006 )  

A bibliographic database on international medical literature.

NURSING & ALLIED HEALTH SOURCE - PROQUEST    

This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

PAHO - BIREME  

Pan American Health Organisation Headquarters Library Catalog.

PsycARTICLES - EBSCOHOST    

This database provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1987 to the present. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.

PsycINFO - EBSCOHOST    

A bibliographic database that contains summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, dates back to the 1800s, includes international material selected from periodicals in over 35 languages.

REPIDISCA - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on Sanitary Engineering and Environmental Sciences.

SeCS - BIREME  

Collections of BIREME serials in Health Sciences

THIEME E-JOURNALS    

Thieme E-Journals platform provides access to subscribed Thieme e-journals.

WHOLIS - BIREME  

The World Health Organization Library Information System.

WILEY ONLINE LIBRARY    

Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.


FIND  A  MEDICAL  SCIENCES  DATABASE
Accessing e-Resources Guide: Connect From Off-Campus

Databases at UWI St. Augustine -- other subject guides